We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Vacation!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Amazing Vacation!!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Room Number:
2123

Room Block:
Adults Only Swimup.

Arrival:
We got there safely, flight was early.
Greeted with a glass of champagne and a lot of big smiles.

Rooms:
Stayed in the adults only section, had a jacuzzi swim up suite and couldn't have been happier. The only draw back was sometimes the water took awhile to get warm. Housekeeping and turndown service were great, minibar restocked daily and the best part was having a pool right outside the back door. The adults only pool and bar were right outside the back door, nice and quiet beside the "le chic" restaurant. Seems there were some roudy people from a wedding party but we weren't disturbed at all.
All in all the nicest room we have stayed in and we have traveled south numerous times.

Restaurants and Bars:
Le chic was an experience, food was interesting but the whole effort involved in sitting for two and a half hours for all the courses was a little much. The Mexican, Caribbean and Italian restaurants were all great, probably the best overall food experience we have enjoyed down south.
The Spoon restaurant, where three buffet meals a day were served, was always open and always good had food, the restaurant staff was amazing, always ready to help.

Lots of bars throughout, the adults only was fun (and close by) the bar at the Caribbean restaurant overlooked the water, amazing at sunset.
All top shelf liquor, only local beer.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Our pool swim up was awesome, over all the pools were well kept and clean, lots of little area`s to hide away in.
The beach was very nice, white sand and blue water. Some seaweed in the mornings and snorkeling off the beach wasn`t really an option. They expect you to pay $3 US to take out the non-motorized water crafts, not a big deal but for what you pay seems a little stupid.
The grounds were truely beautiful, the staff never stopped working.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Had a quiet week, spent an aftenoon in Playa, $15 US per person, shopping has really become upscale the last few years!
I celebrated my birtyhday, we came to the room to find a complimentary bottle of Champagne on ice and a birthday card from Itzeel, the concierge....She was fantastic :)

Other Comments:
From arrival to departure we were amazed at the trearment we recieved, a beautiful resort with beautiful people, thank you Azul Sensatori.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gofish1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,394
    1,838
    694
    254
    189
See reviews for
3,194
3,587
46
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We've just come back from 2 weeks at the Sensatori Mexico, covering Christmas and the new year.
We had a fantastic time and really cannot understand why people seem to love to moan about this hotel.
The staff just cannot be faulted: Loraine and Albert and the other concierges, Nancy, Mauricio, Luis, on the pool, Jonathon the pool waiter, Oscar, Alma, Ivette, Diana, Enrique and the other staff in Spoon restaurant, The staff on the reception desk, the various room staff, gardeners, maintenance men, security...EVERYONE was just so helpful and pleasant - it's almost impossible to pass a member of staff without getting a smiling Hola, or Good morning, or whatever, even if you've never seen them before, and nothing was ever too much trouble. Ooopps, mustn't forget the Thomson reps either, pleasant and helpful, all 3 of them - Thanks girls.

As for the food, it was good and varied. We didn't particularly enjoy Tapaz, it has to be said, but that's simply because it isn't our style of eating, but there was nothing in any way wrong with it.
In Spoon you can have as much as you want and how anyone can get bored with it in a couple of weeks defies the imagination. The Italian, Mexican and Caribbean restaurants all serve delicious food, my only comment is that the portions there could be a bit bigger. We only used Room Service once but that was good and arrived in less time than they said on the phone.

We didn't have any of the massage treatments that they kept trying to interest us in, they are just ludicrously expensive!!
A very definite plus is that there is no "Animations Team" constantly hassling to get you to join in silly activities. There is plenty going on and a daily programme of events and activities, but you are left to take part, or not as YOU wish..exactly the way it should be.

For personal reasons we didn't use the beach, apart from a couple of short strolls, but the sand is lovely. Yes there was some weed every morning on the sand at the waters edge, and every morning they were out with a small mechanical digger scraping it up and carting it away.

The one real downside was the Mossies. Yes, they are there and yes they do bite. I got over 40 bites and my wife, who normally gets left alone, even had a few. Some people were really badly bitten, so play safe and take a Deet spray and use it, don't rely on Limonine bracelets etc.

Would we go back? - You bet, we are already planning for return trip in 2014

Room Tip: Premium rooms don't get any sun Adult rooms face the sun most of the day The family rooms appe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philipy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

In spite of friendliness of staff the resort is substandard - may be three stars. The worst part is the ocean - so many rocks you can't step in the water. We had to walk about ten minutes up the beach to find a decent swimming area. NOT RECOMMENDED! I will be contacting my travel agent as soon as get home.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sukalsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your review regarding the standards of the Azul Sensatori hotel. I would like to apologize for what seems to have been a disappointing vacation.

To address the main issue you have experienced with your time away, I would like to explain we are very lucky to have one of the largest coral reef systems lining our shores; this does make it slightly rocky under foot and we recommend the use of reef shoes when swimming in the ocean.

Once again please accept our apologies

Best Regards

General Manager
Azul Sensatori
Generalmanager@azulsensatori.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for Christmas and new year. We booked thru Thomson holidays, we asked for a family suite in the premium area of the hotel. Once we had booked I noticed that our room was described as the honeymoon suite which sent alarm bells of in my head, not many honeymooners take a 13 year old daughter with them on honeymoon. Thomson assured us that there was a separate area for my daughter separated by a sliding screen within the room. On arrival this was not the case, we ended up moving rooms to a standard family room as the hotel was so full
This room was a disappointment in comparison, air con poor, furniture and doors falling apart and location not ideal to access the premium areas.
The food was average in all restaurant and not what I would describe as a foodies paradise as per Thomson description, beach was sandy and very well set up but lots of rocks in the water,so shoes needed. No real bars to go to for a per dinner drink as most were adults only. The staff and the Thomson reps were all really good, friendly and happy
and this was the best part of the holiday. I believe if you want a couples holiday his hotel is for you but if you have a well behaved teenage girl then you might feel like you are missing out on the full experience

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
As General Manager I would like to start by expressing my sincere apologies for what seems to have been a disappointing holiday. I'm sorry for any confusion that you experienced when booking your stay; we do not have any family suites in our premium section, only premium , swim ups , honeymoon and presidential suites.

I'm sadden to hear that you were not wowed by our Gourmet Cuisine . At the Azul Sensatori we have variousrestaurants, all with different themes with the highlight being Le Chique which has recently been voted one of the best hotels in Mexico. To enjoy a pre dinner drink , we have the roof garden, Plaza Zocalo and Zocalo terrace. For the teens or Young adults we have a separate club xtreme , that is exclusive for teens from 11am until the early hours.

I'm sorry that you experiences fell short of expectations.

Paulino Emiliano
General Manager
gm@azulsensatori.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is NOT for adult couples. Everthing is geared toward families with children. The designation between premium guests and "regular" guests is discriminating. Staff is not helpful in resolving issues at all. Management could care less.
The food is at best, marginal but mostly just plain horrible. The wine is horrible! No room service with alcohol???!!!
The water in the pools is ridiculously too cold. Could they not see that no one was in the pool? The ocean is too rocky to venture out and walking the beach with seaweed, dirt and trash is disgusting!
We would not recommend this property to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your review sharing your experiences from your stay at the Azul Sensatori. The Azul Sensatori is a family friendly resort ,popular with families and couples alike.

Within the hotel we do have different areas such as Adults only , premuim and family sections. We can assure you that we do not stand for discrimination of any kind; any guests staying in the premim section do receive additional features that is included when purchasing this room category however all guests are treated with respect and receive superior levels of service.

Best Regards

Paulino Emiliano
General Manager
gm@azulsensatori.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at the Azul Sensatori Mexico in June 2012, We traveled there for my boyfriends 21st birthday. We were a bit worried before we left as we had paid quite alot of money for this holiday and had read some unnerving reviews on TripAdvisor, But from the minute we got there we were treat perfectly and were not disappointing.
Being only 21 years old alot of people would agree that we maybe would not have the same expectations as those, but i can promise you that our expectations were high and the azul sensatori certainly met them.
We arrived in Mexico at around 2 pm, it was red hot and we had about a 25 minute journey to the hotel. To our pleasure we were the first drop off.
When we arrived at the hotel the staff were waiting with champagne, cocktails and moist towelets to refresh yourself (great after an 11 hour flight).
Imminently the reception staff took us to the mojito lounge, which was air conditioned and had some great views of the pool, this is where they checked us in, and asked if we had any celebrations etc. I advised them that it was my boyfriends 21st and they said they would arrange some sort of treat.
Not only did they arrange us a bottle of champagne, but our concierge also arranged the room to be decorated with rose petals and for a birthday cake to be delivered. The extra touches really made it a special celebration.

Food:
The food at the sensatori was great, the variety was amazing and the staff in the restaurants really took care of you.
The carribean restaurant was in my opinion the best, as during the day it was the best burger place i have ever been, they served litteraly EVERY burger you could imagine and at night the carribean was beautiful offering fish,steaks,chicken etc.
The Italian restaurant was also great, the portions were a bit small but you soon learnt that you just need to ask for more as your all inclusive and can have as much as you like.
Spoon restaurant is the best buffet restaurant i have ever ate in, and was defiantly the best place to have breakfast. The pancakes, waffles and scrambelled eggs were divine.
The tapas restaurant was also great, sadly we only ate there once as we heard rumours it wasn't the best, we went there on the last night and it was honestly beautiful and we were very disappointing we had missed out.
The Mexican restaurant was the only restaurant we felt slightly let the hotel down, as it didn't have much variety on the menu. Which seems a bit strange as it should be a focal point of a Mexican hotel.

The only disadvantage of the restaurants were that if you weren't willing to eat at 6 pm or 8.30pm you had to wait regardless of whether there were tables available, this seemed to be restaurant policy. It didn't bother us much though as we were happy to sit and have a drink as we waited.

LE CHIQUE RESTAURANT
From reading about the Sensatori we knew we had to try Le Chique even if it was just for the experience. It defiantly for us was an experience as we didn't like many of the courses as they were quite strange. Regardless it was one of our best nights as we done the wine pairing which i think was about $50 dollars each. This was good as you tried a different wine with each course and the waiter explained all the wines and why they were paired with the food.
The restaurant setting was romantic and created a nice setting for an Adults only dinner. The only downside for me was that the next day i woke up with an allergic reaction to the food, my eyes fully swelled up and i had to visit the doctor. This was no fault of LE CHIQUES though as they ask whether you have any allergic reactions, unfortunately for me i wasn't aware of mine until after this event.

THE ROOMS
We stayed in a Junior Suite in the Adults only section. The rooms were lovely and they overlooked the adults only pool. The rooms had flat screen tvs, Jacuzzi baths, huge rainfall shower and a double sinks with a hugeeeee mirror. Great for us women.
The room service is also great, they have a wide selection, they serve 24 hours and they are fast and efficient. This was great for me who had to spend 2 days in the room due to my allergic reaction.

A tip for the ladies though- Take your own hair dryer as the ones provided are not the best!

DRINKS:
The hotel provides a great range of cocktails, wines and spirits. The hotel also offers premium spirits as well as local but we soon learned that when you are ordering your drink ask for the premium spirit by name otherwise they will give you the local stuff. For example ask for a Bombay sapphire and tonic, or a grey goose vodka and tonic.
In the restaurants they will ask you if you would like to buy a bottle of wine, dont feel like you have to but a bottle of this wine, you can always just ask for a bottle of the house which is obviously including in the price.

THE STAFF:
The staff at the hotel are all amazing, they really look after you and are willing to help you with anything. The Azul Sensatori should pride themselves on their amazing staff.

THE LOCATION:
This hotel is out of Cancun and therefore is very peaceful, the beach is private and you wont see 1000 of tourists like you would staying in Cancun. Many people commented how the beach wasn't the best, yet we found no problem with it. The staff are always cleaning the beach even at 6am. Truthfully the sea isn't the bluest see i have seen as the coral is close to the shore but that wasn't an issue to us as we are more pool type of people.

TRIPS:
The hotel offers lots of trips. We went on the bar crawl with the hotel this was really good and quite cheap but truthfully i felt cocobonga night club was a let down, it was packed to the rafters and you couldn't move to get a drink. Yet the rest of the clubs were really good and you felt safe.

We also went speed boating. This was the best trip i have ever been on! You drive your own speedboat out into the ocean and then snorkel on the coral reef. I was scared of snorkeling as i don't like the idea of not knowing what your swimming with, but honestly the sea is so clear you know exactly whats around you. It was soo fun and was in such a beautiful setting.

We also went to wet and wild Cancun, and swam with the dolphins. Swimming with dolphins has always been a dream of mine and i fulfilled it that day. The whole programme was brilliant and unforgettable.

HELPFUL TIPS:

Before we went we were advised to take Mexican pesos as dollars are not as widely used anymore. This is totally untrue!!! everything in the hotel shop, the restaurants, Cancun itself and the trips was in Dollars and converting it to pesos was a bit of a pain! So take dollars

Make sure you have good travel insurance. When i had my allergic reaction it cost me $70 dollars to see the doctor, then a further $100 dollars to get an injection and medication. So make sure your insurance covers you as you want to be able to claim that back if the worst happens.

Room Tip: If your wanting quiet dont choose the adults only section, as the americans party all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank HeatherMoore91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

A late review as we were at the Hotel mid November and we had the most amazing time. We found the rooms large and lovely, the service was incredible, every need was tended to.
I understand people have gripes about the beach but the seaweed issue is not a hidden problem, the hotel do everything they can to minimise this and quite frankly why book here if you are looking for the best beach you have ever come across and then simply moan!
La chique restaurant is a must, however the only thing we were not as excited about was the food selection, we found in each of the many restaurants the menu was limited and they may be better having fewer restaurants with larger choice and quality, this was not an issue to us however and would not effect us returning.
We have our holidays abroad booked for 2013 but we will be doing everything we can to return in November 2013 - the entire experience overall was incredible and way beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travel_enthusiasts24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarismaHotelsResorts, General Manager at Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of your experiences at the Azul Sensatori You really captured the essence of our hotel., I agree Le Chique is definately a highlight and should not be missed.

I am currently reviewing the food selection available in all our restaurant with the executive chef and Head of food & Beverage to ensure we offer a wide variety of Gourmet Delights.

I look forward to seeing you in November 2013

Paulino Emiliano
General Manager
gm@azulsensatori.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
6.7 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#21 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20,968 reviews
5.3 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,386 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#4 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico

Property: Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico
Address: Carretera Cancun-Puerto Morelos km 27.5 | Manz 37, Super Manz 12, Bahia Petempich, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico 4.5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring the renowned Gourmet Inclusive(R) concept by Karisma, the Azul Sensatori Mexico Hotel brings together spacious facilities with unlimited activities and services. Azul Sensatori Mexico is designed to allow couples, groups, wedding parties, families and friends from all generations to re-connect under the sun. The 435 spacious and luxurious suites are tastefully designed in contemporary Caribbean style with dark wood accents and canopy beds. These suites are located in four story buildings with an elevator in each building. Views are either pool, garden, ocean or ocean front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Sensatori Hotel, By Karisma Hotel Puerto Morelos
Azul Sensatori By Karisma Hotel
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico Riviera Maya - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing