We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach and finding shade is a problem of this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beach and finding shade is a problem of this hotel”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I would say hotel is overall great experience, but I will keep looking for a better place.
Hotel is clean, service is good, food is excellent, pools are great. If that's what you are looking for, this is hotel is a must to visit.
Beach is weakness of this hotel . Very rough in the water. Water shoes are a must or you will get hurt. A lot of sea weed and overall not a pleasant beach. WiFI is expensive and not reliable. Shade is super hard to find unless you come really early in the morning. How hard is to plant some palm trees/add more cabanas on the beach or add more umbrellas by the pool? I really want to know who doesn't want to have an umbrella? Approximately one in five families will be in the shade at best. Beach fix may be a difficult one to do because it's protected area, but pools should have more umbrellas. Overall, great vacation but these are serious issues for me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSlash007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,533
    1,866
    704
    258
    189
See reviews for
3,270
3,670
46
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

People there are really friendly, we received a great service and we can say: the food, entertainment, room, service overall were excellent. The beach is ok, restaurants are gourmet and the service was great. Many people recalled our names and that made us feel special.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete_soto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We booked this as a holiday in a lifetime and we werent disappointed - It was fantastic!! Room, pools, staff, food and drink were all amazing...We had a swim up suite so we had butler service and 24hrs room service too (think everyone may have had the room service?). The flight out was a bit of a long affair but we were on the dreamliner coming back so much more comfortable. Did some good trips whilst we were there...Day trip to Puerto Del Carmen, the Chichen Itza trip and a day at Xcaret. All a bit on the expensive side but they were all well worth it. My partner also went on a fishing trip with some people we met that picked him up from the hotels private beach that he also enjoyed. The weather was a bit hit and miss but theres nothing anyone can do about that. The only down side i would say is the constant stream of Wedding Parties that were held in a fairly central communal area that were very loud and could go on a bit. Would recommend the 'Surf and Turf' in the Carribean restraunt to anyone! Noticing people saying about the timeshare presentations...Yes, you can go on them but they were by no means forced on you. The majority of people we met had booked onto one when they knew the weather was not going to be great and as a result got free internet for their whole trip, a free couples massage on the beach or a romantic meal for 2 plus some gold (plated) cartouche pendants as a result. Not too bad really...?! Impressed with Sensatori so weve just booked for the Sensatori in Sharm for November :)

Room Tip: Avoid getting a room next to the Carribean Restraunt as that is where the Wedding Parties happen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy300Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Azul Sensatori is by far the worst hotel experience I've ever experienced. I am staying with my dad and my brother Aug 26 till Sept.2 we have 2 days left and we can't wait to leave! We usually stay at RIUs and have a total blast. We made a huge mistake by changing brands.... First off the hotel is layered with rules that makes you feel like a prisoner or kindergarden.... We arrived late and went to sleep, the first morning after we went down for breakfast we were stopped and told we could not wear sleeveless shirts for breakfast by a very unfriendly and rude person names Sergio, we were very shocked to learn that females were allowed to wear whatever they liked, complete double standard. The experience goes way downhill from there. About 70% of the staff are looking for tips, we just had the room service order man ask us how much we planned to tip before delivering our food and drinks... The beach is horrible, we rented a car and go to playa del carmen or tulum everyday we only come here to sleep and still find that this resort is extremely overpriced and the service is beyond horrible.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Fady N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have just got back from here,it was great,the staff work so hard,cleaning,watering,gardening,cleaning pool etc....I was not that keen on the food,bit of advice they say it's not time share but it is in a different name,so if you are offered something free,it means having a long conversation with someone for two hours,looking at Prestige and man saying all these people have bought,it's bollocks,you can upgrade to Prestige,and what they offer to be a member and costing a fortune,is no different to going Premium which is superb,made some wonderful friends,butler service round the pool,24 hour room service,drinks fridge stocked every day all for free,the best of the best was the all inclusive Dolphin swim they were fantastic Xel-Ha

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magpie1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnebago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Nice resort. Nice family friendly atmosphere with outstanding service almost everywhere we went on property. Our concierge and pool/cabana butler and waitstaff were amazing. Great pools and cabanas in the Premium section of the property. Not much beachfront available.

Overall our food was OK, but far from what we expected for our inclusive gourmet billing. We ate better at El Dorado property and at Dreams resort for same $$. Stick with Spoon and the seaside bbq spot and avoid the others, unless you enjoy three hour dining experiences with average food. Clearly understaffed waitstaff were practically running every night to keep up.

Experience at LaChic was nothing short of aweful. The best part was watching the facial expressions of the other diners at LaChic eat their bites after already knowing what to expect. It was priceless. We laughed so hard we cried. We experienced 17 courses and five wines. Only three bites and two of the wines were anywhere near acceptable to our group of four. LaChic promises a unique dining experience. Definitely unique and unforgettable in all the wrong ways.

Overall a nice family friendly destination, but you can do better for about the same buck elsewhere. If you like Karisma, try the ElDorado Casitas or one of the other sister properties.

Room Tip: Get a room in the Premium section, or ask for an upgrade if one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Hotel Staff on the whole are great, Watch out when collecting info from concierge as you get sucked into a presentation that is similar to Timeshare... Don't be tempted by free massages or other freebies... you have been warned... Otherwise can't really fault the hotel ( Other than nearly breaking my leg last night on a wet Foyer floor that had severely inadequate Health & Safety Warning Signage )


The THOMSON representatives that I had dealings with on the above matters I'm afraid to say we're Less than satisfactory regarding my Complaints/issues... quite shocked really as to the lack of professionalism. We would consider coming back to this hotel but only on the basis of dealing directly with the Hotel... Perhaps fly with Richard Bransons Virgin Atlantic as Thomson screwed us over on the Dreamliner seats due to us simply changing Hotel... Got charged another £400 for the same seats that we had previously secured... Dick Turpin springs to mind...


So to sum up, don't fly or book with THOMSON HOLIDAYS...

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
6.7 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#22 of 175 in Cancun
21,176 reviews
5.3 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,513 reviews
21.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
19.5 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico

Property: Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico
Address: Carretera Cancun-Puerto Morelos km 27.5 | Manz 37, Super Manz 12, Bahia Petempich, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico 4.5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring the renowned Gourmet Inclusive(R) concept by Karisma, the Azul Sensatori Mexico Hotel brings together spacious facilities with unlimited activities and services. Azul Sensatori Mexico is designed to allow couples, groups, wedding parties, families and friends from all generations to re-connect under the sun. The 435 spacious and luxurious suites are tastefully designed in contemporary Caribbean style with dark wood accents and canopy beds. These suites are located in four story buildings with an elevator in each building. Views are either pool, garden, ocean or ocean front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Sensatori Hotel, By Karisma Hotel Puerto Morelos
Azul Sensatori By Karisma Hotel
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico Riviera Maya - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing