We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The resort is marvelous. The resort size is just perfect. The staff were wonderful, everyone is very friendly and helpful. The restaurants and bars were awesome. One of our favorite was Mikes coffee, the coffee specialties were very tasty. It is a eco-friendly resort. One day of the week at night time they turned off all of the main lights in the lobby, it was a great time to just sit, relax, and have a drink. Recommended for all!!!

Room Tip: Privilege junior suits are the best! Most have an ocean view witch is lovely in the morning time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roman Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Roman Y,
We are thankful for sharing your observations regarding your stay at OCT. It is pleasant to know that you had a nice and enjoyable experience at our facilities. We look forward your next vacations at OCT.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11,755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,984 - 5,990 of 11,755 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have spent a week here from the second day I was ready to leave this place.
Our room had no privacy the bathroom exposed to the whole room. No screen door so u couldn't enjoy the ocean breeze instead our room fills up with bugs.
Most of all that angered me their was no form of clocks (alarm clock) in the room.
Even the most sleaze bag motels have alarm clocks. ( the kind u pick hookers up and bring them back for a quickly have alarm clocks)
Usually ur frige in your room gets stocked daily with out asking. I had to call room serves daily to get it stocked!!!
The staff was unfriendly and ignorant. Say morning in Spanish to them and they look at u like u have the plage.
They advertise all inclusive but u have to pay extra for a stake dinner $30 us and up!!!
Nothing opens up tell 10 o'clock example mikes coffee shop! Can't get a cup of coffee until 10 o'clock.
They don't care about kids safety
I was at the kiddy pool and the kids went to the bathroom at the kiddy pool and could not open the door cause it would not unlock. So I went to the front desk and complained every day that they needed to fix it. Got told we will fix it. But by the last day still not fixed. Every day u would see kids coming out crying after being trapped in girls washroom at the kiddy pool bar.
WHAT IF SOMETHING HAPPENED AND THE KIDS NEEDED OUT FOR SOME RESON AND COULDN'T GET OUT!!!!!

I have traveled to Mexico lots been to many resorts. This by far is the worst!!!
Highly recommend Secrets, princess, blue bay resorts!!! They are worth every penny u spend!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 1levi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Ocean Coral & Turquesa in Riviera Maya Mexico for our Honeymoon. We stayed in a Junior Suite with an ocean / pool view. The rooms were always clean and the minibar fully restocked every day. Sonia, the person at the resort who was in charge of cleaning our room was super. She even made a different little animal from towels each day and placed them on our bed (nice little touch).

The beach was nice, however as others have said on here, there were days when the seaweed was pretty heavy. The resort did their best to keep the beaches clean of the seaweed though. My only other complaint of the beach is more of a complaint of other people staying at the resort. Many people would place towels on the chairs at the beach early in the morning, they would then go back to bed and then to breakfast, returning to the beach around lunchtime. This made it difficult to locate a beach chair some days.

The food was very good. We ate at all of the restaurants except for the Italian restaurant. The staff at all of the restaurants were very friendly and accommodating.

One major complaint was the timeshare sales people. When we checked in the first night, we were introduced to the concierge, who asked that we come see her for breakfast the next day. After we met with her she passed off to another person, who we were never told, was a time share sales person. We had breakfast and then the sales pitch started. We tried to say we were not interested, however we were whisked away to the "timeshare office" for further sales pressure. We were finally able to get away without purchasing a timeshare, however almost half our day was now wasted. Oh well, now we know if we come back again, which I would.

Room Tip: If you do not plan to partake in the late night activities at the pool bar, I would suggest not book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisSolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This resort was perfect for our large group! TripAdvisor is making me choose 'What sort of trip was this?' but none of their categories really apply. We came here for our wedding with 30 others ranging from 60+-18 months! Part of our group was privileged and the other was not. It didn't really make that large of a difference. We enjoyed the separate pools giving spots for a relaxing, party, "teen" and kid pool, so there was something for everyone. The wedding process was very smooth, once we arrived, and it was the absolutely most beautiful and perfect day. The photographer, Marco, who you must use, is phenomenal, and the food served during our reception was the best food everyone had while there. This is definitely a great resort for large groups/weddings!

The pros: The service was awesome. Pablo and Carlos at the main bar, and Alejandro and everyone else in the Privilege lounge and beach are fantastic! The general upkeep on this resort is great! You can even get a fresh cut coconut to drink if you ask while they're trimming the trees! The beach is scrapped pretty regularly so the seaweed is minimal...there, but minimal. You don't need any type of shoe to go in the water, so that's a bonus!

The cons: Rooms are cleaned later in the afternoon unless you hang the 'please clean room now' sign. And the hot tub/shower on the balcony may not be private. Some have a privacy wall, but others have a railing so it's not very private. Even though there are signs everywhere that say you can't claim beach chairs, you can, and people do, early. The food is average to blah. The Mexican restaurant was the largest disappointment, lacking flavor. The breakfast buffet was good nothing wonderful but good. Everyone in our group only positively talked about Villa Marina.

A tip from a bride:
Just remember, they know what they're doing! You'll meet with the wedding coordinator once you get there, and it will all move so smoothly! It's what they do! But it will turn out awesome!

Room Tip: The lower the number the more relaxed, less family-friendly. The higher the number the more kid-fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KTpav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear KTpav,
We want to express our gratitude for your review regarding your experience at our resort. We are glad to learn that we were able to fulfill your expectations and that your wedding at our resort was a memorable experience for you and your family. Furthermore that you and your group enjoyed during your vacations with the variety of our offer. We truly appreciate your recommendations regarding our gastronomical offer. We look forward to host your 1st anniversary trip.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have fantastic time for a beautiful wedding! Location, food and service were excellent. The resort was clean and staff was very attentive with us. The Ocean Coral & Turquesa is located in the sleepy fishing village of Puerto Morelos which is about 15 minutes by taxi from Downtown Playa del Carmen. This hotel opened in the fall of 2007 and with 4 pools, 5 restaurants and a great beach, it has all the ameneties one could want in a Cancun vacation resort. The rooms are clean and spacious with the fridge stocked daily. More tasty food than anyone could ever eat. No need to fear of an empty glass as they are constantly asking you if you want more.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Virgotronik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear Virgotronik,
We want to express our gratitude for your review regarding your wedding and vacation experience at our resort. It is satisfactory for us to learn that our staff went above and beyond in order to make of your event a memorable moment for you. Be sure that we will extend your gratitude to all the members of our staff that contribute to your wedding arrangements. Thank you for your comments about our property. We look forward to host your 1st anniversary trip.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

A very clean and well taken care of hotel,excellent staff felt like family.Large room great view of the ocean and pool.loved to sit on the terrice and watch the sun come up in the morning with a cup of fresh made coffee.a whole week in sandels and shorts in Jan.We ate in the buffet every breakfast,lunch and dinner,great food, service was a 10 plus our waiters name was can di he made us feel at home.our last day he gave my wife a braclet that his wife made.only issue was the bed was hard as a rock they but a thin pad on top it helped a little but was not like our sleep number.pools were very nice and very large.The lobby was a good place to people watch,and the lobby bar served great drinks and expresso. we had a good time even thou we are not party people.It was a good vacation.

Room Tip: the pool bar stays open until midnight so our room was above and behind and a little loud.second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denden1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear denden1944,
We are grateful for choosing OCT as your vacation destination, and also for taking your time to share your opinion with the community. It is gratifying to learn that you found satisfactory our service, facilities and offer. Furthermore that you appreciated the friendliness and good work of Cande. We will be more than glad to welcome you one more time on the near future.
Bests,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Well I have never filled out one of these, but after reading some of the others leaving feedback, I figured I would give my 2 cents worth. We were there for a wedding a couple weeks back and were looking forward to the trip. We arrived early and about 80 percent of our group did not have rooms ready. That was no biggie, can happen anywhere right? Then wen we checked into our room, we had small ants. Not large ones, but small ones that were pretty nocturnal. You never saw many during the day, but at night there were plenty around the bathroom, and even one night on an empty plate on the dresser. I had about a half dozen small bite marks but that could have been from anything right? We basically never left the resort, so not sure where else they would have came from.

The restaurants were ok, Nothing special, other than the Japenese one it was great. The route 66 restaurant strangely got about a half dozen of our group sick, and had upset stomachs and dirreah. Maybe we just were not used to the food? Lots of deep fried food, and lots of things had not much taste. The desserts were pretty bland as well.

As for the beach, there was seaweed like everyone else says. But with the walking up and down the beach we noticed that our resort was the only one that had red flags up the whole time. Other resorts down the way had yellow flags and were doing some water sports??? What was with that.

The pool areas were ok, The main outside bar closed way too early, and the service was slow. The ideas they had for outside water games, and pool games sucked badly. As well, someone else commented that they bantered you for participation.... True.. Definately there is some room for improvement there.

The road in could use some maintenance as well. Put some resort money into it! Also it is hard to believe that there was no shuttles to the airport, or Playa for the guests to get on. Other than you paying for it yourself.

We also noticed the extras menu on a so called all inclusive menu. That was sad, there was not much for seafood considering you are by water.

Staff wise, things were ok, they were helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Get rooms that are on ground floor and close to the check in, then you are centralized. We upgraded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CanadianTraveller204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear CanadianTraveller 204,
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host your last vacations. We truly appreciate your good comments in regard to our staff. On the other hand we lament that your vacations were not as you expected. We must enlighten that the check-in time at our resort is 15:00 hrs, whoever, we do our best effort to have our facilities ready before this time. Please allow us to inform that since our resort is located in an eco-protected zone surrounded by a mangrove, insects are part of the natural wildlife of this ecosystem. Nevertheless our resort counts with a pest control program in order to control the insects and prevent inconveniences to the guests. Regarding to your comment about the health problems of some members of your party, we like to emphasize that since the corresponding hygiene procedures related to food preparation are carrying out at our resort and further more we have a consultant whom in regular basis audits the correct follow up of this measures, and we do not have any other report of this kind of situations, we assume their sickness has a cause beyond our control. We must say that your comment about our entertainment offer really surprises us, as we usually receive positive feedback regarding the activities and personnel of this department. Be sure that your comment will be extended to the entertainment management. In regard to your comments about the extra charges at the restaurants, we like to inform hat we have certain products in our restaurant offer that are not included in the All Inclusive Programs and have an extra charge, which are clearly identified in the menus, and is the customer’s decision to order them or not. We are thankful for sharing your opinion regarding your vacation experience.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
4.3 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 27 in Puerto Morelos
9,193 reviews
18.4 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#67 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,732 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#6 of 27 in Puerto Morelos
7,512 reviews
0.6 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 27 in Puerto Morelos
12,701 reviews
0.8 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Coral & Turquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Coral & Turquesa

Address: Carretera Cancun - Playa del Carmen, Lotes 1-5 | Manzana 5, Super Manzana 12, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $178 - $664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Coral & Turquesa 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean, this enchanting all-inclusive resort offers an array of activities to engage your senses. This dazzling all-inclusive resort is located on prime beachfront property in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean, close to Cancun and neighboring Riviera Maya communities. With sweeping views of the Caribbean, a magnificent white-sand beach with crystalline waters, and surrounded with tropical foliage, Ocean Coral & Turquesa offers a wide range of activities for everyone, along with an assortment of services to ensure that you have an unforgettable Caribbean vacation. Enjoy a variety of gastronomic fare, round-the-clock entertainment, children's programs, and Mexican hospitality. Whether it's a romantic getaway for two, a family vacation, a self-indulging spa vacation, even a business retreat, we have it all, in one all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Coral & Turquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Hotel Puerto Morelos
Ocean Coral And Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing