We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our top 3!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Alliston, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of our top 3!!!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this resort from Dec7 to Dec 17. My brother also joined us on this 10 day trip. Let me first say that we had 5 days of rain and crappy weather but that us not the fault do the resort.
Check-in was private, with a warm welcome and cold cava (champagne). Our rooms were ready and were taken there by our bellboy. We asked for rooms next to each other and that's what we got. We were very pleased. We we located in building 6 with swim up rooms. Well, you couldn't get any further away from everyone! Our room was clean and very modernly appointed. Only problem was that at 5 am we could here the staff arriving for work right outside our door. Please don't stay on room 6110. Also it had a funny smell. After two days we went to the front desk and spoke our our issues. The lady Rocio promptly found us two more rooms, not swim ups but we didn't care. She said that it was an upgrade to an oceanview and she would also move my brother as well. That was a surprise for sure! We were moved to building 2 which was awesome! When we switched rooms they treated us to another bottle of Cava and a fruit tray.

Just to let you know that our mini fridge was always stocked with water, beer, pop and juice.

Didn't use the room service so unable to comment.

Restaurants
First let me say that the only restaurant that you have to make a reservation for is Himitsu, if you want to be at the Tapanaki tables. Hint-make your reservation by phone on the morning that you want to go. The concierge is very accommodating! The food is very good, not too salty and they are very concerned if you have food allergies. We were there twice and was good both times!
Portofino (Italian)
Very good both times we were there for dinner.
Oceana
Only went there for lunch. Food was just OK but took and hour to get, way too much time for lunch! Didn't go there for dinner.
Ratatouille -called World Cafe for breakfast and lunch
Buffet breakfast and lunch. Typical but a whole bunch of choices and theme lunches. Food was great and your could spend as little or lot of time as you want. They servers remembered us almost every day!
For dinner it was Mediterranean cuisine. Very good, especially the lamb, delicious!
Seaside Grill - very good food and service. Would have gone back but the weather did not cooperate.
El Patio - typical Mexican cuisine- just OK
Bordeaux - very good food and service
CoCo Cafe - pastries and small desserts, mini sandwiches, pretzels and the best coffee on the resort. We would have breakfast with our mimosas and then grab a cappuccino or straight coffee and head out to the beach. They also had frozen coffees, teas. If it wasn't on the 'menu' just ask them and they'll make it for you.

Barefoot grill- great for a quick lunch- burgers, chicken, make your own natchos, fries plus all the fixings. The bar is attached to it. Filipine was the best beach waiter of them all. He was hopping all the time!!

There was one night which was a theme night - Mexican and was held in the area where the nightly shows are held. This was a great night and the food was really good with food stations. The show was right after dinner and you didn't have to leave your seats.

All in all we really didn't have any complaints about the food.

Bars- the main lobby bar Rendezvous was the busiest in the early evening and on. The wait staff were excellent and remembered special drinks that you ordered before. The Veranda Bar was also very good too and remembered how to make special drinks.

Spa
We went for a couples massage at the spa. 80 minutes flew by so quickly. Kind of pricey but was well worth it. We even received day passes for another day, which we used one day when the rain kept us away from the pool / beach.

Speaking of the beach, the beach on the resort was fine. It was well maintained constantly. When you walked off of the resort property, the beach was quite messy with seaweed and not well maintained. Nonetheless, we still walked the beach many times. Oh and by the way, you cannot walk to the right of the resort when you get to the beach as you cannot get access to it.

Show time!! Shows were just OK. The so called Mentalist was terrible. My favorite was the Magician. I even got to participant in the show and still cannot figure out how he did the trick! very entertaining!!

All in all we had a great vacation in spite of the weather. The staff were awesome in trying to keep everyone busy. The entertainment staff were very good, especially Nikko!

The other thing I forgot to mention is that we had absolutely no problem getting chairs in the morning or afternoon. Maybe it was the time of year that we went, but it was just fine.

We would return to the resort for another visit and not bother with the swim up suites. We hardly saw anyone use them.







Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank excellence0259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,379
    2,071
    557
    182
    102
See reviews for
707
7,447
160
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Have visited secrets in hautulco and montego bay . This my fav place, loved the mexican restaurant, the Mediterranean and oceana and the grill were are top choices . The bars and pools were beautiful . The lobby is spectacular. Have nothing bad and only good things to say. Would we go back ?? Without one doubt!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Our 4th visit to SSS and it keeps getting better! Anyone seeking the perfect vacation, this is the place to go. Secrets Silversands truly feels like a home away from home. With staff like Arturo Carrera at the front, who greets us as family and goes so beyond to make every visit ever so special, and one of the reasons we return time and time again! The property and accomodations are immaculate and modern and the staff and service is unparalleled. If you are looking for quiet vacation, Filipe will see that you are hydrated and fed right by the pool!! If you like to stay busy and social, the activities staff are so much fun. We have been to many resorts in the Mayan Riviera/Cancun area, but Secrets is truly our favorite!!! We thank everyone at Secrets Silversands for another wonderful vacation!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed in SSS from 30th of December to 10th of January. It was our first stay in Secrets resorts and first time in Mexico.The service in SSS was excellent, the food was amazing - great quality and variety; buildings well kept and entertainment very nice. Special thanks to Jacky, Estephanie, Miguel and Louis from entertainment team and Erick from tour desk.
New year's Eve dinner and show were great.
Pools are nice, clean and heated, rooms are spacious and very clean, beach was OK.
We are impressed and definitely coming back. We will also try some other Secrets resorts.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Svetla_KZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Brilliant place. A really good quality place to get some R&R. We upgraded to Preferred Guest which is definitely worth it for the room, but little else. Great Spa, lovely options for places to eat. We recommend this place to couples looking to get away and relax and enjoy themselves. The Beach is by far the best along the strip, lots of space between loungers and fab drink service. Champagne at 10am! don't mind if I do. Also a smoothy bar at breakfast, not seen that before.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can, the sea views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Landay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We have just returned from a week at Silversands (as part of a two week overall trip).
Have been to other all-inclusives before, but must say this is up there. Not too large a resort, very clean and lovely rooms (we had junior swim out suite). The evening entertainment was also pretty good on 3 or 4 occasions during the week (particularly the "rock night"!), but they also always had on cabaret style singers or bands too
However, what really made this was the staff and moreover their attitude. The weather we had there was awful so the entertainment team had lots to do to keep the guests happy and they really did pull out the stops - and with enthusiasm all day. All the bar and restaurant staff were happy and pretty efficient too.
The food here is also very good - the buffet having huge selections and the specialist restaurants doing nice food, well presented (no reservations needed) - particularly Bordereaux (French; unsurprisingly!) and Oceana (seafood). My girlfriend also liked the Italian. For those interested, at least 2 or 3 restaurants had a small separate gluten free menu. All premium brand spirits included
The beach is reasonable - although with the weather the sea was not that warm and waves were bringing in seaweed. Was interesting watching the pelicans though.
Downsides? Few, only maybe the limited beers! (Corona is the staple) and that buying wine very expensive (house wine is included and not bad either). We didn't try the spa, but also looked expensive against some I've visited. Virgin customers did get some discount vouchers though.
Overall, very good resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Can't say enough about this hotel and it's staff. First impression was from Arturo who gave us a tour of the property and room. This guys knows how to make you feel at home. He has checked on us each time he is in the vicinity. It's a very nice touch.

Food thus far has blown away all other inclusive resorts. Presentation and taste are above and beyond.

Read a couple reviews about whether or not to upgrade to preferred club. Aldo helped us with the reservation and was a gem. We did and got an oceanfront swim out. It was the best decision thus far.

Room Tip: Preferred club or Ocean front swim up rooms are quieter day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiamiMattG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/eConcierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear MiamiMattG,

Thank you for sharing your first impression of our beautiful Secrets Silversands. We are very proud to hear that you are feeling welcome and that we are beyond your expectations. This is our main goal.

Also many thanks for mention Arturo and me in your review. Personally I am glad to read your review and I hope that you enjoy your entire stay. Please, make sure to contact me or Fahdir the Club Preferred Manager if something happens.

Welcome to your tropical home away from home.

Aldo Delgado Betancourt
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
5.1 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,507 reviews
17.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
9,274 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
0.7 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#6 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
6,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Address: Bahia de Petempich SM 12, Mz 31, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun is a chic, ultra modern all-suite adult-only unlimited-luxury resort featuring 433 suites, over 43,000 sq ft of pool areas and expansive manicured gardens, exceptional dining options, several bars ranging from elegant to swim-up. World class spa, a fitness center and two Jacuzzis ensure that guests are pampered and indulged. We are nestled on the coast of the Yucatan Peninsula, 15 miles south of Cancun and only twenty minutes from the Cancun International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing