We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Frederick, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overall Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just returned from a seven day stay at Silversands, (May 11-18th). My wife and I have stayed at this resort three times previously over the past two years. We feel that this stay also resulted in us rating the service in all categories as "excellent". No waiting lines for seating at any of the restaurants at any time of the day based on us traveling to the resort at this time of year. We are a retired couple in our early 60's, but have been traveling to Cancun and staying at hotel locations in the commercial zone since the 70's and exclusively to the Riviera Maya "all inclusive-adults only" for the past 6-7 years resulting in stays to the Secrets Capri and the Silversands. We now feel that the Silversands is rated at "par" to the Capri as far as overall customer service and financial value to their customers. During check-in, we made a casual remark that we would be soon celebrating our 40th anniversary. Our receptionist apparently made a mental note, and without any expectation, we received well arranged rose petals, a banner on our door, and a bottle of champagne in our room two days later.

The service and staff were just fantastic and actually fun to engage with. During our stay, we felt we were considered not only as a "guest", but as part of their overall employee "family". I do need to single out two staff members only because we saw them daily based on our restaurant choices: Marco, a server at the Seaside Grille, and Vanessa, a restaurant hostess, both of whom made our dining experiences just a joy on a regular basis. Marco knew which drinks we would like and remembered our most familiar requests without us having to volunteer the information over the entire week. My wife said that Vanessa came running out of the restaurant after her breakfast on our last visit day to make sure she could personally say "good bye" and hoped for our return.

Room was great on 4th floor overlooking separate pool area, with partial view of the ocean. The maid service was excellent.

We have recommended this resort to our family members, friends, and neighbors, as well as anyone asking for our input regarding our history of traveling the area. We have never had a negative response, but so often have heard "so glad you told us about this place". We will also be returning.

Room Tip: If you prefer quite, with a view of a nice pool, building #1 with a fourth floor view is great. Seve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Michael H,

Thank you for your time to post a review. We are very honored to know that you have enjoyed the warmth of the personalized service from the staff during your stay, specially from Vanessa and Marco.

Thank you for your preference for the Secrets Resorts family, it is an honor to know that you have experienced a great vacations with us and with our sisters resorts.

We will be waiting for your return.
Warm Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,133
    1,975
    532
    176
    98
See reviews for
660
7,173
153
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,988)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing. It was the best trip I have ever had and I can't wait to go back. The entertainment team made my trip 100% better. Rango, Jorge, Estefanie, Dany, and the rest of the team were absolutely excellent. I'm already saving up to
come back!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ebell2742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Ebell2742,

Thank you for your recent visit. It is an honor to know that you have enjoyed a great time with our entertainment staff while you participated in the activities.

We can´t wait to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

we stayed in a swim up suite in bldg. 1, very quiet and basically your own pool most people use the larger party pool. rest. were all good esp. the hibatchi. the beach is rocky in front of hotel but walk north 1/2 mile is good but walk south (which most don't do because of seaweed for about a 100 yards) and it becomes fantastic about 100yd. wide and beautiful. we thought the swim up suite was definitely worth the upcharge

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear gtrbt,

Thank you for your visit and for your time to write a review.

It is great to know that you had the opportunity to enjoy the comfort of your room upgrade.
We are overjoyed to know that you have enjoyed the food selection, specially at Himitsu.

We´ll see you on your next visit.
Warm Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I, along with one other couple stayed at Secrets Silversands the second week of May. In one word: fabulous. We have stayed at other couples and family resorts at the same level (Palace resorts, Sandals, etc) but first time at a Secrets. WILL NOT be the last.

I won’t offer a detailed account as that just repeats what many others have already posted about this resort, but I will comment on what we liked the most:

Preferred Club: definitely worth the extra money. Made our check-in and check-out very, very quick (like minutes). We literally had to do nothing but have a drink and accept the room cards. After arriving we were greeted with a great glass of champagne and immediately taken to the Preferred Club downstairs. More champagne. Itzel, at the Preferred Club desk, had everything ready for us and within 5 minutes we were in our rooms. The Club is a great place to chill out, have a light breakfast or sandwich in the afternoon and try out the premium liquor at anytime. Josh & Innocent, the Preferred Club bar staff, were fantastic young men always waiting with a smile and whatever we wanted to drink.

Rooms: absolutely no complaints. Top quality bed and bedding and a great selection of toiletries, even toothpaste. Hubby loved the Playboy channel. Juanita and Ivan were the housekeeping staff responsible for our second-level room which had a breathtaking view of the whole resort onto the ocean. Both were excellent and we had our room made up by 2PM everyday. A $5 tip each day ensured excellent service. When one only makes the minimum wage of $6/day, $5 goes a long way. Same can be said of the dollar tips that we gave to certain other staff as well. Big thanks to the Housekeeping Manager Pedro Velasquez who sent us a bottle of champagne on our last day – your staff are phenomenal and their service outstanding.

Restaurants: No reservations needed at any of them. All were very good, the best we have ever had at an all inclusive resort anywhere. The chicken wings are excellent at the Oceanside outdoor grill by the main pool at lunch. Burgers are pretty good too. Japanese had some fantastic sushi. French was great. My favourite was the Mexican – excellent Mole chicken. I really did not have a meal that I didn’t enjoy. Service is impeccable at every restaurant we went to. Buffet was also great food – pretty much the same menu each day, especially for breakfast, but all very good. My only complaint of the entire resort is the lighting at some of the restaurants at night. Way too low, especially for those of us with aging eyes and bi-focals. If the waiter has to bring a little pen light so you can read the menu, the lighting is too low. Never had to wait more than 4-5 minutes to be seated, except for one night but that was only b/c everyone seemed to want Italian that night. They took our names and we went for another drink. No biggie..

Entertainment: Something for everyone. The shows at night were pretty good, at least the ones we went to. The entertainment staff are around all day, but not intrusive or too loud. Besides with 9 pools at this place, there is always a quiet area to go if you need. Pool games were geared more towards adults and actually fun to watch. Music at the main pool is fine, but perhaps a little too much club music – those of us with teens are trying to get away from the club/rap beat. There is really no reason for Rihanna to follow us to Mexico. One afternoon we had great rock for about 3 hours – Aerosmith, Stones, Bon Jovi, etc. The music that is pumped out throughout the resort (outside of the pool area) is great – what I call Buddha Bar music – jazzy new age alternative. Loved it.

Beach: Erosion has unfortunately taken its toll in the location as huge sand filled bags have been placed to slow it down. Not a problem though. Lovely well-maintained beach. Lifeguard always there. Watching the huge pelicans dive for fish was a hoot.

Spa: didn't have any treatments and quite frankly they are exhorbitant in price. My cousin had a mani-pedi and was happy. Did visit the spa though for their outdoor pool. Nothing fantastic really.

Communications: no language barrier experienced with anyone here. Very friendly accommodating staff. One point worth mentioning is the free calls to anywhere in North America. Very helpful for those of us with fee-heavy hand-helds (predominant throughout Canada) – free calls and texts. The resort chain app is also quite useful for an updated list of the day’s activities, the outdoor movie title, which restaurants were open for evening, etc.

Overall: Best service we have ever experienced, hands down. Overall a great medium-sized resort. No language barrier at all. I enjoyed giving a tip to the staff and it is not expected but greatly and sincerely appreciated. Would go back? In a second, mainly for ambiance, service and food. Highly recommend. There are many other resorts at this price level who could learn from how this place is run: service, service, service.

Final mention goes to Omar who handled our luggage when arriving and leaving. He has a knack for names – whenever we saw him throughout the week, always greeted us both by name and with a big smile.

Do not hesitate – go. We are now looking forward to trying out other Secrets resorts. If they match this place, we’ll never go anywhere else for a couples’ vacation.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Preferred rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mojitosuelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear mojitosuelu,

It is an honor to know that you have enjoyed such a wonderful vacations staying with us. Thank you for your time to share your experience with other travelers who are looking to visit this beautiful destination.

We are overjoyed to know that we have exceeded your expectations with the facilities, food selection and most important, with the service provided.

We will be waiting for your next visit.
Sunny Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here from April 23 to April 27. My best friend got married here. We had nothing short of the best service during the entire trip. Food was great, everything was super clean and all the staff went out of their way to make sure your stay was wonderful. Mercedes kept our drinks coming out buy the pool bar! With all the liquor top shelf, you will not be disappointed. We stayed in room 4203 and it was perfect. We were actually upgraded for free to the ocean view room.
The age group was perfect for us. Everyone knew how to relax, when to party and when it was time for bed. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Building 4 was close to everything, very quiet and had perfect views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sross0923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear sross0923,

It was a pleasure to have hosted your friends wedding and to know that you all have enjoyed a memorable time, thank you for your preference and for your time to share your experience with your review.

Mercedes will be very honored to know about your special mention for her great service.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Warm Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed the week of may 3-10. Everything about this resort is upscale. We had swim out suite oceanfront which I have to admit we didn't use. I didn't care for the chair being in the grass. The grass felt weird to walk on. We hung out at main pool. If you like peace and quiet the swim out suites are nice. If you want to socialize go to main pool. We met so many nice people. The staff at this resort are awesome. Nora is pool server and works so hard. Also Dolce on entertainment staff is so friendly. All the staff there are so friendly and truly seem to like working there. My husband surprised me with renewing our vows on beach. The staff was so wonderful with helping him arrange this and surprise me. The restaurants there are so good. Very upscale. We never had a bad meal or bad service. I like that it is a smaller resort. We are already planning on returning to this resort in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarJefE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear KarJefE,

Thank you for sharing your surprise experience of your vows renewal ceremony, thank you for your preference.

We are also overjoyed to know that you have enjoyed the friendly staff service from Nora, Dulce and the rest of our staff.

We can´t wait to welcome you back soon.
Warm Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, New Brunswick
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I chose this resort based on reviews from Trip Advisor and their Facebook page. With all reviews, one must take some and leave some. The resort is very nice, the rooms, the grounds, but for being less than 10 years old, it can surely use some updates such as new furniture and colors in the lobby and more comfortable beach chairs.

This was my 7th time in the Riviera Maya in the last 6 years, I have stayed at a resort next door a few years ago and the beach was good so I figured it to be the same at Secrets, total disappointment. Yes, it IS that bad! The nicer beaches are closer to Playa del Carmen certainly not here.

The food and restaurant/bar service was very good but also comparable to other places we've been. The housekeeping making and turning down the room left much to be desired. The entertainment shows were however the best we've ever seen.

I was not blown away with this resort as I was told I would be upon check in, they acknowledge both my husbands and my birthday, but this went without notice the whole week. The staff should not promise and not deliver. We went the whole week for our element of "surprise" but left disappointed as nothing was ever done. II think they should pay a little more attention to guests when checking in instead of talking with each other.

Maybe next time I'll try their Maroma location, but I won't be back to Silversand.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Rasberrymohito,

We would like to thank you for your time to share your comments and your experience of your stay, this is very important for us to identify our opportunity areas and improve them.

It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed the comfort of your room, the grounds and the entertainment shows.

We regret to know that we didn´t met your expectations with the beach area, as you mentioned in your review, our beach is different from our beach areas in the Riviera Maya cause our proximity to the coral reef, however this is a beautiful area that too many guests have enjoyed a wonderful time with beach activities and having a relaxing time.

Also we would like to inform you that actions have been taken regarding your reports of cleanliness to avoid future incidences.

We would like to contact you to know more details about the birthday amenities you requested, this will allow us to take actions in this report as well.

We invite you to visit us again and please be certain that we will do our best to make you have a truly remarkable experience when you honor us again with your visit.

Looking forward to have you back home.
Warm regards

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
17.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#34 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,947 reviews
13.0 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
5.1 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
11.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Address: Bahia de Petempich SM 12, Mz 31, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun is a chic, ultra modern all-suite adult-only unlimited-luxury resort featuring 433 suites, over 43,000 sq ft of pool areas and expansive manicured gardens, exceptional dining options, several bars ranging from elegant to swim-up. World class spa, a fitness center and two Jacuzzis ensure that guests are pampered and indulged. We are nestled on the coast of the Yucatan Peninsula, 15 miles south of Cancun and only twenty minutes from the Cancun International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing