We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Mantua, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great vacation”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We just got back from OTC, and we had a wonderful experience. The resort was beautiful , the staff was amazing and friendly. The food was good. When you travel to a foreign country, you have to expect things may taste different and not what you're used to. That being said, the food was good. You will definitely not starve. The beach was beautiful. The water was clear. Not every day ,but most of week. I did a lot of research before choosing OTC, and I'll admit was a little nervous. But, I was very happy with our choice. I would definitely return to Ocean Coral & Turquesa. And I would certaintly not hesitate to stay at any other H10 resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amyxray88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Amyxray88,
We would like to express our gratitude for your positive remarks, and sharing with us that you were satisfied with your stay at our resort. We extend our gratitude for taking your time to share your opinion and we will be glad to welcome you again in your next vacations.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,867
    3,235
    1,288
    451
    312
See reviews for
4,069
3,737
153
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,502)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We booked a 1 week All inclusive vacation thru itravel to Mexico. My daughter and her family were attending a friends destination wedding. We went to help out with the grandchildren. It turned out to be a Dream Vacation for us, the travel agent from itravel got us a fantastic deal at this 5 star Resort. I cannot say enough good things about this place, wonderful staff, Accomodations, food, and activities. This resort was great for couples, family, groups of friends and single people alike.
Our package vacation was thru Transat Holidays, this was the first time we have flown with this company and found them so helpful, catering to all our needs. I would definitely go back to this resort....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekoqwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear ekoqwn,
It is rewarding for us to read that you had a dream vacation with us and that we were able to provide an enjoyable experience for the entire family as we count with activities, gastronomic offer and facilities for every taste. Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward your next visit.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We gave this resort a 3 - average because of the price we paid. If we had paid full price...our rating would be a 2 - poor.
We came here for a wedding and spent 7 days at the resort at a bargain price. Our first impression was it looked nice. Very grand lobby. We were greeted with a champagne beverage at check in, and immediately whisked off to sit with a Time Share sales person. Which was a huge turn off!
Accommodations - room was average, hard bed, and weird layout of bathroom. The bathroom offered little to no privacy. There is no door separating the bathroom from the bed area. Awkward!!!! The best thing about the room was it had great water pressure!!!
The Food - below average!! We tried all the different restaurants, and were disappointed by all of them! We are not being harsh...but if you want something fresh and healthy..good luck! Okay, forget healthy..if you want something fresh and good....this is not the the place to go to! Only one of the restaurants offers breakfast, and that was the buffet. Again, below average..very little fresh fruit...mostly canned fruit. The cold cut meats looked old and grey, they did make fresh omelettes, but nothing fancy. Food was a huge disappointment!
We felt stuck at the resort. Unless you want to spend $100 per day (round trip) to leave the resort. You are stuck. To visit Playa del Carmen or Puerto Morelos it cost $$$$, and they are only 10 -20 minutes away.
Service - don't come here for service! Everyone was very nice. However, there is really no service here...if you want something, you must get it yourself.
The hotel was clean and maintained. Pools were all very nice.
You are basically getting the cheapest food, drink and service!
This was our first 'All Inclusive' experience. A big turnoff!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissymeCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear MissymeCalifornia,
We are thankful for your comments about the cleanliness and maintenance of our facilities. On the other hand, we regret that you found your stay at our resort not satisfactory. In regard to your comment about the welcome with the sales person, allow us to inform our business is proprietary of a Vacational Club, which is promoted by our Concierges. During the meeting with the concierges, they make reference of a welcome breakfast and a tour to know our facilities during the following days after the guests’ arrival to the resort. We must remark that clients attend to this promotion only if is their will. We regret that you were not totally satisfied with your room and that you felt a lack of privacy in it. Nevertheless we must enlighten that this situation is beyond our control since this is the architectonical design of the rooms. In regard to your comment about the quality of our food offer, please allow us to inform that our gastronomical offer was elaborated taking in consideration the diversity of our guests, furthermore the level of satisfaction obtained concerning the quality and variety of our food services has always been high, according to the guests satisfaction questionnaires. However, we lament that it was not able to fulfill your expectations. Our hotel is a 5 star resort with standards, service and offer according to our category. We regret if your perception of our performance was different. We want to thank you for choosing our resort for your first all-inclusive experience and for posting your review.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at Ocean Coral for a family reunion November 3-10. l would rate this hotel as 3.5*. The price was moderate for this all-inclusive and I had realistic expectation thanks to TripAdvisor. So, I was not too disappointed when we had some minor issues.

***** Pick-Up: We were picked up from the airport by Apple Vacation van and it was very smooth; we just dropped 3 other people off on the way at the nearby resort, so it was almost as fast as taking a taxi.
***** Check-In: The check-in was fast, but because we came at 11am, our rooms were not ready for 2 or 3 hours. That was fine: the bell-boy took care of our luggage; the open-air lunch buffet, drinks and towels were immediately available. Make sure you have bathing suites close at hand if you arrive early!
*** Rooms: The rooms were large and decently updated, especially bathrooms. But the next day couple of issues became apparent. The smell of cleaning chemicals wore off and my room started to smell like a damp public bathroom. A pool of water appeared in the middle of the bathroom after the shower. Turned out, the seal along the glass shower partition was leaking. The fridge was barely cooler than the room temperature. In my mom's room one of the beds was making noises at every move, waking up the second person. We reported the issues and our specially-assigned Guest Service representative Joaquin came immediately. Both my mom and myself were offered different rooms, but I liked the view in my original room better, so I stayed. Joaquin took care of fixing the leak and brought a dehumidifier. My mom went to a new room, but there, instead of her original problem, she got 3 new ones: leaking shower, damp smell, missing table lamp. She got a lamp eventually, but she decided not to waste her time on the rest and just used a towel for the leak in the bathroom for the rest of her stay. Our rooms were cleaned by Geny perfectly and always at convenient time. The beds were very comfortable, exactly as I like: medium-firm and even. The sheets were impeccable white.
***** Guest service: Joaquin was very helpful when one of us had an accident. He brought a wheel chair and let us use it for the rest of the week. He was genuinely concerned and that alone made us more comfortable. Two hostesses at Breakfast buffet were also very kind and accommodating to our family member in a wheel chair.
**** Pools: nice and clean.
*** Food: The breakfast and lunch buffet was 3.5*. The Sensay, Japanese restaurant was better than others. Waiters and staff at every restaurant were friendly and worked hard.
**** Beach: Yes, there were seaweed because there was wind and the reef is just 10 minutes away by boat. The tractor came every now and then to clean the seaweed- Not a big deal. There was no trash, used glasses were picked up often, the lounge chairs were clean and always available.
**** Grounds: lots of flowers, good maintenance. Some tiled areas need markings for safety, whenever there is a half-step or wet floor.
*** Entertainment: Mexican show on the terrace was very good. A few other shows in small theater were very, very loud, but the dancers were great.

Room Tip: We stayed at Ocean Coral for a family reunion November 3-10. l would rate this hotel as 3.5*. The pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank svetlena b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear svetlena b,
It is good to learn that overall, you had a good time at our resort and that you appreciated the beauty of our grounds and the good service provided by our concierge Joaquin. However, we regret that you were not totally satisfied with some aspects of your stay. In regard to the comment about the check-in, we like to inform that the check-in time at our resort is 15:00 hrs, nevertheless, we do our best effort to have our rooms ready before this time. As posted in your review, if the guests arrive before this time, they are registered and provided with the all-inclusive bracelet so they can make use of our facilities. We truly lament that you found inconveniences at your room. In regard to your comment about the fridge in the room, please allow us to inform that its function is only the conservation of the products, not its cooling. It is also important to mention that since our resort is surrounded by mangroves, alleviate the humidity/sewer smell condition is beyond our control. Nevertheless, we do place dehumidifiers if requested in order to aid this situation. Rest assure that the entirety of your observations will be extended to the pertinent departments in order to prevent this kind of issues to future guests. We want to express our gratitude for sharing your opinion about our resort and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to host you again in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Thank goodness for the view! The hotel has a lot to learn about cleanliness. It was god awful. It's really too bad that I didn't have gloves with me cuz it got to the point where I didn't want to touch a thing. If the utensils were not used on a table, the waiters were leaving them there for the next people. They were using the same towel to wipe every table. Lost my appetite alot.
This would not be my choice again for a vacation.

Room Tip: Choose another vacation spot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbeauvais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear mbeauvais,
We want to express our gratitude for choosing OCT for your vacation. On the other hand we lament that your stay was not satisfactory. We must say that your comment about the general cleanliness of our resort really surprises, as you can read at the review on this web site, it is not usual that we received this kind of remarks, but the contrary, we usually receive positive feedback regarding this topic, being a highlight in the trip of the majority of the reviewers. Furthermore, please allow us to inform that our resort is monthly audited in all issues related to internal (staff members) and external (guests) hygiene and sanitary conditions. Therefore the corresponding procedures related to this topic are meticulously carried out in all the areas of our resort. We truly appreciate your comments and your time for posting your experience.
Bests,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ocean Coral Turquesa Nov. 7 - 10, 2012 and had a great time. We stayed in building 14 on the 3rd floor and had a decent view of the pool and ocean over the trees. You'd need to be on the 3rd or 4th floor to see over them as they are very tall. We booked a regular jr suite thru bookit.com and they had a promotion for a free upgrade to an ocean view jr suite. When we checked in this was overlooked an we were given a regular jr suite on the ground floor. After a call to the front desk things were worked out and we were moved to the proper room with a great view. The front desk staff and bellhop were very helpful and accommodating.

We had 2 small issues with the room. The mini fridge did not work for one. It was replaced once but even the new one never got cold. Not a big deal, just didn't have cold drinks in the room. The second issue was we asked for a king bed but got 2 doubles. They put the two together to make on huge bed but you could still tell it was two pushed together when you slept in that spot. Small little issues. The only other negative comment I can think of for the resort is that unless you pay for the privilege room or have a membership in the H10 premium club you don't get premium drinks at the bars. Again it wasn't a big deal because even the regular drinks were decent brand names. Just a small pet peeve for me.

The room was comfortable, clean and huge. We never spent much time in there other than to sleep really but it was very nice.

The staff everywhere at the resort were polite and very accommodating. All the bartenders, waiters, waitresses, etc were great to us. Our favourite was Gaspar, who did everything everywhere on the resort. He tended bar, worked weddings, made lattes at the coffee shop, etc. A master of all trades and a very friendly, happy person. He was awesome to us every time we ran into him.

We went to the main Casa Del Mar buffet once for dinner and twice for breakfast. It was good as far as buffets go. It wasn't the largest we've seen but there was a good selection of different foods all the time. The food quality was as good or better than any other buffet we've been to.

We tried the Italian restaurant one night and it was very good. Lots of food! And very tasty. We also tried the Japanese restaurant one night and sat at the show table where the food is prepared in front of you. It was very entertaining and we had a great time. The food was incredible and again very plentiful. I highly recommend this restaurant. We wanted to try the Mexican restaurant but it was closed the night we tried. We had heard good things about this one as well so were disappointed we missed it. We also visited the Villa Marina for lunch twice. This is another buffet style but it had a jerk chicken bbq area which we really enjoyed.

The pools were nice and clean and we had no problems finding a seat along the pool or the beach. They were busy but we always found something. I asked one bellhop and he said the hotel was at 90% capacity but it never felt too busy or crowded. The beach was very nice, fairly clean, soft white sand. We walked up and down the beach a few times and also sat in the sun on the loungers a few times. There were no pushy vendors on the beach. There were a few that walked by occasionally but they never bothered you unless you called them over.

Overall we had a very good time here. It was a short visit but it was close to the airport (1/2 hr or so drive) so we didn't lose much time driving. We used Best Day Travel for our airport transfers and had no issues at all. On time and polite, quick and easy. They also offered different tours but we didn't take part in any this time. We would stay at this resort again if we stayed in this area. Just try to get a building facing the ocean and ask for 3rd or 4th floor. Buildings 9, 10, 11 and 12, 14, 15 will all have ocean views and are fairly central to the lobby, (which has free wifi) restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Buildings 9, 10, 11 and 12, 14, 15 will all have ocean views and are fairly central to the lobby, (f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ebelg88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear ebelg,
We are glad to read your opinion about OCT and to learn that overall you had a good time at our property and that you enjoyed with our food and beverage offer, the friendliness and good service of our staff and accommodating facilities. We lament that at the time of your check-in we were not able to accommodate you in the room you were granted. Our Front Desk staff made their best in order to provide you with an ocean room however, we were not able to assign you to a king size bed room since the assignment is made upon availability and departure, and our resort had a high occupancy. In regard to your comment about the fridge in the room, please allow us to inform that its function is only the conservation of the products, not its cooling. We truly appreciate your time for sharing your opinion about your stay and for choosing our resort. We hope to host your next vacations and that on this future time you have the opportunity to enjoy our facilities for a longer period of time.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Very nice place would go back in November again though, wasn't hot enough for me. Loved route 66 and they have a pretty cool kid area as well!! Great staff super nice spa and really well put together shows. I would have liked to see more shows though

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jknobloch14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Jknobloch14 ,
It is nice to learn that you appreciated our Route 66 restaurant, our Spa facilities, entertainment offer and excellent staff. Thank you for choosing our resort and posting your review. We hope to welcome you one more time next November. Be sure that we will exceed your expectations.
Bests,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
4.3 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,386 reviews
10.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar
#8 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,590 reviews
18.4 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#77 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#21 of 181 in Cancun
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20,962 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Marina El Cid Spa & Beach Resort
10.8 mi away
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
Iberostar Paraiso Maya
#4 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Coral & Turquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Coral & Turquesa

Property: Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Address: Carretera Cancun - Playa del Carmen, Lotes 1-5 | Manzana 5, Super Manzana 12, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#13 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Coral & Turquesa 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean, this enchanting all-inclusive resort offers an array of activities to engage your senses. This dazzling all-inclusive resort is located on prime beachfront property in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean, close to Cancun and neighboring Riviera Maya communities. With sweeping views of the Caribbean, a magnificent white-sand beach with crystalline waters, and surrounded with tropical foliage, Ocean Coral & Turquesa offers a wide range of activities for everyone, along with an assortment of services to ensure that you have an unforgettable Caribbean vacation. Enjoy a variety of gastronomic fare, round-the-clock entertainment, children's programs, and Mexican hospitality. Whether it's a romantic getaway for two, a family vacation, a self-indulging spa vacation, even a business retreat, we have it all, in one all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ocean Coral & Turquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Coral And Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Hotel Puerto Morelos
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing