We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Nearby Hotels
$345
$293
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$330
$318
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$598
$444
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Now Jade Riviera Cancun(Puerto Morelos)
$263
$178
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort(Puerto Morelos)
$317
$229
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$430
$318
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$329
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$469
$455
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$392
$232
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$551
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (12,423)
Filter reviews
12,423 results
Traveler rating
6,570
3,589
1,411
500
353
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,570
3,589
1,411
500
353
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue moonvilla marinaprivilege loungedaisy clubpool barmike's coffee shopcasa del marprivilege beachprivilege guestsprivilege packagecrepe restaurantthe lion kingquiet poolactivity poolentertainment staffsexy chocolatemake reservations
Filter
Updating list...
5,311 - 5,316 of 12,423 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and visited Mexico for the first time and stayed here. We were impressed right from the start. We did purchase the Privileged option and found it well worth it and highly recommend it. The staff were so friendly and attentive, the food was great with many different options/varieties to suit anyone. The resort is clean and inviting. It does show some wear and tear but it doesn't affect your stay by any means. There are many activities throughout the day with a weekly schedule posted. One thing I would like to recommend though, is to not buy into too many of the excursions available to purchase by reps there. Talk to the guests and returning visitors for places to go and see as this will save you money and possible disappointment. We found this to be true for ourselves anyways. Overall, we were over the top satisfied with our stay here and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: There are many available rooms with ocean view but to maximize and guarantee this, upgrade to Privilege. It is definitely worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ofamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Ofamilyof5,
We are delighted to read that on your first experience at our resort and our beautiful country, you were amazed by our staff, facilities and gastronomic offer. It is good to learn that you also enjoyed the Privilege services and that we were able to provide you with a fabulous vacation. We want to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with the community. We are looking forward your next visit.
Kind regards,
The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had a wonderful time at this resort. I was most impressed with the friendliness and work ethic of the employees. They seemed genuinely happy and were diligent to please the customers.
The facilities were pleasant and clean. The variety of food and drinks was a treat as well.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Racy419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Racy419,
It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our resort and that you appreciated the friendliness of and hard work of our staff; we are aware that it is because of them that we are able to achieve the total satisfaction of our guests. Thank you for sharing your comments at this site. We hope to see you soon.
Bests,
The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We went from Feb 12 to 26 and our friends joined us from Feb 16 to 26. Good stuff first....

Staff were great! Very friendly, always cheerful and couldn't do enough for you. Room was adequate, but bed and pillows were hard and bumpy (in that order). Our maid was good but inconsistent. One day we'd end up with 4 bath towels - next day we'd get 3. Same with wash cloths and hand towels. Bar fridge was always filled up with water and pop and a couple of beers.

We found the specialty restaurants' food quite good - the Japanese the best.

The hotel itself was very clean and, from where we were, pretty quiet. However, we were near the middle pool (pool bar pool) and almost every second night they had parties where the music (mostly bass) was pumped out at full volume from 10 pm to midnight! Unacceptable!

Not so good stuff.....

Our first days the buffet food was so-so. It picked up after 4-5 days, but every day they ran out of scrambled eggs and bacon and more than once we waited over 15 minutes for the trays to be refilled. Also, we always had to wait quite a while before a waiter would come with coffee.

Our biggest complaint was the long wait in line to get into the specialty restaurants. No reservations allowed except for the privilged folk (have to pay extra to get upgraded just to be able to make reservations??? Don't think so). We had to be in line at least from 515 pm just to get in and then, if a 'privileged' guest arrived, they were ushered in ahead of you. Again - unacceptable! The Japanese restaurant ran differently. You stood in line from 515 to get in for 6 pm or make a reservation for 730 or 9 pm. Another thing - if the hotel had a special theme night (Mexican, Caribbean, etc.), - which were great - one of the specialty restaurants had to close. Staff shortage??? Then the next night, one of the other specialty restaurants closed. In other words, the paying guests were forced to eat where maybe they didn't want to go - they literally had no choice. The Blue Moon had a dress code only for men who had to wear long pants. Yet ladies were allowed in cut-offs, shorts, flip flops, etc. Again - not acceptable.
Beach and pool lounges - a big joke. There are signs posted lounge chairs are NOT to be saved by guests. We were there 2 weeks and only got to sit on the beach lounges twice - both times later in the afternoon. Some of them (including the pool areas as well) had towels (or personal items) sitting on them all day and no one showed up at all. We realize this type of thing is hard to police but something, I'm sure can be done. It is truly an unfair practice and should be better controlled.

All in all, we still had a good time - the pool staff were excellent, the pools were exceptionally clean and well maintained, the beach was wonderful. We did, however, find the resort to be somewhat secluded as it was a $20-40 cab ride to go shopping as there was only the hotel gift shop available. Not much there to look at. This is not a 4-1/2 * resort as advertised. Next time we will pay a little more and go with a more reputable resort. We wouldn't recommend the Ocean Coral to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Buildings 1 -8. Too far away from main buildings.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hiflier_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear hiflier_8,
We are truly thankful for taking the time to share your comments on this site. With reward we learn that you appreciated the beauty of facilities and the friendliness of our staff. However, it is with regret that we learn you did not get the Ocean Service we are used to give to all our valued guests. Please allow us to enlighten that our resort serves a mix of national and international food orientated to please as many guests as we can, we are very sad to read that we could not match your preferences on this visit. Regarding your comment about the waiting times for dinning, let us inform that our restaurants function on a first come first serve basis in order to give everyone the opportunity to dine were preferred. The waiting time for the tables may vary depending on the number of people attending to the restaurant and the reserved tables (the empty tables you mentioned) for the Privilege guests, who are entitled with this benefit for an extra cost; nonetheless this should not mean an impediment for other customer to dinning too. In addition, the guests are provided with pagers in order to reduce inconveniences and waiting for the table in the place they prefer. We would also like to enlighten that we count with a closing schedule for one restaurant a day, having 8 out of our 9 restaurants open per day, every day. This information is posted in our Ocean Post and also posted through our information boards located through the room halls and also outside the restaurant that closes for the day. In relation to your comment about the pool lounges, we must remark that our resort does not encourage the reservation of lounges; on the contrary, the towels used for reserving pool chairs are retired by the members of our staff after 2 hours if any guest is using it. Thank you for choosing our resort for your vacations and for giving us the opportunity to evaluate our performance through your feedback. It is good to learn that overall, and despite this issues, you had a good time with us. We hope to have the opportunity to host you in the future and change your perception about OCT.
Best regards,
The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We have never been to Mexico, might be a long time til we go again. We are people who love to explore and to see the real country and an opportunity to take a week with a Premium package seemed too good to resist.

Pick up from the airport went well but once off the highway, the road to the resort was full of pot holes and a slow 2 km ride. Check in went well and the rooms we were given were on the second floor (third level). Clean and tidy - not western luxury standards, but it had air conditioning which was our main priority. The resort is beautiful - excellent restaurants and cafes, Japanese (teppanyaki was fun and delicious), Mexican, Italian, Route 66, premium lounge, two large buffet areas and the French Creperie. Service is excellent, grounds, pools and public areas are kept very tidy, staff are always smiling and friendly. If you want to laze the days away, reading, sleeping and sunning, it is the ultimate in decadence.

We had a great time - but we are do-ers too. There are tours available and are well organised with pick up and drop off etc. We went to Talum and it was wonderful. We would have liked to have had a good look around Cancun, to explore the "real" markets and stores, but it's difficult to get out of the resort unless on an organised tour. Picking up a rental, or catching a taxi is expensive and although the security etc is clearly for our own safety, it is pretty offputting. In the end we took a taxi into town and had a bit of a look in Cancun, but the taxi driver stayed with us and while shopping of course the clock is ticking!

However - that aside, our week was restful and lazy. What's bad about that? The staff are so very helpful and friendly. Have plenty of tipping money with you, lots of $US1 notes, you can't help but be thankful for their great service and work ethic.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elby78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Elby78,
We want to thank you for posting your experience at this site. We are glad to read that overall you had a great time at our resort and you had the opportunity to relax in our facilities. On the other hand, we lament hearing that you were not totally satisfied with our location, however, we consider that our location is ideal as our resort is right between Playa del Carmen and Cancun; we lament that your perception is different. We truly appreciate your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to host you once again in the future.
Warm regards,
The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I went here with a friend from Dec. 26- Dec. 30 2013 with a friend. We just wanted to have a relaxing little get away for a few days, enjoy the beach, and have some good Mexican food. First of all, the beach was beautiful. Clean and there were plenty of chairs to sit. The drinks we also good. However, we were very unimpressed with the food. It was very low quality. We agreed the best good we had during the whole vacation was at the airport on the way home. The only restaurant I would recommend was the Japanese restaurant. It was very entertaining and the food was excellent other than that we were unimpressed. We also didn't like the way we had to wait in line for over an hour each night for a restaurant. At previous resorts I've stayed you could either phone in a reservation or go make one in the morning. I did not like the set up here. For the most part the staff was helpful and friendly. Since it was just us girls and we didn't have very many days we didn't do any excursions. But from what I saw it looked like the water sports would have been fun had we chose to do them. Our room was clean but the furniture was out dated and not exactly a cozy room. We did enjoy the balcony though. I did take advantage of the spa one day which was excellent. I had an express facial and full body massage as a package deal that was very reasonable and so relaxing. I absolutely would recommend the spa. I really am not an overly particular person, give me a beach, fruity drink and some good food and it's a good vacation. For the most part we enjoyed our vacation but next time I will pay a little more and stay at a RIU or more reputable resort. I would not recommend this resort to a friend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank msinboden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear msinboden,
Thank you for choosing our resort for your last vacations and for posting your review on this site. We are glad to learn that you appreciated the beauty of our beach and our beverage offer. On the other side, it is with regret that we learn you did not get the Ocean Service we are used to give to all our valued guests and that some aspects of your stay did not fulfill your expectations. Be sure that the entirety of your observations will be shared with the pertinent departments in order to prevent future inconveniences to other guests. We hope to have the opportunity to host you once again in the future and improve your impression about our resort.
Kind regards,
The Ocean Coral & Turquesa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews