We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

When staying in the Mayan Riviera, the hotel is very important because you are within walking distance to nothing. Ocean is a very pretty hotel with an excellent beach. The beach is clean, and the hotel is immaculate. The housekeeping staff is everywhere. You rarely see an empty glass or cigarette butt. Wifi service is available in the hotel lobby and the Privilege lounge, if you purchased the Privilege option. Upgrading to Privilege gets you premium alcohol, a junior suite with an ocean view, and access to the Privilege lounge which serves breakfast and dinner has a concierge, wifi and desktop computers for guests' use.

Food in all of the restaurants was good; however, one of my two issues with the hotel was restaurant service. With the exception of the Italian restaurant where service was good, servers are quick to take your order and deliver your food, but you won't see them often, if at all, after that. Getting coffee at the breakfast buffet can take 15 minutes, or longer, and you will rarely see a refill.

Aside from the restaurants, the rest of the hotel staff is very friendly. You pass no one without them greeting you.

My other complaint with the hotel is the cleaning solution used in the rooms. It has a VERY strong, industrial ordor that is almost nausiating. It lasts hours and doesn't dissipate until sometime during the night. Mattresses are firm, and the pillows resemble the surface of the moon.

The experience was just alright for me. I probably would not return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trippin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Trippin26,
Thank you for choosing our resort for your vacation destination and for sharing your opinion about your stay with us. It is rewarding to know that your experience was satisfactory and that you appreciated the cleanliness of our facilities and our food offer. We assure you that your comments regarding the service at our restaurants will be taken into consideration in order to improve our performance. We must say that your comment regarding the odor of our cleaning solutions really surprises us, as it is the first time that we receive an observation about it. We will share your comment with our Housekeeping manager and changes will be made if necessary. We are truly thankful for your thoughtful comments and for sharing them on this site. We look forward your next visit.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,909
    3,264
    1,299
    452
    314
See reviews for
4,108
3,767
154
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,520)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The resort was amazing! The buildings were spacious, tons of seating, huge pools and great food! The rooms were so clean and friendly staff! I went with my friend for our Birthdays and we had fun. It is definitely a family resort as there were tons of kids from Mexico and families from Canada vacationing there. We just stuck to the pool bar where there were less kids. You definitely need to reserve your spot by the pool in the morning to get a chair. The beach was beautiful (there were some seaweed washed along shore, but that is mother nature). Sometimes there would not be enough chairs on the beach. There was great entertainment, plenty of food choices and the water was filtered! We never got sick there! Would def go back again!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandyBee1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear MandyBee1611,
It is gratifying to learn that you found satisfactory our facilities, service and entertainment offer. We want to restate our gratitude for choosing OCT as your vacation destination, and also for taking your time to share your opinion with the community. We will be more than glad to welcome you one more time on the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Being the first time at a resort, I have to say that this was one of the best experiences I have yet to have. Not only was the resort at Ocean Coral awesome but the staff made my trip ten times better. Doing all the activities like beach volleyball, the crazy pool games and my all time favourite, the aqua gym made it a blast. Ursa and Israel put on hilarious aqua aerobics lessons that i participated in over 3 times! Also Hugo and Israel put on a show with the crazy games like Gregorio Gregorito, always making me laugh. At night it was always great to watch the shows where Gustavo Zugaro would always open the show up with his comedy and funny expressions. Then it was great to see the entertainers from the pool act and dance, especially Israel and Hugo.... great dancers! It was awesome how I got to hang out with these fun entertainers throughout the week. There was even dancing at the pool bar at night time. I had a great time with Hugo, Israel and especially Ursa, who made the trip soooo much fun. This was by far one of my greatest experiences! Loved it!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Justin B,
We truly appreciate your kind comment regarding the enthusiasm and professionalism of our entertainment team. It is goo to learn that their hard work, friendliness and good service made of your vacation the best experience you have ever had. We are thankful for sharing your review with the community. We hope to see you soon.
Bests,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I am far from fussy and I won't complain just to hear myself but I feel I have to give an honest review. We travelled last year April 13th-20th 2012
We travelled with a large group 21 people. ( mostly families.. 4 famiies all with teenagers and young adults)
Our travel agent sucked so this could have been part of the problem.
We arrived at 1am and that is just to late to check into a fully booked (apparently) hotel.

Cons

We asked for adjoining rooms and even paid to upgrade our rooms.. Didn't happen. I requested 2 rooms with double beds and 1 room with a king.. I had 2 rooms all with king size beds and 1 room with 2 double beds... So my 4 20-24year olds all had to sleep in 1 bed!! Ahhhh... I don't think so!
We were really upset and it was late. **Tip. never arrive in the night flight in a large group**
Too 3 days to straighten out and it never did.
We didnt' find the staff as friendly as DR or CUBA
You can't make reservations for dinner if you are not upgrading to the royal section. This sucks! Waiting in line for the Japanese and never happened.
The beach was so full of seaweed, we never swam once!
Bring fly dope for dining by the beach at nite, hold sand fleas!!!
Never topped up the bar fridge with water or anything.. We had to call alot for that.
1st floor was so musty and stinky!! IT was terrible.. I didnt request this, I always ask for a 3rd floor for this reason.. but again, we didnt get that..
They didnt even have our rooms together, my 2 children were 2 floors up and my other 2 were 8 doors down. The rest or our party was god knows where?? Mind you we booked our trip 8 months in advance... guess it wasn't enough time for them to plan???


Pros

We loved the food at this resort, the hamburgers at lunch were amazing!!!
I did ask the hotel to make up to us all the confusion with check in and have a birthday party for my 12year old daughter and after much deliberation with management they did. They provided a cake and at their private steakhouse with reservations!!! It was really nice. They had balloons and our own private waiter. It was great!
We liked the snack bar the first few times we went, but then it got crazy busy and to many drunks!
The Mexican resturant is great!
The pool was beautiful
The bars were awesome and the lunch buffet was really good!
walking to the pier was nice along the beach but see my CON up top about the amount of Seaweed!
Modern resort
Entertainment was SO/SO
Lots of towels and chairs by the pool!
Its a pretty quiet resort over all we found, no noise complaints!

We loved 5th Avenue! Go for the shopping and the experience!!
Must to go Excaret if you go to Mexico!! Amazing.. ask me if you want to see the whole park in a day how we did it. The other families we went with were not planners like us and we got to see the whole park, they were dissapointed!
There were things about Mexico, like the moderness and food, that we liked but many things, like the friendliness, that we liked more in DR.

Room Tip: Stay on the upper floors....the first floors are moldy and musty!!! 3rd floor facing the main pool i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExitGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear ExitGirl,
We want to extend our gratitude for taking your time to share your comments regarding your last stay on April 2012. We are glad to learn that you found our pool and food offer satisfactory, and also that you enjoyed the tranquility of our facilities. Furthermore that the arrangements for your daughter’s birthday party made by our staff made a memorable experience for you and your group. Nevertheless we regret that some aspects from your stay were not as you expected and that you found the location of your rooms inconvenient. Please allow us to inform that rooms are assigned upon availability and departure. Since our resort was fully booked, we were not able to assign your rooms as close as you wished. We lament that because of the high occupancy at our resort we were not able to fulfill the entirety of your room requests. We must say that your comment regarding the lack of friendliness of our staff has overwhelmed us since it is not normal that we receive those kinds of remarks from our guests, but on the contrary, we usually receive excellent feedback about their friendliness and attentiveness. Furthermore, on a frequent basis our Human Resources coordinates seminars to all our staff members in order to reinforce the culture of service our guests deserve and expect. We are aware that the humidity of zone may be an affair, nevertheless we do place dehumidifiers in rooms if requested in order to alleviate the humidity that is beyond our control as a consequence of our geographical location. Rest assure that the entirety of your remarks will be analyzed and actions will be taken if needed in order to prevent possible inconveniences to our future guest.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motley, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was our first vacation about a month ago. We were celebrating our honeymoon! This was a great place, but I don't think we will ever go back. Besides we've been there, want to go somewhere else, but somethings we just weren't satisfied about. First off all of the staff were so friendly & helpful! Everyone would greet you & always had a smile on their face. The servers in the restaurant were great! They work so hard! The view was also great! We got a ocean view room, so we woke up every morning to the sun rising right on the ocean. Was so gorgeous! The place was fairly clean. We had a few issues with non cleanliness, but our room was always spotless! The daily activities are great! They are very fun so you have to participate! The food was average. Some things were great, but some restaurants didn't have many choices, so some of the food wasn't the best. We ate at the buffet every morning and I think we only received service there twice & we were there for 7 mornings. It was like they didn't want to wait on us, so we never got coffee. A lot of people complained about not being able to get seated in previous reviews, but we never had a problem. Never waited, we got right in at all the locations! The staff at the bar especially Jasper is awesome! He is so fun, so if you see him at the pool bar make sure you start up a convo with him! A few things we weren't happy about/complaints: There are no clocks anywhere! That's not a huge problem since you're on vacation, but when you have to catch a bus to go do excursions that become a problem. There are no alarm clocks or even clocks in the lobby, so make sure you bring a watch or 2! Another was the room service. She was great & our room was always clean, but she would come at a different time everyday! We would hang the "make room up now" card when we would be gone, and sometimes our room would be clean others not. One morning she was there by 10 & the next she came at 5pm. So that makes it difficult & frustrating especially when you want to get ready for dinner. Also the drinks mixed there are WAY stronger then in the US, so needless to say we both drank way to much one day, even though it wasn't more then what we've had in the states, but since they drinks are mixed so much stronger it kicked our butts. So just be watching! Another was the water. All the places had the filtered water or water bottles except for the pool bar. I had two glasses there & I was so sick the next day. I don't know if they have different water that's not filtered, but it's bad. So don't get water there! And at all cost if you aren't interested in a time share skip it! It takes 3 hours of your time plus when you tell them you can't afford it they turn the blame on you. Kind of was a smack in the face when they said it's not their fault we can't afford it! I thought they were plenty rude, but they were the only rude ones there! Everyone was SO nice!
Our complaints are small compared to what was good. We had a great time & would definitely recommend the place to others, but in the mean time it's time to travel to another location & see what else there is out there!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the top floor so you get an ocean view, otherwise you will look at trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TKLEE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear TKLEE M,
Thank you for posting your experience at this site. It is good to learn that you had a great time at OCT and that you appreciated our facilities and kindness of our staff. On the other hand we lament that some aspects of your stay were not satisfactory. In regard to your comment about the lack of clocks in our facilities, please allow us to inform that those are situated behind our Front and Privilege desk, and also at our towel center and Spa. Regarding your comment about the housekeeping service, we like to inform that the schedule for the cleaning services is from 9:00 to 17:00 hrs., this information is posted in the welcome cards left by the housekeeping staff in the rooms and in our Services Directory. Furthermore, if our guests need an specific time for the cleaning service, they can always request it to our Guest Service Department in order to make the pertinent arrangements. Please let us enlighten that our business is proprietary of a Vacational Club, which is promoted by our Concierges. During the meeting with the concierges, they make reference of a welcome breakfast and a tour to know our facilities during the following days after the guests’ arrival to the resort. We must remark that clients attend to this promotion only if is their will. Regarding your comments about the drinks, we regret that you perceive that our beverages were not prepared properly, however you could always ask the bartender to add more liquor to your beverage or prepared another one according to your tastes. Be sure that your feedback it’s very important for us, it’s the only way to improve our services and our performance. We truly appreciate that you recommend our resort. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.
Bests,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Fantastic Hotel,beautiful beach ,pools,Bars,entratainment,.I had met the Director of the Hotel at breakfast time,I complimented her the wonderful job she is doing by training all the Staff.We had our meals mainly at the Buffe,the Hostess,Julianna smiling at all times,morning,lunch,dinne time,very friendly.Our breakfast and Lunch server is Ricardo,we ask from day one ,the same server,he is always with a big smile ,and always knew what we wanted to drink.In the evening,we had Arturo,and served us the same manner,and knowing what to bring.Adrian also served us few times,delightful waiter.Mgr.of the Restaurant ,Monica always going around to see if we need anything else?Orlando,Juan,Grisalda at the Bar were fantastic,they also knew what to serve.Alejandra the cook delightful young Lady,excellent cook,this is our second time back,it is absolutely wonderful experience,again,We recommend ,very strongly.I am ready to return today!!!!!!!

Room Tip: The room number that we stayed was 14306,ocean wiew of corse you have to ask for it,it was beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edith Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Edith Z,
We would like to express our gratitude for your positive remarks and for sharing with us that you were satisfied with the hotel in general. It is rewarding to read your kind note regarding our staff members and learn that their service, friendliness and commitment with our guests’ satisfaction did not passed unnoticed. We are truly thankful for your recommendations. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance regarding your next visit. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

This was a great place to get away as it was quiet and well taken care of. As long as you stick to the standards that are offered you're fine. I found that when it came to special requests you were probably not going to get what you wanted unless you had someone specific watching out for you like a wedding planner or something. The privilege section seems a bit overrated but you will get extra service and a slightly better meal but there is a decent cost difference. The food was all standard nothing spectacular but no real disappointments either unless you're looking for food after 11pm. Good luck at that point. The specialty restaurants are decent but again not spectacular and you need to get there at the right time or else you're waiting for a bit. The beach is beatiful and well taken care of and so are the grounds. Unless you're picky about food it's worth a visit

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FizL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear chargrills, We want to thank you for taking your time to share your opinion about our resort. With reward we learn that you enjoyed our facilities, gastronomy and also that we were able to provide you with an amazing vacation. Thank you for choosing OCT for your vacations, we will be glad to welcome you and in the future.
Bests,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
4.3 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,513 reviews
7.6 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#22 of 175 in Cancun
21,166 reviews
18.4 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4,634 reviews
20.4 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#34 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,897 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Coral & Turquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Coral & Turquesa

Property: Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Address: Carretera Cancun - Playa del Carmen, Lotes 1-5 | Manzana 5, Super Manzana 12, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Coral & Turquesa 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean, this enchanting all-inclusive resort offers an array of activities to engage your senses. This dazzling all-inclusive resort is located on prime beachfront property in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean, close to Cancun and neighboring Riviera Maya communities. With sweeping views of the Caribbean, a magnificent white-sand beach with crystalline waters, and surrounded with tropical foliage, Ocean Coral & Turquesa offers a wide range of activities for everyone, along with an assortment of services to ensure that you have an unforgettable Caribbean vacation. Enjoy a variety of gastronomic fare, round-the-clock entertainment, children's programs, and Mexican hospitality. Whether it's a romantic getaway for two, a family vacation, a self-indulging spa vacation, even a business retreat, we have it all, in one all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Coral & Turquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Coral And Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Hotel Puerto Morelos
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing