We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They set the bar very high!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 15, 2013

There is no question we would return again!! All of the staff were excellent and extremely helpful, as well as prompt! All of the restaurants were very good. We recommend that you try Bordeaux and ask for Luis! You could not ask for a better server, and the management is over the top!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glassman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Glassman21,

Thank you for your kind comments, the best motivation for us is to know that you have enjoyed a great time with the staff service and at the bars. Thank you also for your special mention for Luis from the Bordeaux restaurant.

We´ll all be waiting to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11,375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,334 - 7,340 of 11,375 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife and I just recently spent our honeymoon at Secrets Silversands. IT WAS AMAZING!!!
The food was remarkable and delicious. Every dinner was special. The service was absolutely unbelievable. The staff is extremely friendly and inviting. We must have received 3 phone calls during the week from the staff double-checking that we were enjoying our stay.

I would recommend this resort to anyone who needs a relaxing time away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Joe B,

Thank you for share your amazing stay with this review. It is an honor to know that you have enjoyed the food selection and the staff service taking care of your comfort.

We will be waiting for your return.
Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We traveled to Secrets Silversands the week of 5/27/13-6/3/13 for our Honeymoon and had a fabulous time. We have been to other all inclusives before but this was by far the best. We loved the different variety of restaurants. What sets this resort apart from others is the entertainment team. We loved Rango and Mariana. There was always something to do, I don't know when these people sleep they are always around and nonstop energy. Activities included, beach volleyball, Spanish lessons, bike rides, bingo, black jack, tequilla tastings, wine tastings.... Our favorite was the kitchen tour we went on with Chef Jose and Rango. The group received a tour of all the restaurant's kitchens and we were given different appetizers within each kitchen. It was neat seeing the behind the scenes. On our last night, we saw Chef Jose and he made us a special dessert with our names on it. The service really was incredible. My two favorite things about the resort were 1.) The sushi bar that had a conveyor belt around it that kept endless sushi coming and 2.) On nice days in the pool, servers would get in the pool in a kayak and serve appetizers to people in the pool.
The only downside was people are always trying to sell you something... excursions, spa treatments, room upgrades, wine upgrades, souvenirs... It can get annoying if you let it. We just tried to ignore it. We knew this things existed, if we wanted them, we would have asked, it became burdensome after awhile.
Overall we had a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Christina P,

It was an honor to have hosted your honeymoon celebration and to know that you have enjoyed a great stay, enjoying the food selection, entertainment activities and staff service.

We will be waiting for your next stay.
Warm Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and recently returned from a 12-day stay at Secrets Silversands, celebrating our 2-year anniversary. Having travelled to many 5-star resorts around the world, I have to say that Secrets Silversands is one of the best experiences I have had.

If you are planning on visiting this resort then make sure you download the useful app onto your phone! Wireless is available throughout the resort and is free to use.

I apologise now for the extremely long review, but I will break everything down for you so you have all the necessary facts.

CHECK-IN
The resort is around 20 mins or so when travelling directly to/from the airport. If, however, you booked through a tour operator they may drop people to other resorts before taking you to Silversands – bear this in mind.

As soon as you arrive you are presented with a glass of champagne and a ticket for your luggage which the porter will take to your room. The check-in process itself is fairly quick and painless. You will be given at least $200 in resort credit during check in as well, which you will need to activate at the VIP area. Note that these credits cannot be used all at once and only a portion can be used to pay for wine, spa treatments or dinner on the beach.

Something to note, if you are travelling here on your honeymoon/anniversary then bring a copy of your marriage certificate with you.

ROOMS
We stayed in room 4120 which was a Junior Swim Out suite. There was a “Happy Anniversary” banner across the door and waiting for us inside was a bottle of champagne and petit fours as well as lots of delicately placed rose petals around the room.

The room and the bathroom are huge. The bathroom has some excellent amenities, including a very good moisturising lotion, which was replenished every day. Basically we need not have brought an additional After Sun moisturiser with us! The shower is very large as well and has a waterfall shower head as well as a conventional one. The large bath also doubles as a Jacuzzi – good for lying in and sipping champagne!

The bed was huge and very comfortable and there was plenty of space to relax in. My only criticism would be that the lighting is a little dim, so you ladies may want to ask for an additional lamp for the vanity table.

Housekeeping made up the room quite well and we left a tip for the maid at the end of our stay.

POOLS & BEACH
There are around 8 pools at this resort and the main pool is the only one that is heated. Having said that on a hot day (which most of them are!) the other pools are also comfortably warm too. There are two huge Jacuzzis as well, with one located in the main pool. You will also find lots of lilos around the main pool so you can lie in the middle of the pools and sun bathe!

Look out for Leonardo who is always on hand to bring to you a drink!

As you will no doubt be aware from all the reviews, access to the sea from the beach is pretty rocky and I would recommend swimming shoes for anyone who wants to venture in. However, if you walk 5 mins in either direction along the beach you’ll find much easier access points. The beach itself is well maintained and has plenty of beach beds and a number of sun loungers and hammocks.

ENTERTAINMENT
When I was reading the reviews to find out what excursions people visiting the resort had been on, I noticed most people didn’t bother to leave the resort – now I know why. The Entertainment Team at Silversands work tirelessly to ensure you have the best stay possible and are not found wonting for something to do at any time of the day or night. The Entertainment Team currently consist of Mariana, Jorge, Rango, Dulce and about 5 others whose names escape me at the moment. About 5/6 days at the resort were rained out thanks to Hurricane Barbara causing havoc in the area. Suffice it to say these people made a massive difference and ensured we were all still entertained.

They host lots of games, such as ping-pong and pool tournaments, beach/pool volleyball, beach football (soccer to some of you!), as well as bingo, black jack and throwing the odd football/basketball/beanbag through in a pretty small hole! But it’s worth playing the games, because if you win, then the resort will give you a prize, which could be anything from a bottle of something to spa treatments and dinner on the beach! There are also early morning yoga/stretching sessions and the best pool aerobics I’ve ever seen! Make sure you take part in the tequila tasting sessions, even if you don’t like the stuff – you won’t be disappointed.

The resort also has a huge theatre which they make full use of in the evenings with some pretty impressive (and sometimes spectacular) shows. After which there is a live band playing for you until about 11/11:30pm – as some people might want to try and sleep after that!

They also have a movie showing every evening, such as Argo and The Descendents – the movie will be out in the open on clear nights, or in the theatre on the rare days that it rains.

BARS & RESTAURANTS
As you are no doubt aware Secrets Silversands as all-inclusive resort their their range of drinks extends to premium brands such as Greygoose vodka, Tanqueray gin and champagne. There are around 5 bars at the resort, with the Rendezvous and Veranda bars as the focal points in the evening. There are additional bars in the Desires night club, the theatre and the spa.

For an all-inclusive the resort, the food and variety of restaurants are excellent. There are some 8 restaurants and we ate at all of them. I would probably say our favourites were the Mexican, French and Mediterranean restaurants. Ensure you book in advance for the teppanyaki table at Himitsu – all other restaurants are first-come-first-served. The restaurants are aiming for a fine-dining experience and are not far off from achieving that. Also remember that you can put $10 of your resort credits towards a bottle of wine if you don’t fancy the house wine.

The World Café hosts breakfast and lunch and have a superb egg station in the mornings – they’ll make you anything from an omelette to huervos rancheros for breakfast! In the afternoons there is an excellent taco station too. For a buffet, the breakfast and lunch items were surprisingly fresh with a good variety to choose from.

SPA
The spa is of a good standard, it has a spa pool, whirl pool, plunge pool, sauna, steam room, water beds, fish spa and plenty of treatment rooms. As you can expect, it is not cheap, however you can put your resort dollars towards some treatments which will make the cost a little more manageable. The resort will also have daily offers on treatments.

EXCURSIONS
As I mentioned leaving the resort is not really necessary, but if you’re staying for more than 7 nights then there are a few things you should consider. First and foremost is visiting Chichen Itza (one of the modern wonders of the world), this is a full day trip and extremely hot, so be prepared. Most tours will also take you to a cenote where you can swim in one of the many unique fresh water sink holes in the region.

Xel-ha is nearby for adventure seekers and Xcaret is also a popular, albeit expensive day out. The resort can also arrange half day snorkelling excursions for you as well.

If you have time it is also worth visiting Playa Del Carmen which is a small town near Silversands. It has a vibrant night life, with some excellent bars and restaurants. If you fancy a taste of authentic local Mexican cuisine, then go to La Parrilla along 5th Avenue. Rather than paying the fixed rate cab fare, take the shopping tour into Playa at 3:30pm for $17 and you can either come back with them at 7:10pm or just stay and take a cab back for around $35 at the end of the night.

HOTEL GUESTS
The resort is primarily frequented by Americans – some 80% of the guests are from the US. The rest are Canadian, British and a handful of other nationalities. This means you don’t need to worry about certain Europeans from nabbing all the sun beds at 7am!

SERVICE
One of the main reasons this resort is so successful is because the standard of service is of an extremely high standard. The waiting staff and managers in the restaurants were brilliant, in particular Juan Jose (JJ), Daniel and Karla. The Concierge Team headed by Lourdes Patino will do all they can to meet every big and small request you might have. Finally the management team (Javier, Salvador and Lourdes) host a cocktail evening once a week so they can mingle with the guests and more importantly get feedback on the resort - this is not something I’ve seen any resort management team do before.

If you are still reading then I hope you have found the information above useful and enjoy your stay at this superb resort!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4120 which has a view of the main pool and a partial ocean view. We weren't di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank Neelesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Neelesh,

Thank you for your preference to have celebrated your 2nd anniversary and thank you for your time to share your superb experience with this review.

It was an honor to know that you have enjoyed the staff service, food selection and the comfort of your room. It is great to know that you have enjoyed the entertainment staff and activities and the time at the pools.

We can´t wait to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I took my family to secrets silversands and they had a great time. 7 pools, good food at the restaurants. Jorge was awesome very energetic and a lot of fun as well as the rest of the entertainment staff.
The only thing that would have made this resort better, would have been to have the buffet open at night. Other then that for the price (as an unlimited vacations club member) it was great

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whtbowtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Whtbowtie,

Thank you for your time to post a review. Thank you also for your kind comments about the staff, the pools and the food selection.

We will be waiting for your return.
Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Approx 25 min from airport. Non-stop transfer. Check in took about 10 min. We arrived around noon on May 26th & our room was ready. We stayed in BLDG# 4 in the 2nd floor facing a pool. Our location was great, close to lobby & restaurants. Our room was Gorgeous and very comfy. The balcony furniture is awesome. Hotel is set up in a convenient way that in a few hours you know where everything is. There are 8 sparkling beautiful pools. Our favorite was the Infinity pool <3 We also loved the large oceanfront jacuzzi. The beach was what I expected. If you are going for an awesome beach then this isn't the place for you. We did go in the ocean but mostly stayed around the pools. There are many bars throughout the resort..we aren't bug drinkers but the drinks we did have were great. My favorite is the Mango Mojoto <3.A few months ago they opened the Coco Cafe..it's like Starbucks on vacation. They had many yummy deserts and afternoon sandwiches too. The breakfast buffet was always plentiful. Serious
Y if you can't find something you like then you are just strange! My favorite lunch was at the Oceana..seared sliced tuna on bed of lettuce and their shrimp cocktail was delicious to among many other dishes. We tried almost all the A la Cartes..our favorite was the Bordeaux. Had the Best duck I ever tasted. We also really loved the Hibachi. The entire staff was Amazing, always accommodating and friendly.

Room Tip: Buildings 1-4 are close to the lobby and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NewJerseyMexicoLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear NewJerseyMexicoLover,

Thank you for your kind comments, it is great to know that you have enjoyed a memorable time with your time at the pools. Also it is a plasure to know that you have enjoyed the food selection and drinks, specially the Mango Mojito.

We can´t wait to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is the second Secrets resort I have been too. I have to say everything was great except the ocean. I knew this ahead of time so it was okay with me.There are large rocks under the water and no one really gets in the ocean. The beach service was great, plenty of waiters to get your drinks. The pools were beautiful and clean and again pool service was excellent. The grounds are beautiful. Good choice in restaurants, The entertainment was diverse and every night there was entertainment. The food was very good and the service was excellent. The staff were wonderful and made even rainy days fun and enjoyable. Thank you Dulce, Marianna, Stphanie,Jorge and Vanessa our hostess. Rooms were very large and beautiful. We loved our stay and would reccommend this resort to others. If you are a beach person and love being in the ocean I would choose Secrets Maroma.

Room Tip: Preferred club will move you closer to the beach and second through fourth floors will give you ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelgirl3884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear travelgirl3884,

Thank you for your kind mentions to your favorite staff members, they will be very honored to know about your special thanks.

As you mentioned in your review, our beach is different from our beach areas in the Riviera Maya cause our proximity to the coral reef, however this is a beautiful area that too many guests have enjoyed a wonderful time with beach activities and having a relaxing time.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
1.5 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
13,283 reviews
13 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
5.1 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
9,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
17.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
10,291 reviews
1.2 mi away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#5 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
7,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Address: Bahia de Petempich SM 12, Mz 31, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $293 - $702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun is a chic, ultra modern all-suite adult-only unlimited-luxury resort featuring 433 suites, over 43,000 sq ft of pool areas and expansive manicured gardens, exceptional dining options, several bars ranging from elegant to swim-up. World class spa, a fitness center and two Jacuzzis ensure that guests are pampered and indulged. We are nestled on the coast of the Yucatan Peninsula, 15 miles south of Cancun and only twenty minutes from the Cancun International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing