We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing resort, highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing resort, highly recommended”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I've just returned from this resort and am already looking to go back! I stayed here for a week and upgraded to an ocean front swim-up suite in the Premier Club section (Room 3116) and thanks to Roger on the front desk who sorted out a great deal, I'm very glad I did.

The resort is amazing; the staff, the restaurants and food, the hotel services, everything. The staff are all very polite and welcoming, and can't do enough for you.

The rooms are very big with comfy beds, excellent showers, good A/C and I think all rooms have a jacuzzi bath in them too. The rooms were cleaned immaculately every day, down to the point of everything being neatly lined up and positioned nicely in the bathrooms.

All of the restaurants are very good and have great food with plenty of choice and excellent service. I ordered room service a couple of times which had a reasonable menu selection and turned up promptly and still hot.

All of the swimming pools and surrounding areas and very clean and tidy and very well maintained. The staff are constantly walking around offering to get drinks for you and will soon be back with whatever you order. The beach is very nice and cleaned early every morning. I didn't use the beach a lot, other than to walk up and down it, but people did say the seabed was a little rocky. The sea is so clean and clear though!

The bar staff in the evening (and the day) were excellent. As Alex would say - "Cheers mate!" in his best british accent! Superb service and your usual drinks well remembered, every time.

Thanks to Vanessa in the World Cafe for starting the day off at breakfast so well. Always happy to see you and will come and talk to you about your day and how you are.

I didn't use the spa facilities at all but I did hear (from a guest staying at the hotel, a masseur) the massages were very good.

I used the hospitality room in the hotel at the end of my stay due to checking out by 12pm and having an evening flight. This can be booked in advance with the concierge so you can have a shower and get changed before you leave and was definitely worth doing if you can't arrange a late check-out.

To finish the review, I don't think I have anything negative to say about the resort at all. Highly recommended to anyone considering it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lee_UK99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Lee_147


Thank you for your kind comments, it was great to have you home.

Vanessa as well as the rest of the staff will receive your special thanks for the great service that you have received.
We are overjoyed to know that you have enjoyed the food selection and the comfort of your suite.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Warm Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,381
    2,071
    557
    182
    102
See reviews for
707
7,449
160
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huber Heights, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Food was excellent, staff was very friendly. entertainment team excellente! Jackie, Dulce, Stephany, Marcelo, Jay C, DJ Rango, Alex14, Mico suave, Dany love you all. Hostess Vanessa, Ijtai mucho excellente! Servers Nora, Felipe, Juan Valdez, Diego, Rubi well done. Claudia at the preferred club, awesome. Himitzu, World cafe ,Portofino, Ratatooie, El Patio comida mucho excellente! My only complaints, coupons are worthless, have to have them with you when you make a purchase. Cant use them for excursions. No digital channels on TV, did not enjoy having that playboy channel, remote barely worked. Housekeeping great job, they came by 2-3 times a day. Maintenance came quickly. Free wifi, phone calls if you download app to smartphone. Luggage handlers great job, front desk very helpful.

Room Tip: Go preferred, totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Ralph M,

Thank you for your time to share your experience and the amazing time that you have spent with the entertainment team.
It is an honor to know that we have exceeded your expectations with the food selection.

Most important for us is to know that you have experienced a personalized and friendly staff service, thank you for your special mentions.

We will be waiting for your return.
Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have been to 5 all-inclusive resorts, 3 of which were in Mexico and Secrets Silversands is by far the best experience we have ever had.
We spent a week there to celebrate our 5-year anniversary. The food was fantastic, we never went hungry. I loved the sushi at the Asian restaurant and my favorite dessert was the banana creme brûlée at the Mediterranean restaurant. The room service food was delicious and arrived quickly both times we ordered. Our drinks were well made - best mimosas I've ever had!
The staff was friendly and almost always went above and beyond. We always tipped our servers.
As far as complaints, the only two things I can really say...our housekeeper didn't come every day. We didn't necessarily need it, but it was a little disappointing given that this is a 5-star resort. These were on days that we were out of our room from 9-5, but I will say this only happened twice. The other thing is in the gym (yes I work out on vacation), the ventilation is pretty poor and after 15 minutes I was pretty sure I was going to pass out. Not sure if maybe another fan would help?
For those who complained about the seaweed on the beach, that's not the resort's fault! And the staff is out there first thing in the morning trying to rake it up.
Usually we take a day trip, but this year we couldn't tear ourselves away from this place! It has a very intimate feel, so we had the pleasure of making some friends, which was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank acampion17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear acampion17,

Thank you for your time to post a review, it is a pleasure to know about your stay experience. It was an honor to host your 5th anniversary celebration.

Thank you for your kind comments about the food selection and the staff service.

We have taken actions to correct your reports about the housekeeping service, the only occasions when they cannot go inside the suites is when guests have the non disturb sign on the door.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon for another great stay.
Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohegan Lake
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

the people that work there from entertainment to getting a drink they are all are top notch. Avelino !!!! what can we say about him he was the best. Vanessa, Karla, Jose, Carlito ,Juan and Chef Jesus always made sure we ate well "I am a picky eater" and it was all amazing. The entertainment Jackie, Dolce, Jay C, Rango these guys were always up getting games going and at night making sure you were dancing and having a good time. Felipe made sure you always had a drink and were feeling good. This was my 20th wedding anniversary and we had the best time ever..As my husband would say everything was MUY EXCELENTE !!!!..thank you all

Room Tip: the rooms are big open and roomy..didn't feel like you were jammed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EBink68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear EBink68,

Thank you for your preference to have celebrated your 20th wedding anniversary with us.

We are overjoyed to know that you have enjoyed the friendly staff service and the entertainment activities.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Warm Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Co.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My youngest daughter suggested this all inclusive property being she had stayed at the Secrets Silver Sands many times before. Diana and I were treated as valued guests from the moment we met our private transfer at the Cancun Airport. Bags were taken upon arrival, check-in went smoothly, and our pool side suite was ready as promised.
The accommodations were first class (over the top, mostly) as one would expect at this level of resort property and being part of the AM Resort chain, every contingency was taken care of as requested. We are not one's to guess, so we asked many questions with staff responses promptly attended to. From the time we met Roger Carrillo, Front Desk Manager upon our arrival, just walking down the various paths, we were greeted with a smile and a local, "Hi, how you". The room was spotless and was made up special for our anniversary. The multitude, quality, and variety of restaurants were most enjoyable and the variety of adult beverages was all top shelf . The pool , resort grounds, and beach were impeccably taken care.
We all learn from life experiences and being able to positively indulge our senses in every way at the Silver Sands will always bring back special memories.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denimglg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear denimglg

Thank you for your recent visit to celebrate your anniversary with us, it was an honor to have you home, thank you also to your daughter for recomend our beautiful resort.

It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with all the accommodations and staff service.

We can´t wait to welcome you back soon.
Warm Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Great hotel. Really friendly staff. So much so that this is the first time I have ever written a review online, but felt compelled to tell everyone how much we enjoyed the staff. Rango and Dulce specifically, but the whole entertainment staff in general was excellent. They really made our stay enjoyable. Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmp80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Cmp80,

It was an honor to have you home, thank you for your kind comments and for your special recognition to Rango and Dulce, as well for the rest of the entertainment staff.

We´ll all be waiting for your return.
Warm Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We booked this resort as a result of recommendations on TA. It ranged from 4/24 to 2/24 over a period of time. We were not disappointed at any time during our 14 day stay. Originally we were booked into the "6" section which was noisy. However, we were relocated to the "1" section which was idyllic and quiet. The restaurants are just great and our dilemma was which one to choose for dinner each night. It was a matter of individual preference our favourite was the French. . Breakfasts and buffet lunches were of an amazing standard with a wide range and excellent service.

We understand there are about 430 rooms and just over 400 staff. All the staff were excellent, ranging from the gardeners etc to management. We could see managers working hard to ensure standards were maintained to a high standard. It would be wrong to identify individual members of staff we experienced during our stay as we could see that all 400 plus were just great. Where else would one have so many waiters ready to serve us in the restaurants and at the bars. Even on the beaches and around the pools the staff were attentive. Incidentally the beach is well groomed and the invasive seafood kept at bay. There is a weekly management cocktail party every Wednesday at 7pm. Entertainment is good and the staff there work extremely hard.

In all, a great resort which well deserves th high rating consistently given.

Room Tip: Section 1 rooms are quiet, yet close to everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanksPonies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear ShanksPonies,

Thank you for your kind comments and for your recent visit.
It is an honor to know that you have enjoyed all the restaurant specialties and that your only concern was to decide where to go for dinner.

Most important for us is to know that we have exceeded your expectations with the staff service.
We will be waiting for your return.

Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
5.1 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,513 reviews
17.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#38 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
9,278 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
0.7 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#6 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
6,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Address: Bahia de Petempich SM 12, Mz 31, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun is a chic, ultra modern all-suite adult-only unlimited-luxury resort featuring 433 suites, over 43,000 sq ft of pool areas and expansive manicured gardens, exceptional dining options, several bars ranging from elegant to swim-up. World class spa, a fitness center and two Jacuzzis ensure that guests are pampered and indulged. We are nestled on the coast of the Yucatan Peninsula, 15 miles south of Cancun and only twenty minutes from the Cancun International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing