We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely accomodating to our family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I traveled to this resort with our 9 month old baby last October. As luck would have it, our baby brought an ear infection along with him. To this day, that was the only time he has ever gotten sick (go figure). The hotel has an onsight doctor which was extremely fortunate. She recommended we travel to an emergency room in cancun as soon as she checked our son who was burning in fever. The suggested hospital was wonderful by the way. However, I cannot say enough about how the hotel worked to accomodate us for the rest of the week. Guest services checked on us multiple times per day, offering to help us in any way possible. Multiple times they had the chef cook special meals for our son as we tried to get him to eat. Many hotel staff were aware and always asked about our son when they saw us. A guest rep even made a trip to the pharmacy for us when we ran out of medicine. Any parent can probably imagine how it would be to be in a foreign country, without access to your own vehicle, your own doctor, all of your own conveniences and with a very sick baby. No, we did not get to enjoy the pools, the food, the drinks, etc. But we will never forget the kindness they showed us while we cared for our sick son.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abenaqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear abenaqui,
In the name on the entire OCT team we would like to send you our greetings to you and your family, wishing you that your son is totally recovered. It is really satisfying to learn that our staff made everything in their power in order to accommodate your needs and help you and your family in any way possible. At OCT we have a commitment to provide quality service beyond our guests’ expectations, and it is a real pleasure for us to learn that we have achieved our goal. This definitely strengthens our philosophy of seeking the highest level of service. We want to restate our gratitude for taking the time to share your comments. We will be more than glad to when returning to the Riviera Maya, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you once again to this, your home.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11,549)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Coral & Turquesa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,724 - 5,730 of 11,549 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We got this place through Hotwire Hot Rates for one night ($261). It was ranked a 4 Star although we didn't find out until later that Hotwire uses a very liberal interpretation of stars (It is based on multiple websites review of a hotel).

I am not sure when the resort was built, but it is an older one. The rooms were nice and clean but the design is a bit dated. The resort has a few restaurants where the food is okay, but I found the buffet line restaurants to be very average to say the least. Service was a bit slow too. There are 2 big pools, one with families and another for mainly adults. The beach is nice with many umbrellas and chairs, but you need to get out early in order to snag one. Otherwise, a couple towels will be holding someone's place with them no where in sight.

I did want to mention that the hotel is probably a 5 minute drive off the main highway. As my fiance and I were down in Rivera Maya looking at various wedding venues, we found the taxi rates to be very high compared to other places. All of the taxis in the Rivera Maya area seem to run under some sort of cartel with the rates being fixed with passengers of 4 people paying more. We found the taxi cartel that served the Ocean Coral to be inflated (450 pesos to the airport for a 20 minute drive vs. a 30-40 minute drive from PDC to the resort for only 350 pesos using the PDC taxi cartel). It might be smarter to look at booking transfers and taxis with outside groups.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sooner2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Graham L,
We want to thank you for posting your experience at this site. We are glad to read that you appreciated the beauty and cleanliness of our facilities, although you found them a little dated. Please allow us to inform that our resort is a 5 year old building which is in constantly maintenance in order to preserve our facilities in an excellent condition. In regard to your comment about our food offer at the buffet, we will like to enlighten that we count with different thematic nights served in a daily basis. Furthermore, the level of satisfaction obtained concerning the quality and variety of our food services has always been high, according to the guests satisfaction questionnaires. Regarding your comment about the taxi prices, we like to inform that the prices of these services are controlled by a union whose operation is independent from our resort. We truly appreciate your comments and we hope to host your next vacations in the future.
Bests,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We booked a Royal Master Suite consisting of two spacious rooms that came with an upgrade to Privileged Status that gained us many extras. The beach was great and the resort had four large pools with a section of the beach and one pool being reserved for Privilege Status guests only. One of the pools was specifically designed for children. One of the pools had a large swim-up bar. The buffet was excellent and food that should be hot was hot. The specialty restaurants were good with the exception of the American themed restaurant which was just OK. All in all, this was one all inclusive resort that we would visit again.

Room Tip: The Royal Master uites are ocean front. The regular Master Suites may be ocean front or st minimum h...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank billklawitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear billklawitter,
We truly appreciate your comments regarding your last visit to our facilities. It is good to learn that you found satisfactory the hole vacation experience at our resort and also that you enjoyed with our Privilege services, such as dinner reservations, privilege beach area and lounge, special amenities, butler service, between others. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our facilities and food variety, and for sharing your post with the community. We hope to see you very soon.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I enjoyed myself very much at Ocean Coral & Turquesa. The entertainment crew was amazing throughout the day and in the evening. My favourite little lady would definitely be Monica. She was always very pleasant and made everything very fun!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KyledStolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear KyledStolk,
We are truly thankful for posting your review about your vacations in our property. It is pleasant to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and also that you appreciated the hard work and friendliness of Monica from our entertainment staff, we will be more than glad to share your comments with her. We look forward your next vacations at OCT.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were at Ocean Coral in October 2012. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had an infant with us and they were very accomadating. We booked through Delta Vacations and they had representatives on the spot that were very helpful in booking activities. the resort was quiet .good place for families with children
I would go back again. the beach was clean and service was good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear loveana,
We are thankful for your observations regarding your stay in our property. It is pleasant to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay, furthermore that our staff was able to provide you with all the necessary in order to accommodate your family’s needs. Thank you for choosing our resort for your vacations. We look forward your next visit.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is our 5th trip to an All Inclusive Resort in the Cancun/Riveria Maya area. Each time we stayed somewhere different. We were happy with our choice to try this resort. We did not pay for privilege and glad we did not. We didn't see it neccessary. I'll start with the positives. The size of the resort is perfect (not too small, not too big). Most staff is friendly. Buffett was good for an all inclusive (had the most choices out of all the resorts we've tried), pools are clean, Japanese and Mexican restaurants were great. Did not have to wait for a table when we got to a restaurant by 6:15. Drinks were like every other AI. Rooms are nice size and the air worked great (ask for a dehumidifier it really helped with the smell and moisture in the room). Beach was good (yes it has some seaweed, but it was not an issue when we were there and not the hotels fault). Now for the cons. If you are traveling with family, privacy will be an issue for the bathrooms in the room. Service and food in the italian restaurant were not good. Not the hotels fault, but we had several different guests cut in line at different places at the resort even though we were clearly in line. Evening entertainment lacks bad. All other resorts we have been to have music or an activity in the lobby area in the early to late evening hours. This resort has nothing until the show starts at 930 and the night entertainment starts at 1030. Way to late for some people. That was a big disappointment. It is nice to enjoy a drink and listen to music while waiting for dinner or after dinner. Mikes coffee is good but needs to open up way before 10am.
Overall, this is a good resort for the money. We had a great time and really enjoyed ourselves. Please bring dollars for tips. They work very hard and we saw very few guests tip. You are on vacation, enjoy yourself!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MidwestDolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear MidwestDolphin,
We are grateful for choosing OCT for your vacations and for posting your review about your experience at our resort. With reward we learn that you appreciated the comfort of our facilities, our food offer and hardworking staff. On the other hand we regret that you were not satisfied with some aspects of your stay. We lament that you found a lack of privacy and comfort in our bathrooms, however we must enlighten that this is the architectonic design of our rooms. Regarding We must say that your remark regarding the lack of entertainment at our resort really surprises us, as we usually receive positive feedback about this matter. We count with a complete schedule of different nighttime activities on a daily basis and for all ages that are posted on different spots of our facilities and printed in our intern diary. We thank you for your valuable comments and hope to host your next vacations in the future.
Bests,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our first trip to Riviera Maya and chose the resort based on price and other reviews. We were not disappointed in the least and feel we got great value and service. The grounds were impeccably clean and manicured, the beach was great (yes there is a seaweed issue but is cleaned up at regular intervals), the water was a little rough to swim in when we were there last week, but you had your choice of 4 gorgeous pools to swim in. The staff was awesome! We stayed in the Privilege section which I highly recommend for a variety of reasons like the personal Concierge, preferred reservations to the specialty restaurants, and a few other amenities that were nice as well... it is well worth the few extra bucks. Alejandro (Alex), our Butler, was awesome and tended to everything meticulously and without missing a detail. Made us feel totally at home and well cared for on our first trip to the Riviera Maya.

Lets talk about food!... The food was pretty damn good. Breakfast and Lunch were pretty standard type fare across the board with a nice selection for everyone. Dinner was good as well. As stated in other reviews, the way they work the restaurants over there in the evening took us a day to figure out. Bottom line, the conclusion we came to (so don't take this as gospel, just and educated observation) is if you stay in the Privilege section, you can have your Butler or Concierge make dinner reservations for you ahead of time at the specialty Restaurants and you can cut the lines and walk right in and get your spot at your specified reservation time. If you do not have a reservation, you get a pager thingy and have to wait til they have an opening, which from what I observed, could take quite a while. However, they do have the buffet dining room, which is huge, that you can pretty much walk into at anytime and get a seat without any waiting. It seems like that is where the majority of people were eating in the evenings, and again, the food was really good. I am not sure if guests that did not pay for the Privilege upgrade could make advanced dinner reservations, that would be a question for the folks at the resort.

I would not hesitate, and will probably visit this resort again in the future. Have the bartenders make you an "Electric Lemonade" or "Puerto Morelos" cocktail!.... Weeeeee!

Room Tip: Rooms in buildings 1,2,3,& 4 were extremely quiet in the evenings. Do yourself a favor and requ...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BigDon219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear BigDon219,
We are thankful for your observations regarding your stay in our property. It is pleasant to know that you had a great time with us enjoying our Privilege services and that you found a good value for your stay. In regard to your question about the dinning system, we like to inform that our restaurants function on a first come first serve basis in order to give everyone the opportunity to dine were preferred. We also count with dinner reservations for our Privilege guests, as in your case, nevertheless this does not mean an impediment for the other guests to dine too. Thank you for posting your review and share your experience with the community. We look forward your next vacations at OCT.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
18.4 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#73 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,335 reviews
4.3 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,946 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#7 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,745 reviews
24.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Yucatan
Hotel Riu Yucatan
#62 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,822 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Coral & Turquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Coral & Turquesa

Address: Carretera Cancun - Playa del Carmen, Lotes 1-5 | Manzana 5, Super Manzana 12, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $161 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Coral & Turquesa 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean, this enchanting all-inclusive resort offers an array of activities to engage your senses. This dazzling all-inclusive resort is located on prime beachfront property in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean, close to Cancun and neighboring Riviera Maya communities. With sweeping views of the Caribbean, a magnificent white-sand beach with crystalline waters, and surrounded with tropical foliage, Ocean Coral & Turquesa offers a wide range of activities for everyone, along with an assortment of services to ensure that you have an unforgettable Caribbean vacation. Enjoy a variety of gastronomic fare, round-the-clock entertainment, children's programs, and Mexican hospitality. Whether it's a romantic getaway for two, a family vacation, a self-indulging spa vacation, even a business retreat, we have it all, in one all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Coral & Turquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Hotel Puerto Morelos
Ocean Coral And Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing