We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been to many many resorts, Secrets Silversands simply the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Approx 25 min from airport. Non-stop transfer. Check in took about 10 min. We arrived around noon on May 26th & our room was ready. We stayed in BLDG# 4 in the 2nd floor facing a pool. Our location was great, close to lobby & restaurants. Our room was Gorgeous and very comfy. The balcony furniture is awesome. Hotel is set up in a convenient way that in a few hours you know where everything is. There are 8 sparkling beautiful pools. Our favorite was the Infinity pool <3 We also loved the large oceanfront jacuzzi. The beach was what I expected. If you are going for an awesome beach then this isn't the place for you. We did go in the ocean but mostly stayed around the pools. There are many bars throughout the resort..we aren't bug drinkers but the drinks we did have were great. My favorite is the Mango Mojoto <3.A few months ago they opened the Coco Cafe..it's like Starbucks on vacation. They had many yummy deserts and afternoon sandwiches too. The breakfast buffet was always plentiful. Serious
Y if you can't find something you like then you are just strange! My favorite lunch was at the Oceana..seared sliced tuna on bed of lettuce and their shrimp cocktail was delicious to among many other dishes. We tried almost all the A la Cartes..our favorite was the Bordeaux. Had the Best duck I ever tasted. We also really loved the Hibachi. The entire staff was Amazing, always accommodating and friendly.

Room Tip: Buildings 1-4 are close to the lobby and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NewJerseyMexicoLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear NewJerseyMexicoLover,

Thank you for your kind comments, it is great to know that you have enjoyed a memorable time with your time at the pools. Also it is a plasure to know that you have enjoyed the food selection and drinks, specially the Mango Mojito.

We can´t wait to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,037 - 7,043 of 11,043 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is the second Secrets resort I have been too. I have to say everything was great except the ocean. I knew this ahead of time so it was okay with me.There are large rocks under the water and no one really gets in the ocean. The beach service was great, plenty of waiters to get your drinks. The pools were beautiful and clean and again pool service was excellent. The grounds are beautiful. Good choice in restaurants, The entertainment was diverse and every night there was entertainment. The food was very good and the service was excellent. The staff were wonderful and made even rainy days fun and enjoyable. Thank you Dulce, Marianna, Stphanie,Jorge and Vanessa our hostess. Rooms were very large and beautiful. We loved our stay and would reccommend this resort to others. If you are a beach person and love being in the ocean I would choose Secrets Maroma.

Room Tip: Preferred club will move you closer to the beach and second through fourth floors will give you ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelgirl3884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear travelgirl3884,

Thank you for your kind mentions to your favorite staff members, they will be very honored to know about your special thanks.

As you mentioned in your review, our beach is different from our beach areas in the Riviera Maya cause our proximity to the coral reef, however this is a beautiful area that too many guests have enjoyed a wonderful time with beach activities and having a relaxing time.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun hotel in June 2013. When we arrived the staff greeted us in a friendly manner and were very impressed with the efficiency & speed of check-in / check-out.

It was a great first impression walking into the modern lobby entrance which overlooks the Rendezvous Bar. It had a relaxed vibe & comfy seating.

The bedroom was amazing - ultra modern with all the amenities you could want including a jacuzzi bath, walk in shower, queen sized bed, balcony & seating, dressing gowns & slippers.. The only criticism would be the mood lighting - it was quite dark in certain areas of the room.

The complex had numerous pools - the main pool with a swim up bar and others scattered around the hotel. It was very clean and tidy, the staff were always on hand to offer drinks/cocktails whilst sunbathing and towels were readily available.

The restaurants left us spoilt for choice at breakfast, lunch and dinner time. There was a cafe so you could always get a cup of tea or coffee & cakes that were freshly baked. We really liked the World Cafe and Portofino - Italian restaurant.

I visited the spa during our 10 days at the resort as you're given a booklet of money saving vouchers by the hotel that entitle you to $40 off certain treatments. It was extremely relaxing & the staff were attentive. My partner used the onsite gym facilities during our stay & thought it was well equipped for a resort gymnasium.

There are bars all over the resort and we'd definitely recommend trying the strawberry daiquiris - they were delicious!!!

The weather was mixed during our stay & we had 5 days of rain and 5 days of sun. The staff were always offering games/entertainment during the day but it was limited for things to do when the weather was bad. The evening entertainment consisted of live music and various acts such as flame throwers and an Elvis tribute singer that catered for all ages. When the sun came out it was extremely humid and hot - so make sure you bring factor 30 as we wore it for the whole holiday!

To summarise it was a beautiful resort, ultra modern, luxurious & relaxing, the staff were friendly and very welcoming but geographically it was approx 25/30 mins from Cancun and 35/40 mins from Playa del Carmen by car/taxi/mini bus, so if you're happy to stay at the resort & do a few excursions its perfect. If you want somewhere more lively its not really designed for that!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tonks37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Samb31,

Thank you for your kind comments, it was a pleasure to have you home enjoying a great time with all the activities even with the rainy days. It is also a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed a relaxing time at the spa.

We are overjoyed to know that you have enjoyed the comfort of your room, the pools, food selection and the personalized staff service.

We can´t wait to welcome you back soon.
Warm Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My fiance' and I just returned from Secrets Silversands and it was AMAZING. We returned home about a week ago and I am already dying to go back. We had a swim up room. The room was very chic, very clean and you literally only walk ten feet from your patio if you want to take a dip in the pool. There is a leather lounger on the back patio where my fiance' and I would hang out/read books etc. when we wanted to get out of the sun and there are also two lounge chairs there if we wanted to work on our tan. We also really enjoyed the two person jacuzzi and the shower is HUGE. The staff also made a point to send us champagne in the room and decorate the bed with rose petals. Little things that made our stay even better than I had imagined.

Pools: The pool by our room was amazingly quiet and peaceful. When we were looking for a little bit more excitement, we would go to the main pool which has a swim up bar and where most of the activities take place. There are a lot more people at the main pool which can be a lot of fun if you are in the right mood. there are also a lot more cocktail servers at the main pool which makes it a bit easier to get a drink. Side note- the employees at Secrets absolutely are the best part of the hotel experience as they will do bend over backwards to make sure that you have everything you could possibly want and that you are enjoying your stay. We split our time about 50/50 so as to enjoy the best of both worlds.

Food/Drinks: The food was about a 4/5. The breakfast buffet is incredible. Everything you could possibly want from omelets to pastries to fruit is there. I can't really think of a single breakfast food that they did not have available and all of it was delicious. I just could not stop myself from eating enough for a family of four every morning but we were on vacation so whatever. "Juan Veldez" is probably the best server on the resort so get him if you can. For lunch, they had a grill by the main pool as well as a lunch buffet and poolside restaurant. Like breakfast, the lunch buffet was amazing. There was a different theme every day (Italian, Asian, etc.) but it was always delicious. The dinner restaurants were very charming but the food was somewhat hit or miss. Our favorite restaurant was definitely the hibachi grill. We went there two nights. It is the only place at the resort that you have to make a reservation for so do it first thing in the morning. That said, it is more than worth it to get a reservation there. The food was amazing and the hibachi set up made it a lot of fun. We also enjoyed the Mexican restaurant and the French restaurant. The Greek place was just ok. You can also get room service 24/7. The room service food is not as good as the restaurant but it is nice if you just want some wings and/or a burger while you hang out in the room.

Conclusion: My fiance' and I stayed 8 nights and Sercrets Silversands and we LOVED every single one of them. We will definitely be staying at another Secrets resort in the VERY near future.

Room Tip: We had a swim up room in building 5 which was close to the fun but still very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthew r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear matthew r,

It is an honor to know that you have enjoyed a wonderful experience, thank you for your time to write a review.

It is also a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed the food selection, specially at your favorite restaurant Himitsu. Thank you for share your relaxing and fun time spent at the pools. Most important is to know that you have received a great service from the staff.

We will be waiting for your next stay.
Warm Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Everyone on the staff was friendly, helpful, The choice of restaurants is great and food was wonderful. We think the entertainment staff, especially the girls Dany, Dulce and Stefani. Jorge was also really great. Also, the entertainment in the theater was good.

Room Tip: Really don't know about other rooms, ours was a partial ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank outdoortrainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear outdoortrainman,

Thank you for your time to share the great time that you have spent with the entertainment team, participating in the actrivities and night shows.

Also we are overjoyed to know that you have enjoyed the food selection.
We will be waiting for your return.

Warm Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My new husband and I could not say enough great things about Secrets Silversands! We stayed for 6 nights for our honeymoon and just returned on June 1st. Even though we didn't get the "free honeymoon package" because we didn't book for 7 nights, we still showed up to a honeymoon banner on the door, champagne, robes, slippers and roses on the bed.

The service, the entertainment staff, the daytime activities (bingo, dance lessons, cooking lessons, texas hold em, volleyball...just to name a few) the shows, the bar and the food were all spectacular... or should I say "excellente!" ;-)

We had one rainy day and had 80 minute massages which were great in a couples room. They also had a nice steam room, sauna, cold pool, and hot tub. We also went swimming with the dolphins which was about an hour drive away because we had to pick up another couple from a different resort. We had used the gift registry through the hotel for our wedding and got the massages and dolphin swimming paid for by our guests which was great! The system was easy to use as well.

Plenty of spots to sit on the beach or by the pool. There were servers constantly coming around asking if you would like a drink so we really never had to get up! We enjoyed the outside snack bar that had hot dogs, hamburgers, chicken, chips, nachos and guacamole.

The beach was constantly being cleaned because of the seaweed so there was minimal seaweed at the water line. The resort next year was not cleaned and it was pretty gross so we appreciated their efforts to keep the beach clean. The ocean was rocky but once you found a sandy spot to walk into it, the water felt great. I even saw a couple fish swimming around me. There was also a security guard at all times on the side of the resorts beaches which was nice. There were only two or three people walking by to sell bracelets and things but are not allowed to approach you.

We decided to pay the extra money for the oceanfront swimout and it was worth it! We had room 3109 on the first floor. We would look out the sliding doors to the pool, beach, and ocean every morning. The shower had great pressure, the oversized tub was lovely, and the air conditioning would get as cold as you wanted it! The curtains were heavy and kept the room pitch black at night and in the morning which was great and the kind size bed was so comfortable! Room service was great as well if you didn't mind waiting a half hour for food.

The food was excellent. Smaller, healthy portions but we always left feeling full. One night they had a Mexican food buffet and that was delicious! You don't need reservations for any of the restaurants except for the hibachi grill. We were able to reserve the night before with no problem. Dinner at the restaurants required formal wear....no sandals or shorts for men but could wear sneakers or jeans if wanted. This was nice because it made the whole resort feel a little a classier. The shows at night were great and their staff really works hard.

The resort is more geared towards couples and friends, not a resort I would go to if you are "single and ready to mingle"

The only thing in Mexico is the drinks were never really "cold" but that's the only real complaint we could think of, which I think is pretty good!

We will definitely be visiting Silversands again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amclhinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear amclhinney,

Thank you for your time to share your excellent experience of your stay, participating in the entertainment activities and enjoying a relaxing time at the spa.
We are overjoyed to know that you have enjoyed the food selection at our restaurants.

We can´t wait to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at Silversands in April 2013 for two weeks travelling from London with Virgin, who are the best airline to go with. We had got a great deal on this holiday and we were not disappointed. We were especially looking for an adult only resort and this fitted all the requirements.

We arrived late afternoon and were quickly met with cool towels and drinks. The reception staff quickly dealt with check in and we were escorted to our room by the bell boy who pointed out restaurants, bars and points of interest. Our room was ground floor facing the garden and suited our needs. Two large beds which were very comfortable and all the facilities you could need.We were close to the quiet pool near the spa and this is where we spent most of our days relaxing in the quiet sunshine. Our only complaint about the room was the maid who was sporadic in attendance , some days not turning up til 5pm, when we had left our room at 7.30 am in the morning and wished to return about 4pm this was not very helpful. A small notice to hang on the door "please clean my room" would have resolved this situation. Also we on occasion had to chase for hand towels and toilet rolls but otherwise the cleaning was very good.

Some of the sunbeds had seen better days and the usual put the towel out early (6am) was in evidence especially around the quiet pool. A pool side room/swim up room would be an advantage here as sunbeds are outside the rooms and you then don't have to rise early! We enjoyed our time at the pool although there is minimum shade so you have to be very careful you don't burn. There are fresh towels left on sunbeds each day and plenty to go around. The bar staff come round regularly topping up drinks and are attentive to some more than others, we did suffer from being ignored on occasion due to not giving the constant tips that some do. Once again please and thank you go a long way! My only bad point was that early one morning after breakfast we decided to go for our usual walk, returned to our sunbeds to take off my blouse and put it under my towel on the sunbed out of view. There was only one other guest on a sunbed at the time who watched me do this. When we returned my blouse had disappeared. I was very annoyed about this and we did report it to reception, it did then make us paranoid about leaving anything in sight. I must have good taste! Not the hotels fault but annoying to say the least.

The beach was a bit disappointing with a lot of seaweed, constantly cleared by the staff, nice to walk along first thing in the morning but not a good place to swim. It was also quite rough somedays whilst we were there.

The restaurants were good and we found the service to be mainly good with a couple of exceptions. We enjoyed the French and the Mexican and the mediterranean was very nice. The Asian was less so as I was told by the head waiter that my choice of food was two mains and I could not have it. He was very abrupt and quite rude, seeing the portions later we would have eaten them easily but it marred that experience. The bars were very good with good service and our drinks were topped up quickly. The only thing I would say is the lighting in the restaurants is quite dim, to make it romantic, and it is quite difficult to read the menus! We stuck with the house wine which we found very good, but did feel under pressure at times to buy the more expensive ones. Not all inclusive! I did unfortunately get an upset stomach for several days which was not nice and I can only put it down to the buffet restaurant as I ate nearly the same as my husband in the a la carte restaurants. The new coffee shop has great coffee and good cakes and was a great asset to have.

All in all we had a great time, the weather was fantastic with only about half an hour of rain the whole two weeks and we would have no hesitation going back to secrets again. We met some great people from Vancouver and enjoyed a couple of good evenings with them. Mexico is always good for service with a smile and Secrets Silversands was no exception. A Good holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ladyslw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear ladyslw,

It was a pleasure to have you home, thank you for your preference and for your time to share your experience. It is great to know that you have enjoyed your room comfort and location.

We regret to know about your lost, after looking all of our Lost & found and security department records, unfortunately we had no success on finding the mentioned clothe that you previously described.

As you mentioned in your review, our beach is different from our beach areas in the Riviera Maya cause our proximity to the coral reef, however this is a beautiful area that too many guests have enjoyed a wonderful time with beach activities and having a relaxing time.

We are overjoyed to know that you have enjoyed the food selection at the Bordeaux (French restaurant) and El Patio (Mexican restaurant).

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon for another memorable stay, please feel free to contact us to let us know about your return and we will pamper you the way you deserve.


Warm regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
1.5 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
12,818 reviews
13 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
5.1 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
9,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#42 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
10,003 reviews
1.2 mi away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#6 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
7,584 reviews
10.4 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Address: Bahia de Petempich SM 12, Mz 31, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $296 - $809 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun is a chic, ultra modern all-suite adult-only unlimited-luxury resort featuring 433 suites, over 43,000 sq ft of pool areas and expansive manicured gardens, exceptional dining options, several bars ranging from elegant to swim-up. World class spa, a fitness center and two Jacuzzis ensure that guests are pampered and indulged. We are nestled on the coast of the Yucatan Peninsula, 15 miles south of Cancun and only twenty minutes from the Cancun International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing