We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th Trip and counting to SSS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at SSS from December 31, 2012 - January 7, 2013 and was our fourth trip to this property in the last 5 years. We are in our early 40's and have travelled to many other resorts, but have not found another resort that appeals to us as much - room design, resort ambiance, hotel management & resort staff, quality of food are all excellent. We will back soon!

From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel like they always do, as if we were at home. Salvador (Rooms Director) ensured that we were in one of, if not the best room in the entire resort. What a fantastic surprise and a great way for us to start off our honeymoon. At the end of our vacation Salvador even took the time to personally see us off when we departed. Salvador spoiled us, but it was much appreciated - thank you Salvador for helping make our week in the sun perfect!

We enjoyed the Honeymoon spa and private dining experience which the resort provides to newlyweds free of charge; what a great perk. We were able to arrange this through the preferred club when we arrived.

Food quality and dining experience is one of the main contributors to our love of this resort. We attended the New Year's Eve Gala our first night and were not disappointed. Outstanding food and entertainment were provided during the course of the evening and was worth the call in advance to the resort to book. (My only suggestion for the resort here would be creating a process for those people arriving on the 30th and 31st to understand what the process is to sign up for the Gala and to book their tables through Karla (the resort's fantastic e-concierge)).

We usually book a few private dining experiences while at SSS and this trip was no exception. Juan Jose (formerly the Bordeaux Restaurant Manager, and now the resort's overall Restaurant Director), Robyn (the current Bordeaux Restaurant Manager) and Chef Jesus Alvarez - the fabulous sushi chef, ensured that we had the best dining experiences with customized dinners and exceptional wine parings. (Red wine lovers must try the 2008 Judas Malbec - we wouldn't have believed a Malbec could be this outstanding). Thank you Juan Jose, Robyn and Jesus for the delicious meals and fantastic memories we now have!

Mercedes looked after our 'hydration' needs during the week and always served us with a smile - Thank you Mercedes!

Our room was kept spotless by the housekeeping staff and the evening entertainment has improved with each trip to the point now that it is exceptional!

Thank you to all SSS staff who helped us have an absolutely outstanding honeymoon/vacation!

See you soon -

David & Sarah

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear David R,

We would like to thank you for your preference, it is an honor to have welcomed you back for the fourth time, we are really honored to know that you choose us above the other resorts available all over the Riviera Maya.

All of our staff was very happy to have welcomed you. It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your room and the food quality in all of our restaurants, specially at Bordeaux.

We can´t wait for your next visit.
Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11,218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,450 - 7,456 of 11,218 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed between the 24th and 29th of March. The staff was pleasant, courteous, and always helpful. The food was outstanding, particularly at El Patio. If you go, ask for Russell. My wife and I will definitely head back to Silversands or a Secrets resort if we go back to Mexico!

Room Tip: You can either be by the pool or out of the way. Depends on your level of acceptable noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Brian T,

Thank you so much for your kind comments, it is a real honor to know that we have exceeded your expectations with the staff service and with the food selection. We hope to have the surprise to see you back soon for another memorable time.

Sunny Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I just returned (March 28) from this adult only resort. In general, the property, class and service were beyond our expectations. The trip was planned fairly last minute and our choice was based on recommendations and convenience. The location is only 20 minutes from Cancun airport.
The Entertainment crew- (Rango, George, Tania, jay c, nico, Alex) were always fun and helpful- pool sports, yoga, evening shows, bike rides to Puerto Morelos, energy levels, friendliness, fantastic ! 
The food was superb. Better than any all- inclusive we have ever stayed at. Our favourite restaurant was the French one (Bordeaux) for the atmosphere and food. Thanks to Daniel, Pedro and Robin. Himitsu, the Asian restaurant, was a favourite as well. We often visited the sushi bar for appetizers before dinner. We never had to wait for seating at any restaurant. The "no reservation" policy is wonderful, the resort was apparently at over 80% occupancy while we were there but it often felt empty. It was wonderful, very spread out, no fighting for beach chairs!
Rooms were very well stocked, clean, updated, modern and very well kept. The grounds were beautiful, beach is not like the fine sand of the Caribbean but that was not a priority for us this Trip. We could still walk the beach and feel very safe and enjoy the ocean. Upgrading to preferred club was a good decision, thanks to Josh for his excellent service everyday! The expedited check in and check out, booking spa treatments, etc. made our trip seamless.
We were in building #3 on the third floor with a "pool view " room. We actually could see the ocean in two directions from our balcony as well as the beautiful grounds. We had the opportunity to view other rooms and select one of our choice. Based on the price differential for an ocean front room, we selected the pool view and were absolutely happy with that. Also, we opted for the third floor not ground , and we were very happy we did for the view and privacy (ability to relax, read, nap, in complete privacy on our beautiful balcony).
We loved our week at Silversands. Truly one of our best vacations ever. Thank you to all of the staff who made every gesture and act with well trained and heartfelt customer service in mind. We highly recommend this resort and look forward to the opportunity to return! 

Room Tip: See comments above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sherilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Sherilyn W,

It is an honor to know about this great experience you have enjoyed.

Thank you for share the relaxing time you have spent from your room with a beautiful view. And also we are very honored to know that you have enjoyed a fun time with the entertainment staff.

We can´t wait to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Secrets Silversands is a wonderful resort! The food was delicious. The employees are friendly, professional and very helpful. They work tirelessly to keep the beach, resort and rooms clean. Housekeeping would come to our room 3 times each day. They would not only make sure our room was clean, but give us clean towels and make sure our fridge was stocked. The bed was huge! We've been to other resorts and the bed was two full size mattresses pushed together. The bed at this resort was a large king size bed and very comfortable. The only complaint I would have is the wireless network does not work very well in the rooms. So, if we wanted to use the network, we would have to go outside to the main area of the resort. I would recommend this resort to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Danielle O,

Thank you for your preference, it was a pleasure to have you home. And thank you for your review. All of our guests experiences are very imprtant for us as a feedback.

It is a pleasure to know that you have tasted and enjoyed the food selection.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. And thank you for recomend our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at SSS from the 18th - 25th. When we arrived we were automatically upgraded to a pool view room in building 2 on the 4th floor which was nice. We later found out they were at about 60-70% capacity so that was probably why but they did not try to "sell" it to us, just offered. We arrived about 10:30 am and our room was ready by about 12:30. We mentioned we were on our honeymoon (we did apple square deal so they were unaware) and they did put a banner up in the doorway. They did say a bottle of champagne and some other things "would be up soon" but they never showed up, not a big deal, we were not expecting anything.

Restaurants were good. Had very good meals almost every day. There were a few things we didn't like but that goes with trying some new things. We did find it strange that there was no buffet at night or anywhere to just grab a bite later at night besides room service. We also both had an uncomfortable stomach for two days, obviously something we ate and we did not leave the resort. Not bad enough to keep us out of commission but enough that you just didn't feel right or feel like eating much.

Beach is actually nice, just not the swimming. If you really enjoy swimming in the ocean and it is a deal breaker for you then do not go to SSS. Pools were very nice and you could hang at the more active main pool with the swim up bar, or, could still get good service from the waitresses at the side pools. Main pool heated which is nice. We stayed mostly by the main pool which was nice because you saw the same people almost every day. It's really easy to meet people at this resort, especially by the pool if that is your thing.

We did the bike tour into puerto Morelos. They offer it every other day but only for about 15 people so get there 15-20 minutes early. It lasted about 3 hours and was nice to get away for a few hours and get a little exercise. We also did the kitchen tour which was interesting.

The entertainment staff was really good and we enjoyed most of them, especially Alex. We did find Jay C to be quite rude and annoying. They had entertainment all day and could be as active as you wanted to be.

We stayed at the Valentin Imperial Maya a few years a go and they are really quite comparable in a lot of ways. I would say the room goes to SSS, food is pretty close (although we didn't get sick at VIM), pools are better at SSS because the main is heated, top shelf liquor at both, beach is much better at VIM. The biggest difference is size. VIM is really quite a bit bigger than SSS. I didn't find it too big, but SSS you can get anywhere in just a couple minutes. Not saying its better, just different.

Age range is all over from 30-60 so you will really feel comfortable no matter what. Some partying if you want but nothing over the top.

Over all we had a great time and it is nice resort.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
9  Thank Redwingswolverines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Redwingswolverines,

Thank you for your time to post a review and share this great experience.

We are overjoyed to know that you have enjoyed the entertainment staff service, we will let Alex and JayC know about their special mentions.
It is an honor to know that you have we have surprised you with the special room decoration.

We will be waiting for your next stay.
Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We enjoyed the week of March 16 to 23 at Silversands. We have stayed at other all inclusives, have cruised at rented condos at different at several hotspots. We enjoyed the adults-only aspect as we left kids at home and looked forward to a lazy vacation. We upgraded to an ocean view on the 4th floor and the view was incredible. I don't think you could go wrong with with a pool view though as we didn't spend much time in the room. Our room was one of the nicest we have ever seen including a very comfortable bed.

I was very impressed to discover they served Cafe Britt coffee - a high quality, delicious coffee. We also loved the flaming coffee cart in the evening. It was so much fun watching the girls make these complicated drinks. We were also satisfied with the drinks from the bar. I am not a big fan of the frozen blender drinks, but did enjoy many martini's and other top shelf cocktails. They pour a stiff drink, so I was always cautious with my order.

We enjoyed all of the restaurants. Personal favorites were Italian (try the ravioli with shrimp) and the French (mussels rockefellar). The Mexican was also great due to the awesome mariachi band. Those guys can sing! Also, breakfast was also wonderful. Thank you Karla for being so friendly and all servers. It was odd to us that the restaurants were often quiet as many guests opt for room service or partied and never seemed to eat. They missed out!

We were a little disappointed with the large groups that would take over the main pool area and swim up bar. This resort was a little wilder that we expected and certainly had a party atmosphere - probably due to spring break. We avoided the main pool mid-day as it would get a little rowdy. St Patrick's Day was well celebrated and we saw people passed out at the bar and staggering drunk. No green drinks for me! Certainly made for some great people watching this week!

The staff were truly amazing. We tipped often as they worked so hard to keep everyone satisfied. And it was hot! They work very long hours and were always friendly.

Another favorite was the Stargazing party on the beach. They had loungers arranged for everyone, towels to keep warm and champagne. The band was great and people were dancing by the bonfire. Not to be missed! Also loved the infinity pool. We would take a drink and sit at the end and enjoy the peace and quiet.

We had great weather, made some new friends and had many, many laughs. We would not hesitate to book another trip to SSS, or any Secrets resort.

Room Tip: Our 4th floor ocean view had a panoramic view of the pools and the ocean. Worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Karla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Karla R,

Thank you for your preference, it was an honor to have you home during your recent trip to this beautiful destination.

We are overjoyed to know that tou have enjoyed the food selection, specially at Bordeaux (French), Portofino (Italian) and El Patio (Mexican). Thank you for your kind comments about the staff service and for share your great experience at the Stargazing party on the beach.

We can´t wait to welcome you back soon.
Warm Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were very impressed with everything at Silversands. The service is unbelievable and the the food as well. Entertainment is very enjoyable every night and they give you things to do throughout the day. The organization of the resort is amazing, everyone is always willing to help. ALWAYS staff handy for any of your needs. This resort is highly recommended for all ages over 21. We had a lot of favourite people Jezer, Rango, Alex, Jorge, Tania, Jay C (Entertainment staff), Karla, Juan, Sergio (World Cafe), Ruben (Seaside). The shows, bands, and daily entertainment was a hit everyday. it keeps you busy if you are not willing to sit around. The pools are so clean and nice temperature. The drink selection and the bar staff are great! WE WILL BE BACK FOR SURE!!!

Room Tip: all the rooms are almost the same look. They are very up to date and clean. They supply you with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear DJ L,

We would like to thank you for your time to share your great experience you have enjoyed with the entertainment activities, night shows and staff. Thank you for your kind comments about the food selection.
It is an honor to know that we have surprised you with the friendly staff service.

We will be waiting for your next visit soon.
Kind Regards

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
1.5 mi away
Excellence Riviera Cancun
Excellence Riviera Cancun
#2 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
13,047 reviews
13 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
5.1 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
9,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
10,168 reviews
1.2 mi away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#5 of 28 in Puerto Morelos
7,730 reviews
0.7 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Address: Bahia de Petempich SM 12, Mz 31, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $283 - $717 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun is a chic, ultra modern all-suite adult-only unlimited-luxury resort featuring 433 suites, over 43,000 sq ft of pool areas and expansive manicured gardens, exceptional dining options, several bars ranging from elegant to swim-up. World class spa, a fitness center and two Jacuzzis ensure that guests are pampered and indulged. We are nestled on the coast of the Yucatan Peninsula, 15 miles south of Cancun and only twenty minutes from the Cancun International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing