We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful retreat worth visiting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Waunakee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful retreat worth visiting”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The pictures on-line were real, this was a beautiful and well kept resort. This resort was very clean from the pools to the rooms. Previous reviews suggested asking for a dehumidifier which was EXCELLENT advice to decrease some musty odor present just near the entrance of the room. The food had good variety, the Japanese, Mexican and Caribbean restaurant were very good, the Italian was ok. The theater area was very small and warm. We snorkeled through the Apple group, but it was pricey for the amount of time you spent in the water. A portion was at the snorkel company beach for lunch and "rest" which could have been avoided. We biked into Puerto Morales as an activity with a guide and that was easy, free and fabulous(except for non-functioning helmets provided). The village is very quaint and felt comfortable and safe. There were multiple snorkeling trips leaving from there that visited a better part of the reef. We were greeted with a tropical beverage which was greatly appreciated. The only hassle was obtaining beach chairs. Even though there is a "Do not save" policy, it was not enforced. The kiddy pool area was a nice escape, not many kids and an available bartender. During busy times wait staff was overwhelmed which disappointed some, but I do not mind going to the bar for my drinks. Building 15 was a perfect location (suggested from previous reviews) if you like a quiet area. Overall we were very pleased with our choice, and might consider staying in the village. The only solicitation was done via a piece of paper upon arrival that my husband tossed about joining the Privlege group. The biggest disadvantage about not joining was you were not allowed to make dinner reservations, which meant the club members took many of the choice times. We would be likely to return here or try another location of H10.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Sue H,
We are thankful for your observations regarding your stay in our property. It is pleasant to know that you had a delightful stay. We look forward your next vacations at OCT.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,961
    3,289
    1,308
    459
    316
See reviews for
4,163
3,790
154
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,543)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our first time staying at this resort. We stayed with a group of freinds from Feb. 8th thru Feb. 15th.It was a great time from the time we got there to the time we left. First while checking in Alejandro made checking in easy and fun by giving us an upgrade to an ocean view room. Thanks Alejandro! The hotel is beautiful and well maintained. The restaurants are very good and easy to get into, if you don't mind eating later in the day like we did.There was no problem getting drinks. Veronica was always there to take our order when we were around the pool, and when we were around the pool bar Gaspar did a great job of serving drinks and making it fun. Now, the staff that works around the pools does a great job getting people to have fun. Our favorites were Nelley, Oly and Monica. They work so hard all day and ALWAYS had a smile on there face and made us feel welcome. We miss you guys! Not only do they work hard all day around the pools they dance in the shows at night, which they do an awsome job at.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WisconsinBirdie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear WisconsinBirdie78,
It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff; we are aware that it is because of them that we are able to improve our services and achieve their total satisfaction. We are thankful for writing your experience and we look forward your next visit.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corner Brook, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We really couln't say much bad about this resort. The grounds were very well maintained, staff very friendly and helpful, tons of bars and places to eat. Food was really good and the coffee bar was amazing, especially all the sweet treats!! The only downfall to this resort was the prestige club. We spent a load of money on this trip to Mexico and it really rotted us that even with the dollars we spent, there was always someone with a prestige bracelet who butted the line to the a la cart restaurants. Very frustrating!
On the plus side, Puerto Morelos is a must visit! This is the most amazing place I have seen in awhile. Retired Canadians, Americans, and Europeans all blend in well with the locals and it is a wonderful place. Don't let the resort try to fool you like they tried to with us. They (even the sunwing rep) played the whole "your a Canadian in Mexico, so be safe" card. This is only because they want you to spend your money where they want you to spend it. We were told that there wasn't much to see or do in Puerto Moselos so no need to visit. So we took the tour to Playa Del Carmen (which was awesome) but all the items at the market could have been bought in Puerto Morelos.
We travelled last March and I am only writing this now but I still would recomend this resort. It is absolutely beautiful. It just didn't suit us. We are not the 5 star type of people, but to each there own.

Room Tip: I don't think it really matters. All the rooms are absolutely beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JYoung848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear JYoung848,
We want to thank you for sharing your post and for have chosen our resort for your vacations. Is good to learn that you found satisfactory your experience and were pleased with the resort. On the other hand we lament that our Privilege concept made you feel uncomfortable. We like to enlighten that our Privilege Concept entitles customers with some benefits for an extra charge, such as dinner reservations for our a la carte restaurants, however we would like to enlighten that the totality of our clients must receive the corresponding treatment to a hotel of our category, we do not accept any different. In regard to your comment about the tours and offsite activities, we like to clarify that we recommend to book these through the representatives at the resort as it is safer than doing it with an outside vendors. Nevertheless the guests are free to decide the best option according to their needs. We truly appreciate your remarks which will be analyzed in order to provide a better service. We look forward your next visit.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

What a great resort. From the time we checked in to the time we checked out everything was wonderful. We have traveled to the Riviera Maya area five times before and this was the best yet.

The staff is amazing! Thanks Erik, Emeterio, Gustavos, Monica, Melvin, Omar, Chef Alan and ALL. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The food and drinks were incredible at all the restaurants and especially the Chef's dinner. Lots to do. The beach is well kept, the pool area is clean and comfortable. Scuba, snorkel, shows all were enjoyable.

Can't wait to return. See you next February.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katotravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear katotravelers,
We are grateful for taking the time to share with us your observations regarding your stay in our property. It was very pleasant to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that you had a memorable time at our Chef’s Table. Thank you for your comments regarding our staff, be sure that we will extend your gratitude to the mentioned members from our personnel . We hope that when returning to Mexico, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again at our resort.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carver, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were pleased with our stay. The beach is beautiful (staff are constantly grooming), the ocean is a mesmorizing mix of blues. The people both guests and staff - wonderful! We stayed 2/8-2/15. Our check-in was smooth - front desk folks were great. Our room and deck - awesome - clean, big and great views!

Special call outs to the fabulous staff - Daily activities - many thanks to Monica, Nellie, Oli, Samantha, Isrial. Our waitress Veronica who made sure we had a cool drink as we hung out in the Cabanas next to the pool bar. And bar tender Gasper who amped things up at the pool bar.

We ate at the Steak and Seafood place - don't be afraid that the Rib Eye says Cajun. It is not spicy. Order medium rare. It was awesone and huge. Italian was wonderful (we ate outside and had meal cooked at table) . We also had Mexican. My fajitas were good. The Japanese joint, we went to twice. It was a big hit for all ages (over 14 that is as there is a minimum age on eating there). Fresh fruit was juicy and sweet - best Honey Dew melon ever.

Puerto Morelos is approximately an hour walk (or take taxi). The snorkeling is awesome! Seriously, you need to go. We had 7 people and were able to negotiate 20 bucks each for a 2 hr excursion which took us to 2 spots. We also enjoyed doing some shopping. Cheaper then resort and Playa.

Criticisms - the nasty spa/zen music which played 2 evenings from 8-10ish PM at the pool bar which is where the fiesta was scheduled to start at 10:30 with music and dancing. I could not go from "backrub" music to party so went to bed early on both nights and one was a Friday :-(

If you like tea. There is none in the room. Nab some tea bags from the Lobby Bar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swessin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear swessin,
Thank you for choosing our resort for your last vacation, it is rewarding to read that you had a pleasant experience. Also, that you enjoyed our facilities and the attention provided by our staff. Regarding your observation about the lack of tea in the rooms, we like to inform that our guests can contact our Room Service or our Operator in case they need this type of requirement. Thank you for your observations about the variety of music played at the pool bar and for sharing your opinions about your stay with us. We look forward your next vacations at our resort.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

All the staff were excellent. They were friendly, courteous, attentive, and happy. The resort was beautiful. The food was fantastic. It was a vacation of a lifetime.
Lots of entertainment so you are never bored.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forse524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Forse524,
We are thankful for taking your time to post your review. It is very gratifying to know that you had a an enjoyable experience at our resort and furthermore that you appreciated the variety in our offer. We hope to host you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warren,pa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just getting around to submitting this. Hotel was very clean, Victor kept our room very clean and helped us with anything we needed. He was EXCELLENT! When we arrived we were put on the 4th floor. Elevator NEVER worked. Ceramic tile around the resort was VERY slippery (take shoes with good tread). Food at the buffet was great (would make you custom omlets for breakfast), food at route 66 was great. We made reservations at the japanese restaurant to sit around where they cook the food in front of you- food was excellent (chicken and steak stir fry)- regular menu for anyone just making regular reservations (I dont eat fish). I would not have eaten anything on the menu. We went to the carribean grill twice. First time canjun steak was amazing, second time awful. Little cafe had food that was ok. Pools were good. 1 pool for people with kids had walk in entry, 2nd pool had volleyball set up, 2nd pool had lounge chairs in it and lots of places to sit in the pool. pool bar pool had the m ost people at it. there were lounge chairs in this pool also. quiet pool was clear to the right if standing on the beach. never went there. Denise and the staff had games and activities during the day around the pools - water aerobics, mixology class, games, etc. always something going on. BEach was the biggest disappointment - I wanted blue water and white sand so I could snorkel anytime i wanted. When we got to the beach I almost cried. it look like standing on the beach at virginia beach. no blue or clear water. we knew from the reviews there was a lot of seaweed. every morning they had to sweep the beach because the beach was covered. turns out the water is clear once you stick your head in it but there is so much seaweed growing on the bottom that the water looks brown. We signed up for a catamaran trip by the pool - it was the best day!!! Alex was the captain of the boat. we had 14 people and rented the small one to ourselves. Would never have gone on the bigger one - so many people on it not sure how any of them got any deck space. We cruised to Isle Maj. found my blue water there- snorkeling was amazing. Alex and his crew made sure we had a great day!!!! If you plan on going on any excursions through apple, go to the desk the day you get there!! We waited and did not realize they only go to certain places certain days. Since the day we wanted to go was not on option, we went through the company in the lobby. Make sure you are in the lobby 15 minutes before the departure time - they will not wait. we took the trip to ruins. We left at 8 we got on a small bus that toool us to a transfer station where we got on a big bus. ( they gave us a box breakfast) the bus trip was 2 1/2 hours long. to get there but the tour was good. stopped in a little town for a little while then at cenote. got back to the transfer station around 7 then had an hour bus ride from hell back to the hotel in the little bus. when we got back (friday) it was american night at the buffet and they had people come in with souveniers to sell. The bathrooms in the hotel rooms themselves are not family friendly. no where to change your clothes privately, toilet and shower just had heavy frosted glass for doors. tub had no walls around it except for 1 piece of heavy frosted glass seperating it fom the beds.
Activities in lobby included chololate bar, teequila tasting, poker night, movies on lounge chairs outside, dancing around pool bar, etc. different nights,, different activities. bed pillows hard as a rock. pushed queen beds together to make bigger beds because not enough kings rooms available.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear j s,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your observations regarding your stay in our property. It was very pleasant to know that you enjoyed our services and facilities and that we were able to provide you a delightful stay. We lament that our beach was not as you expected, nevertheless we must inform that this condition was aggravated due to the bad weather presented during the month of October, when you visited us. As you had an excellent experience despite this issue, we would like to invite you to visit our resort in another season of the year, when the beach condition is better. We truly appreciate your kind comments and we hope that when returning to our vacation destination, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again at our resort.
Bests,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
4.3 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,638 reviews
18.4 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,820 reviews
7.6 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#22 of 175 in Cancun
21,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
20.4 mi away
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus by Melia Playa Del Car...
#31 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
7,101 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Coral & Turquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Coral & Turquesa

Property: Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Address: Carretera Cancun - Playa del Carmen, Lotes 1-5 | Manzana 5, Super Manzana 12, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Coral & Turquesa 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean, this enchanting all-inclusive resort offers an array of activities to engage your senses. This dazzling all-inclusive resort is located on prime beachfront property in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean, close to Cancun and neighboring Riviera Maya communities. With sweeping views of the Caribbean, a magnificent white-sand beach with crystalline waters, and surrounded with tropical foliage, Ocean Coral & Turquesa offers a wide range of activities for everyone, along with an assortment of services to ensure that you have an unforgettable Caribbean vacation. Enjoy a variety of gastronomic fare, round-the-clock entertainment, children's programs, and Mexican hospitality. Whether it's a romantic getaway for two, a family vacation, a self-indulging spa vacation, even a business retreat, we have it all, in one all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Coral & Turquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Hotel Puerto Morelos
Ocean Coral And Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing