We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We went to Secrets SilverSands to celebrate our 30 year anniversary. We were there from July 2nd - July 9th. We had a vow renewal ceremony on the gazebo over the water and then hired the on-site photographer to take pictures. It was a picture perfect day. Cecilia Rangel was our coordinator and she was awesome. The resort catered to our every need. We could not have asked for a better resort, location or staff to host our special day. Every detail was attended to in a professional and caring manner.

Our sons joined us for the ceremony, one of which has very severe food allergies. The resort handled his situation extremely well and ensured he was able to enjoy the meals throughout the week without a worry. They notified the restaurants, bars and even housekeeping of his allergies so he was safe throughout the resort. We were so happy to not have to worry and he was able to fully enjoy the week.

We loved the staff from the moment we arrived. We cannot name everyone but a few stand out from Jose, the bell hop, who greeted us with a smile and gave us an enjoyable tour of the resort, to the restaurant and bar staff that catered to our every wish, to the housekeeping that took a moment to greet us as we walked by each day, to the staff that made our anniversary a memorable one that we will cherish forever. A special thank you to Cecilia who made it all come together and the minister who performed such a touching ceremony.

The resort was perfect. We stayed in the honeymoon suite in the preferred club and our boys stayed in a junior suite (not preferred club) and we all had nothing but positive praise of the rooms, cleanliness and plush accommodations. We would highly recommend Secrets SilverSands for a special occasions or just a great destination to get away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldo D, Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Rick P,

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort as your host on your recent gateway to our destination. It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We always appreciate the positive comments left by the most important people in our world; our guests.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff has gone above and beyond in terms of service. We are very proud of our team here at the Secrets Silversands, they have built a reputation of excellence through their hard work and dedication to guest satisfaction.

We would certainly be glad to have you back to your home for another round of a wonderful stay. Please feel confident to reach us prior your next visit at info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com if you need assistance prior arrival.

Best wishes,

Aldo Delgado Betancourt
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,708 - 5,714 of 11,055 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

Wow, where do we start? Upon arrival we were greeted by one of our favorite employees, Arturo as well as an upgrade to preferred club and a message in our room, written in rose petals " Bienvenidos a casa". This was just the beginning! We felt like royalty with our first dinner at Bordeaux with another favorite employee- Juan Jose who never overlooks a single detail! We were provided with yet another spectacular dinner and had the pleasure of Mario serving us. Impeccable service. Juan Jose allowed us the opportunity to meet an incredibly talented pianist, Alex. Who took special requests throughout the evening! Beautiful. Another night we had quite a large group and Juan Jose was quick to accommodate us. Mario provided us with yet another impeccable dinner. Their ability to make us feel as though we are the only customers in the restaurant when the restaurant is full is exceptional. Our service was always very prompt with great bartenders including but not limited to Alex, Javier, Brenis, Inocente,Russell, Geber as well as the waitresses Ana,Lety, and Karen. Entertainment remains consistently talented with Moreno, Jackie and Johnny as well as India! We love our Natalio at world cafe! His day off was on my. Urethral but he was sure to share the info with his co-workers who acknowledged this. Thank you Victor! Our entire trip was top notch! It doesn't get much better than this. This trip happened to also fall on my birthday! Thanks to Gabriel, Arturo, Daniel (el patio), Russell (el patio), Jackie, Moreno,and Juan Jose made the rest of the staff working on July 10th for making my birthday the best birthday I've had yet! Singing, cake, balloons, sweet gifts and friendships!!!!!!! I'll never forget!!!!! It is impossible to list each persons name that provided us with excellent service!!!

Thanks to our " familia" for another great unforgettable trip! We will be returning soon for our 7th trip ;) ! -The Castillos

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LME3711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldo D, Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear LME3711,

Thank you for excellent review on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to read that you truly felt like royalty at Secrets Silversands. Also it is great to see that you are a loyal guest and we still are exceeding your expectations. . We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with our team.

We would certainly be glad to have you back for the seventh round of a wonderful stay.

Best wishes,

Aldo Delgado Betancourt
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Went for a girlfriends vacation and had a wonderful time. It became when we were greater by Willians the bellboy. He is awesome, friendly, helpful, just the best. We got checked in to an unbelievable room #4115. The bellman waited for us and walked us to our room with our luggage set us up and it took us about 2 minutes and we were in the pool. We had the best bartender Joe Pesci at the bar across from our pool at the Sugar Reef Bar/Barefoot Girl. The waitresses there were also the best bringing us drinks and food poolside. Willians checked up on us every couple days making sure we had everything we needed. I can not say enough good things about him. I would stay here again and again and again. I like it is adults only and we had out own chairs and new towels on our chairs every morning. We never had to worry about anything. Greatest vacation ever.

Room Tip: First choice swim out suites facing the infinity pool in building 3, Second choice swim out suites f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldo D, Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Catherine H,

We are delighted to read your positive review on Trip Advisor and glad to know that you are extremely pleased with your overall experience at Secrets Silversands.

All your kind words of appreciation to our property and facilities are greatly appreciated.

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes,

Aldo Delgado Betancourt
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I first heard of Silversands by a couple of friends who stayed there and recommended me this resort its a great place to come and enjoy the simplicity of a luxurious holiday i would like to thank all the staff members at this resort especially the next couple of people who really marked a difference like josh at the preferred club he made everything possible to make us happy during our stay with all the little details that we plan such as a romantic dinner and a little trip into downtown, chef Jose he was always looking out for our food and it was delicious specially the paella on Fridays, and the servers around the pool always there with a cold drink right on time.

my room was phenomenal with a glorious view (i recommend you to upgrade if you like a pretty ocean front room ) marvelous surroundings and all the fun and activities just amazing.thank you Silversands for this great vacation and i hope i go back January next year keep it up see you all soon!!!

Room Tip: ocean fronts are simply the most romantic view you can have
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerpoint0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldo D, Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear travelerpoint0,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience at Secrets Silversands.

We are glad to know that you’ve found our service professional. We will make sure to share your comments with all of the staff.

We sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort.

Warm greetings,

Aldo Delgado Betancourt
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Me and my partner stayed at the secrets silversands for 10days in the month of July and found very few faults with the vacation. We arrived after a ten hour flight from gatwick in England and were greeted with a smile, a glass of champagne and a cold towel. We waited around 20 minutes in the lounge area to be checked into our room and found the junior suite with partial sea view very spacious, clean and comfortable. The room was up to a very high standard with king size bed, jacuzzi bath, flat screen tv with DVD player and spacious balcony. The mini bar was fully stocked with soft drinks, fruit juices and bottles of corona.
Me and my partner both love to eat and try new foods so we were very keen to see what secret silversands had to offer as we have been to many 5* hotels in the past. We ordered room service most nights and tried to vary the food we ordered. The room service was 24hrs and included as part of the all inclusive package and you could also request for staff to deliver your order and place in a hatch accessible from your room which was a nice touch allowing you to have food delivered to you without having to see anyone. A full menu of all food provided was located in your room with the chicken wings being our favourite!!
For breakfast you could go to the world cafe which had a buffet style breakfast there were a variety of eggs, bacon, various breads and fruit, smoothies of your choice made freshly for you and several Mexican foods to try too, the breakfast mainly catered for Americans including waffles and pancakes. Lunch again was a buffet style at the world cafe with different themes each day eg BBQ, Mediterranean, Asian you could also eat at the two outdoor restaurants for lunch one serving burgers and hotdogs and the other serving a set menu of various seafood. The dress code for both breakfast and lunch were very relaxed as opposed to a more strict dress code for all indoor restaurants in the evenings.
We dined in all eight restaurants with our favourite being the Japanese by some distance with chefs cooking your meals in front of you. You had a choice of restaurants in the evenings that included Italian, Mexican, steak house, seafood, Japanese, French, and Mediterranean.
The beach where your hotel is located is okay and the staff do their best to maintain it daily as there is a lot of seaweed that comes in to shore. The sea was very Stoney so bring footwear if you plan to snorkel.
There were several swimming pools to choose from at the hotel. One main pool where all the entertainment is, an infinity pool and several quiet chilled out pools the service is really good from the staff and regularly come over to serve you with any drink of your choice including really nice cocktails.
We went into playa del Carmen several times during our stay which was approx 45 dollars each way and if you wished the taxi driver would wait for you up to 4 hours. there is numerous shops on a street called 5th avenue with some well known ones too. the beach is near 5th avenue and although you get hassled by the locals for massages etc the beach is beautiful with clear waters and soft sand. We went to coco bongos the nightclub in playa del Carmen it was 250 dollars which included a transfer to and from hotel and unlimited drinks bought to your table by a waiter while you watched the show definitely worth going as there were various tribute acts brilliantly performed and like nothing we've ever seen before and a very fun experience.
The only real negative for me was the fact that there were maybe 95% of Americans at the hotel and the staff there were very aware of this making them priority over people from other countries. And a lot of their food, drinks and entertainment revolved around the Americans and could make other nationalities feel isolated. I even ordered a cocktail called captain America on Independence Day out there and was asked before the drink was poured if I was American, I confirmed i most definitely was not and the bar tender then said I have to be American to have this cocktail. I was a bit shocked and disappointed by this, but this is an example of what to expect if you are not from the United States.
Overall this place is recommended and should be visited, just take on board the few negatives so you are aware, this includes the condition of the beach and The majority of Americans, which can be overbearing at times.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank andy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldo D, Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Dear Andy C,

On behalf of the staff and Management of our resort we would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experience with us. It was a pleasure being your hosts during your recent gateway to the Mexican Caribbean.

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed our Unlimited-luxury® concept and also proud of Secrets Silversands team; they have strived to deliver the most memorable experience to our valued guest. We highly appreciate your gracious comments here and have shared it with our team.

With that said, we sincerely look forward to welcome you back on a future occasion and provide you with the exceptional quality and service that characterizes our brand and resort.

Best wishes,

Aldo Delgado Betancourt
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed here for a work function, so perhaps my experience would have been better if I had been here for fun. There were bugs in the bathroom, my jacuzzi didn't work, and the curtains were dirty. The room service food was AWFUL. I ordered a club sandwich that to this day still makes me nauseous just thinking about it. I ordered a burger that just tasted "off." The restaurants were better. The food at the hibachi place was quite good, as was the seafood at the Seaside Grill. Breakfast at the World Cafe was good. I really liked the smoothie bar. The noise level at night was pretty high. One evening, it sounded like I was right in the middle of a club until about midnight. If I had been on vacation, that wouldn't necessarily be a bad thing, but I had to be in a meeting at 7:30 a.m. the next morning. I have to say the staff is very friendly and eager to help.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank SLC08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldo D, Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Dear SLC08,

Thank you for sharing your feedback through this mean. Your comments are truly valuable for us, as this allow us to improve our service levels and product.

We have taken your comments very seriously and you can be assured that the necessary re-training measures are being instituted to prevent recurrences in the future. Especially with the room service department.

With this said, we look forward to have the opportunity of hosting you back on a renewed opportunity to redeem your confidence our resort and service.

Best wishes,

Aldo Delgado Betancourt
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We travelled for 10 nights to Secrets Silversands for our honeymoon. From start to finish it was amazing and we had such a relaxing time which was our main aim. I’d recommend arranging pick up from the airport which we did and when we arrived in the hotel we were pampered from when we came to the door. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a swim up room by the infinity pool which has an ocean view depending on where it’s located but any around the preferred section are great. We did upgrade to the preferred choice as there was a deal but otherwise the only reason is for the room. I don’t really see the value in it for anything else. I loved where we were by the infinity pool as it had great views, wasn’t as busy as the main pool (has the swim up bar) and the water was cooler which was nice when it was hot out. The staff were around regularly for drinks so no need to worry about walking to the bars at all.
There’s a great selection of restaurants to eat in, French, Mediterranean, Italian, Asian, Seafood, etc. The food I thought was great. Breakfast is a buffet and at lunch you can also go to a lunch buffet or eat in the outside restaurants. All are great and the only thing you need worry about is will I fit on the plane on the way home. :)

For anyone wanting to go outside we booked with Amstal in the hotel at the concierge desk for the Catamaran tour to isla mujeres and some snorkelling. It was a nice trip on the boat and you got to spend some time on the island but for anyone wanting to do a bit more snorkelling and already have experience try one of the other trips instead, maybe to xcaret eco park. We also did the trip to chichen itza which I’d highly recommend, the trip to the cenote was great after to cool down.

The rooms themselves were spacious, clean, had a great mini bar which was restocked daily, staff cleaned the rooms daily and gave fresh towels. No need to bring any towels with you or shampoos and our room had a lovely Jacuzzi bath too.

Overall we’d a great experience and would recommend.

Tip: Bring US dollars for tips, staff appreciate and easier than pesos.

Room Tip: Preferred choice section and ground floor swim up, ocean view if you can get it. Great views. Any ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldo D, Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Dear Michelle M,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your recent gateway to the Mexican Caribbean.

Your kind comments with regards to the room, welcoming, bars and restaurant experience are greatly appreciated and it was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest here in Secrets Silversands.

We always strive hard to deliver the best of class service experience to all our valuable guests at all times and it is always gratifying to receive such praise.

Best wishes,

Aldo Delgado Betancourt
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
1.5 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
12,829 reviews
13 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
5.1 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
9,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#42 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
10,014 reviews
1.2 mi away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#6 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
7,587 reviews
10.4 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Address: Bahia de Petempich SM 12, Mz 31, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $301 - $815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun is a chic, ultra modern all-suite adult-only unlimited-luxury resort featuring 433 suites, over 43,000 sq ft of pool areas and expansive manicured gardens, exceptional dining options, several bars ranging from elegant to swim-up. World class spa, a fitness center and two Jacuzzis ensure that guests are pampered and indulged. We are nestled on the coast of the Yucatan Peninsula, 15 miles south of Cancun and only twenty minutes from the Cancun International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing