We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"rubber wheels"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“"rubber wheels"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

It may sound like a funny title but you'll understand why once you get here and try sleeping for a night. Let me start at the beginning...the grounds are nice and well kept but the buildings and pools are tired to say the least. The pool and kids splash pads are tiled and missing tiles in places, I found a bunch of loose tiles on the ground in the splash pad where my 9 mth old was crawling. There are deep cracks and missing rocks on all the sidewalks that surround the various Buildings. The rooms may look cute on the website pictures however the rooms are VERY tired and the walls are PAPER thin. We had the misfortune of being put in rooms right across from the cleaning supply room, the room is accessed ALL NIGHT by the cleaning staff that push heavy duty metal carts up and down the hallways. This constant noise made it impossible to sleep and impossible to get our baby down for the night. Every time he'd fall asleep, another cart would go by. We heard several other ppl complaining about the same thing.

The food is NOT gourmet but it's better than some of the other all inclusives we've been to. I got food poisoning from the Italian restaurant and was sick in bed for the entire following day. Each restaurant (except le chique) is VERY baby friendly, plenty of high chairs, baby food and toys, and you don't feel bad if your baby makes a noise because all the other kids are making noises as well.

The staff is really good (Antonio at the poolside bar by Zavaz) they were pleasant and helpful. Make sure to tip them, regardless of the fact that this is "factored in" to the bill already. The massages at the spa were wonderful too.

All in all this is a 3 star resort at best, and very family oriented so make sure you are prepared for the kids and lackluster accomodations before you book here.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rubiesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,176
    1,795
    681
    252
    185
See reviews for
3,107
3,442
46
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

Me and my boyfriend spent the best two weeks of our lives here at the end of october

From arrival when we were greeted with champers and a cool towel after a long flight, nothing was too much for the staff.

Even when hurricane Rhina was due to hit the hair dryer wasn't working and this was replaced within twenty minutes.

The food was out of this world and even when the tropical storm hit Super Mario in spoons was cheering the guests up. The staff were so helpful and reassuring about the hurricane and even though spent two full days making sure the resort was hurricane proof still had time for a smile and a joke.

The room was fantastic with jacuzzi tub and large marble rain showers, and the king size bed made sure we were well rested. The room service was great, quick and well presented.

The cocktails on offer were fab and the mojhto lounge was a good venue for late night drinks

The beach wasnt the greatest but its not the best spot and the maintence of this is second to none. It is the ocean!! The pools were kept very clean and the adults only pool bar was the place to be. Food at spoons was great with a fab range as my other half is a very picky eater and he had plenty to eat. Tapas, Italian and Caribbean were all high quality restaurants and we ate in them a couple of times each.

Le chique was a culinary experience and some of the memories will live with us forever.

We went on a lovely romantic cruise where everything was included and we even had our very own sax player. We also went to chitzen nista which is a must.

We have fond memories of this holiday and def want to come back, the only thing we would say is the adults only pool was very busy and the premier section was empty. Would it be possible to look at if the adults only is busy if the premier section could be used.

Just a minor thing on a perfect holiday well done sensatori!!!

Room Tip: Adults only section a must if you dont have children
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissBeakyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

Just arrived back from the azul sensatori as a party of 6, myself,hubby,our 2 children 5yr & 9yr and mum and dad.. overall expirence we enjoyed it but as most reviews on here was disappointed, the amount you pay for a 5 star hotel that we were expecting but was below this, we have stayed in 4 star hotels that were much nicer!.. be prepared after an 11hr flight there, NO one tells you about the airport!! with to smaller children the queues are stupid the heat and no air con makes it pretty unbearable standing and waiting one poor chap even passed out on our way through immagration.upon arriving to the hotel after a short 20mins transfer and the most hurrendous road to the hotel you will ever go on..we were finally greeted by friendly staff as were all staff in the resort. the hotel room was clean and comfortable but mum and dads take note there is NO privacy between you and the kids all glass doors are frosted so you can see everything!!.the rooms were then cleaned twice daily for 3 days after that we did not recieve a clean room for nearly 48hrs i had to ask.
food is ok not gourment by far again had much nicer in a 4 star are impression was they were trying to hard to please and focusing to much on everything rather then getting there priortys right.Tractor was out on beach as you were walking which was annoying and loud but you can cope with its noise but as hubby said they are fighting a loosing battle it was constanly messy with seedweed and further up the beach was a great heap of rubbish etc whilst walking.
Trips are good but far away from hotel we felt very confided to our hotel as taking the kids to far up the beach and you will be greeted by a nude resort,be prepared you will need alot more money than you bargin for we found mexico very expensive after paying so much for the trips plus tax to get out,I know bad reviews are horrible to read when you have already booked to go,but please dont let our review put you off we had a good time overall but would not put this as a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: we were put in the azul block overlooking the beach room 3305/3306 music on till about 10pm lastest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salanddaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

Situated near the airport, this hotel brings a swift conclusion to the endless-seeming journey from Europe. The hotel forms a gated community of its own and does not offer any immediate access to a nearby city or town. Checking-in was easy enough and hotel personnel saw to the luggage; the room itself was everything advertised; clean with promised amenities. Food was a bit of a disappointment: considering the hotel standard I was expecting something beyond hamburgers. During a weeks holiday it was not possible to get a reservation to the much advertised Chique restaurant. During February there were daily showers which left the mattresses in the pool-side "cazebos" dank and uncomfortable - the staff did not look after these or try to keep them dry. There were not enough dry sunbeds in the adult section of the pool. On the other hand, the sunbeds on the premium side were empty day in and day out but despite the lack of customers they were not offered to other guests as compensation for the soaked cazebos. It seemed like a waste. Overall experience of the staff was that they were friendly and efficient if not very proactive.

Room Tip: Pay for the premium side to make sure you get a sunbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Axu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

We were invited to a wedding at this resort, so we travel as a family [me ,my husband, three grown sons and our daughter-in -law].
We had an absolute blast. The resort is breathtaking.There is something for every age and want.
The rooms are lovely with a round jacuzzi tub and a large marble rain shower. The balcony is huge, with a great lounging couch. Bed is comfy comfy. Roomservice takes exactly 35 mins everytime, just like they say.
The staff, everysingle one of them, are amazing, friendly, polite and make you feel like royalty.
Our travel provider, Sunwing reps, did a great job booking outings and answering all questions.
Food everywhere was an adventure, new tastes and combination were really great if you are a foody kind of person or if not you could ordered something familiar.
There is never more that 2 weddings a day. They did a great job with all the preparation for the wedding couple. The beach was raked and worked to be beautiful for the ceremony. The beach does have a little seaweed, but that is a sign of a healthy reef so I OK with that.
Favorite times at the resort are the night parties on the beach. The White Party is the best fish-fry supper and great music on the beach while everyone wears white. Our last night was the Reggae Beach Party, which had such great music and dancing under the stars, in the sand by the ocean, it's no wonder I didn't want to come home.

Room Tip: Don't miss the beach parties!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goody2shoeshehe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

Hats off (lol) to Ricardo, Ciara and Aldo...these three wonderful people went out of their way and ensured our 12 year old son had the vacation of his life..."it was better than Disney!" according to him. From the beach to the pool to the teen club, he was never without something to keep him busy! Richard, he is already talking about coming back to visit you and hang out in the teen club again...thanks for everything!!!

For those who complain about the beach, get over it! It's the ocean and unfortunately they are not in the best spot...it didn't stop people from hanging out there and going in though. If the seaweed really bothers you, have a short stroll up the beach where it isn't as prevalent. The pools are awesome, kept super clean and all connect on the family side (yes to the swim up bar too!).

The food at Spoon was great...good selection if you don't know what you want We tried the Italian, Caribbean and Mexican restaurants but I have to admit...room service breakfast was my favourite! Awesome fresh fruit plate, french toast, waffles... excellent! We had the beach bbq for lunch most days and it was great...fresh fruits and veggies, roast potatoes, hot dogs, burgers, pork chops and ribs! You eat in an enclosed area on the beach and It's nice that there is no food allowed by the pools as there are no birds bothering you.

We were most impressed with the friendliness of the staff...we were there for a wedding and the spa staff were attentive and well skilled for the services we received. They went out of their way to accomodate our requests at all times. The waiters in the Mohito lounge at night were outstanding as were the ones at the pools and on the beach...always smiling and friendly!

Room Tip: We had a luxury swim up suite...ground floor...two queen beds with a hot tub that was facing the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darnbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

I traveled as part of a very large family (46 in total) wedding at the Sensatori. I read many reviews on this site before going, and most points held true. Namely:

1) The beach is very disappointing. The rocks and seaweed are very bad, and though their effort is admirable, the tractor team that attempts to keep the beach clean is never close to doing so. What was more discouraging was the amount of garbage in the water. I never in my dreams would have imagines so much waste all along the coastline. A 5 gallon bucket washed on shore as my partner and I were walking along during the sunrise one morning. It was depressing on a variety of levels.

2) The construction of the hotel and all of its rooms and hallways, naturally as it is on the beach, is entirely of concrete and tile. The doors for the hotel have no slowing/stopping mechanisms on them, so each time a patron leaves his/her room a very loud slamming sound is send down the hallway. If you are a light sleeper, the doors will wake you up throughout the night. We also had the unfortunate pleasure of having a family with a very unhappy baby in our section. It cried every night, and kept both my partner and I tossing and turning.

The door to the toilet is a frosted glass door. This, paired with the all concrete construction, allowed for anyone else in your room to see and hear anything you are doing. It was...uncomfortable.

It seemed as though a lot of corners were cut when constructing the hotel. The sandstone used in the bathrooms often times was very porous (indicative of cheap materials) and was filled in with an bright white plaster. The shower and toilet room looked like a newly constructed room that had recently been plastered but not painted with unfinished plaster all over. It is admittedly esthetic, but also not the kind of thing I expected from a "5 star" resort.

The shower/sink water does have a very strong sulfur smell to it. I thought I would get used to it, but it gets you every time.

3) Le Chique is very difficult to get in, but well worth it. The service is the best you will find, and the culinary presentations are very good. I recommending any of the wine pairings (additional cost). Top notch stuff. If you want to try to get in, make reservations on the very first day you arrive. They must be made in person at the restaurant between 3-5PM.

4) The hotel is very far from most excursions. If you plan on leaving the resort, be prepared for long car rides. At this time, the ~3 mile long road that leads from the highway to the resort is in almost impassable conditions, as a heavy rainy season has washed most of the road out. That being said, if you are only visiting for the resort, this issue would be relatively unnoticeable.

5) The staff is very friendly, and is very courteous at all hours.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rusty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
6.7 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#23 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20,679 reviews
5.3 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,253 reviews
3.5 mi away
Royalton Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,925 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico

Property: Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico
Address: Carretera Cancun-Puerto Morelos km 27.5 | Manz 37, Super Manz 12, Bahia Petempich, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico 4.5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring the renowned Gourmet Inclusive(R) concept by Karisma, the Azul Sensatori Mexico Hotel brings together spacious facilities with unlimited activities and services. Azul Sensatori Mexico is designed to allow couples, groups, wedding parties, families and friends from all generations to re-connect under the sun. The 435 spacious and luxurious suites are tastefully designed in contemporary Caribbean style with dark wood accents and canopy beds. These suites are located in four story buildings with an elevator in each building. Views are either pool, garden, ocean or ocean front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Sensatori Hotel, By Karisma Hotel Puerto Morelos
Azul Sensatori By Karisma Hotel
Azul Beach Resort Sensatori Mexico Riviera Maya - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing