We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish more beer choices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wish more beer choices”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My background for Cancun: Dream Cancun, Live Aqua X2 , Sun Palace, Royal Hideaway, Secrets Silversands, and future will be Secrets Maroma in Sept 2013. I am 43 years old whose like Ultra Modern live style, hates conservative ways of living. Also, WIFI is a MUST for my picks.

I was staying at SSS for 4 nights during 5/28-6/1/13. Thanks Lord the weather was perfect until the last day I was leaving :). I really like the vibe of SSS that reminds of Cancun's Live Aqua, a clean modern feel without Aqua's Signature eucalyptus burning oil flowing. The guests were in younger age group of 35-45. This fits me right in. I heard from the forum around the rowdy drunks in this hotel but I didn't see any during my stay. Most of the guests were young couples, well behaviors with respects.

Location: out of my surprise. It only needs 15 mins from CUN to here.

First my biggest complaint of this resorts is the lack of beer brands. Only baby size of Corona (6) are provided in minibar daily. I just don't drink Corona that gives me headache with its hops, just like Bud. Another choice is Modelo from the bar or Room Service. I had an experience with Dream the first time I visited Cancun, guess they are both under the same group. I miss Live Aqua in this era which provided Tecate, Tecate Light, Pacifico, Modelo, XXX, all different choices.

Food: SSS food were delicious. except the fake Asian noodles. I am Asian myself. My comment is I won't have the second bite once i tried. The temperature of the plate was so hot that all the Pad Thai were overcooked sitting on the plate. way too sweet. I like Lime Soup from the Mexican restaurant. The French was ok good. Breakfast in World Cafe was good too.

For 3 days straight, I ordered the same Grilled fish (Grouper or Snapper) with rice. it was just delicious.

Beach: it has rocks like most said close to the edge. but I mainly lying on the lounger so it really didn't bother me much. Drinks service was good there. I appreciate the lady who keeps coming back and forth bringing drinks to the patrons.

Pool: The main pool has lots of people. I usually dip in or use the float around 5pm when people started leaving. There are other pools around. Pools area is not as beautiful as Live Aqua. SSS pools need A LOT OF umbrella for the shade. The floats are broken, in need of change. I feel the pool area is in need of some upgrade. it looks aged now. please bring in more white umbrella, change the green towel for modern feel. it needs some landscaping works. WIFI works very well at the Pool and the Beach.

Room: It has one of most spacious room I had ever stayed at. A sofabed is out on the balcony with 2 chairs. A jet tub fits 2 people. Housekeeping made me a nice warm bath one evening which is a very nice touch.

Service: Service Staff are friendly, do their job very well but they don't remember my name. haha... just kidding. I don't require them to remember me. but what i mean is to compare to other resorts i have stayed. There is something less from the Service Staff at SSS. I think it is personal warmth.

Night Entertainment: This is the main reason I chose SSS over some resorts. I had been some resorts eg. Live Aqua, Royal Hideaway where night entertainment is non-existence. I am not a party type of person but I realize that it makes a vacation more relaxed with some fun entertainment staff, music, happy faces etc. SSS do it very well.

Overall, I rate SSS 4.7 stars. it has everything I want. Common grounds and room seems start showing wear and tear. I am sure it will be one of the best after some upgrades ie. the pool landscape, the color of towel, add more trendy white umbrella for shades, the floats (this is a must). just a little money can do.

I will recommend SSS to my friends. Although I learned that second visit may not bring the same satisfactions as the first time, I will consider SSS again someday.

I will be going to SMB-- Secrets Maroma Beach in Sept 2013. Stay tune for my report.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank superbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,337
    2,050
    554
    182
    100
See reviews for
693
7,401
160
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,087)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just to make sure everyone understands.... This hotel is not in Playa del Carmen.
The hotel is absolutely beautiful. Food is way above average and the overall service is amazing.
If you are looking for a nice beach..... This is not the hotel.
Rooms are nice and big.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alexmurillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The grounds were beautiful with lush well maintained landscaping, The pools were so relaxing. The infinty pool with its fabulous ocean view was our favorite. The poolside service for drinks was spot on. An added treat was the Entertainment Team. These girls had all kinds of fun activities going to make your day special. We took dance lessons, rode bikes to Puerto Morales, made martinis, did tequila tastings. Our favorite employee was from this group, Marianna. That young lady is filled with so much joy and enthusiasm for life that it is contagious.The service was wonderful all through the complex. We looked forward to dinner every night. We tried many new foods and drinks which is always fun for us. I would love to have the recipe for their fruit salad at the Mexican Fiesta night with pineapple and cilantro. Great experience. It was our first trip to Mexico and I look forward to going back. From Laura and Es Scottie, Scottie

Room Tip: Our room was great. Very spacious and clean. Well attended daily. Whirlpool and really nice walk in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We went to Secrets Silversands to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary in May and it was everything we wanted and more. We couldn’t have been more pleased and we would definitely return!
We had booked a honeymoon room in the Preferred Club and we were shocked to see how beautiful and large our suite was! It had a separate living area that was spacious and comfy, two bathrooms (great water pressure in the shower and a fabulous hot tub) and the bedroom was great (the bed was so comfortable, great night’s sleep each night!) Wish we had taken more time to enjoy the balcony (and Jacuzzi tub on the balcony!)
We spent our days on the beach or at one of the quieter pools. The water was pretty rocky and not great for swimming but it was good enough to dip our feet in to cool down and when we wanted to swim we’d just go to one of the many many pools! We really didn’t have a hard time getting a great spot at the pools or the beach. And drink service at each place was fabulous – special thanks to Felipe who paid special attention to us at the pool!
The food was great and we never had to wait at any of the restaurants. The only places we didn’t try were El Patio and Himitsu (not our favorite types of food). For our anniversary, we planned a special romantic dinner and Rodrigo and Ruben at Seaside Grill/Oceana made our night very special with an amazing five course meal with wine pairings – and they didn’t skimp, each course was greater than the one before with the main course being lobster AND lamb. Ruben was awesome and made sure everything we wanted/needed was provided. And when we returned to Oceana on our last night of vacation, we were still treated like VIPs. The service provided by Ruben as above and beyond.
All of the staff was great and made our trip very special. We stayed for 9 nights and we still weren’t ready to come home. This was a resort that we would definitely recommend and hope to return to.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuLuAgueci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Spent a fabulous week with 2 of our great friends, Brenda and Eric at Secrets Silversands. What Can I say OMG, what a wonderful resort. My husband and I have been to many, this resort is at the top of the list. The resort was highly recommended by my brother-in-law, that was good enough for us. The resort, food, entertainment and especially the service was outstanding. I would like to give special thanks to Renan, waiter at the "World Café." Also, special thanks to Dulce, Stephanie and the whole entertainment team - they were wonderful - keep up the great work. Also, special thanks to Filipe. (waiter pool side) It was a wonderful week, we will definitely visit again and highly recommend to others!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deniseToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

WOW! That is the best way to describe our stay at Silverands. From the moment we arrived until we had to leave, the trip was amazing. Everything was top notch! The service from the staff was one of the the best I have experienced. If we needed anything during our stay, it was taken care of immediately. We tried out all of the restaurants on site and they were fabulous! We especially loved having breakfast every morning with our favorite waiter, Natalio. He was always in a great mood and made sure we had everything we needed. He really enjoyed talking to him every morning. I haven't stopped recommending Silversands to all of our friends and family since we've been home. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and upgrade to the VIP/premium room package! Worth every penny!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is THE hotel that I would recommend to all my friends and families! This is the hotel that I would stay again at and know that a great service is guaranteed! If you are looking for a great vacation don't look no further...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
17.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,199 reviews
5.1 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,375 reviews
13.0 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
10.5 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Address: Bahia de Petempich SM 12, Mz 31, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun is a chic, ultra modern all-suite adult-only unlimited-luxury resort featuring 433 suites, over 43,000 sq ft of pool areas and expansive manicured gardens, exceptional dining options, several bars ranging from elegant to swim-up. World class spa, a fitness center and two Jacuzzis ensure that guests are pampered and indulged. We are nestled on the coast of the Yucatan Peninsula, 15 miles south of Cancun and only twenty minutes from the Cancun International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing