We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe sometimes bigger IS better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

We have vacationed in the Riviera Maya four times now, always seeking out the smaller boutique resorts. (Zoetry, El Dorado Maroma, for example). For this reason we were a bit skeptical about Silversands and their 400+ suites (might seem intimate to some). We absolutely loved everything about it. Having upgraded to an ocean front room we got the private intimate connection to the Caribbean we prefer while enjoying the scope, design and multiple restaurant options of the larger grand resort. Having already enjoyed Secrets Capri earlier this winter, we were delighted to discover the same level of service from an immensely well trained, enthusiastic, attentive, doting staff! (We love you Aldo, Ana, Omar, Pamela, Vanessa, Hugo, Juan, Innocente, Avelino, Rubi, Cristhy, Tomas, Mercedes and oh so many others. ) The food was of the highest quality in every restaurant thanks to the AMAZING chef Jose!! Each meal better than the next. Having read about beach "issues" we were thrilled to find a wide, open beautiful white sand beach, immaculately maintained. We came armed with crocks for walking the rocky ocean floor and advise all who love swimming in the sea to do the same. Makes it completely accessible. The Secrets chain really knows how to make a vacation unforgettable and we can't wait to continue exploring their other properties as well as returning to see our newly made friends.
Most meaningful to us is the heart and soul of the beautiful Mexican people who so genuinely care about making ones' stay there a memory to treasure.
Til next time,
Nicholas and David

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholasloren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10,703)
There are newer reviews for Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,100 - 7,106 of 10,707 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here from February 28 through March 6th. It was a fantastic stay overall. The first two days were a bit chilly but that isnt the resorts fault. Here is a synopsis of our trip. We went with 6 other couples and everyone enjoyed their vacation whether that was lounging by the quiet pool, strolling on the beach, hanging out at one of the many bars or lounging by the main pool and enjoying the music and new friends.
The rooms: ours was a oceanfront mainfloor with a king bed. The room was one of the best i have had and i have travelled extensively in the caribbean. The bed was so comfortable i thought i was home!( and i have a 4000 dollar mattress at home. Lol) . The bathroom was amazing with huge tiled shower and separate jacuzzi. The room is huge. I asked for extra hangers so my clothes didnt end up looking like chewed carmels! No problem!!! Mini bar has cold Coronas and Bud light and pop is coke and diet coke and fanta orange in the glass bottles! Love it and of course water and juices too. Whatever u needed was no problem
Now we did have a little ant issue first day and they are very tiny ants but they used DDT( just kidding) and no problem after they sprayed and i didnt grow a third eye so it was all good. If its an issue move to higher floor. Didnt see one iguana on resort. Our room was perfect because i always had a lounger and they brought a fresh rolled up towel and put on our chair every morning. My husband hung out at the barefoot grill literally steps from our room which made going to the bathroom easy. And the view of the ocean was so peaceful i chose to lay outside my porch each day. It was quiet and was my idea of a great vacation.( others loved the pool for the social and the warmer pool temperatures)
The Food: the food in all the restaurants was a great selection and i am more of a no seafood gal. All the guys loved the many seafood options. I loved the japanese and if u tell them you dont like seafood they are great for example on the menu it says shrimp tempura but i like vegetables so they tempured some veges and they had shrimp eggrolls but i asked to be made with no shrimp amd no problem! The Ratatouille had great lamb according to the hubby and i loved the vege lasagna and the greek salad( i asked for no tuna slices on mine) i heard from many that the steaks were too tough but management should look into this as men love their steaks. The french restaurant had amazing onion soup and the creme brulee and chocolate souflee arent on the menu but we asked and voila! Totally incredible. The buffets were great loved quality and selection and i am picky !!!! The seaside grill had incedible chicken sandwich and seasoned fries! I asked for extra crispy bacon yumm. The room service was ridiculous how many great options that were available! More selection than the Iberostar grand paraiso!!!
The Staff: absolutley incedible!!!!!!!!!!!!! All the reviews people write are true and i challenge anyone who stays here to find one person on staff that wasnt completely wonderful. This is what makes the silversands a true gem. They knock themselves out trying to please you.
The Beach: ok its not Aruba but its not puerta plata dominican either! There is a nice stretch of sand for lounging and the water isnt totally smooth and clear but hey if you want that type of holiday calm waters are further south ( think aruba or turks n caicos) but if you can live with great pools then this is your place!
Tips """". Book your transfer ( if its not included) online with Best Transfers and you will save 30 dollars. A round trip cost me 70 and easy and effortless. Get my corner room 3130 and enjoy being close to everything and gorgeous views. I didnt bother with the coupons and think its just a ploy ..... Shame on you management!!! Just give great specials like you offer on the morning schedule like you did!!! I.e. spa specials posted daily
The "Booze": hmmm well i dont drink liquor but my husband and his friends are real connoisseurs so Bud light and Coronas, lots of high end liquor such as grey goose vodka and crown royal and pretty much anything you can think of. There are a couple of house wines i think one was a cabernet sauvignon by Antares. BUT....... I think management should rethink trying to upsell with all the other wines, they should be included as the Grand Paraiso has many high end wines included.
Overall its a great spot and you wont be disappointed and i would reccommed it highly but i love the iberostar hotel grand paraiso because the beach is nicer and the food better( higher end kobe beef filet mignon and lobster at lunch and dinner! I would like a buffet in the evening too . Sometimes you just dont feel alacarte. But for a good deal i would go back here.
Enjoy!!!
Ps omar the bellhop was such a great man and made us feel so welcome! Also by our quiet pool was monica and veronica and they were always near to make sure your drink was topped up!!!
And my husband thought Mario at barefoot grill was the best bartender and i should mention that Luiz that was the bbq king at the barefoot grill made fantastic hamburgers hotdogs and chicken burgers. They have soft serve ice cream too and it was great. I hope management gets luiz a deep fryer for some french fries the. You could have nachos and cheese or chili cheese fries. Just a suggestion.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3130 which is a main floor oceanfront with a quiet pool directly in front. We had...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lilkitten08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Lilkitten08,

What an amazing review, thank you for your time to share it with every detail you have enjoyed during your stay.

Thank you for you kind comments about the food selection and for share your prefered dishes as a suggestion to other travelers.

We are very honored to know that our staff have surprised you with their unique service, every staff member mentioned will receive your special thanks.

We will be waiting for your next visit.
Sunny Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was our first time to Mexico, and our first time in an "all inclusive" resort. Absolutely fantastic experience! The secrets resort chain takes pride in every aspect of their business, from the head chef Jose taking time to visit at pool side, Rango from the entertainment crew making sure every day that we had everything we needed, and Mercedes from the beach crew that tended to our every need. It was crazy. I was one of those folks nervous about Mexico, but after this experience would not hesitate to return with my daughter. You will not be disappointed. A great vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Druddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Druddell,

It was a pleasure to have hosted you during your recent visit to the Riviera Maya, thank you for your time to share your experience.

We are overjoyed to know that you have enjoyed the friendly staff service, specially from Jose, Rango and Mercedes.

We will be waiting for your return.
Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I wanted to go on a little relaxing getaway before our first baby arrives in May. My best friend, who is also pregnant, came with her husband as well. We obviously weren't able to drink, which we were disappointed about being an all-inclusive - but our hubbies took full advantage & made it worth it. They thought the drinks were great, not too weak and watered down. The 'Sexy Banana' was a favorite & the bar tenders made a fabulous virgin version. Mercedes was one of our favorite waitresses, very sweet & quick to keep our drinks full!
While there were limitations on what we could do, being pregnant, IE couldn't get a massage, no jungle tour etc.. There were lots of fun activities planned through out each of the days that we could do. They had everything from beach games, horse shoes, volley ball etc.to pool aerobics, Spanish lessons, dance classes, to 'juegos loco' Crazy Games that they'd make up and recruit everyone to join in. The winners of the games would win a prize presented at the end of the night at the 'big show event'.
The first night was "Idol" they had 6 people sing a song individually with a live band and then had judges. My friend and I somehow got talked into it - and we did it SOBER :) Danielle sang " I love this bar" and I sang "like a virgin" by Madonna. It was quite comical - we had a blast!! The 'Entertainment Crew' staff were AWESOME!! Jay C was particularly fun & energetic!! They got the crowd pumped up and kept everyone engaged and having a good time. While we didn't win first place, which was a 4 day 3 night stay at the resort, a woman who was a priest singing "pour some sugar on me" won, we still had an awesome time!!!
The staff was probably one of the best aspects of the resort! Everyone was SOO friendly and accommodating. You could ask for anything & they'd do their best to make it happen. They really made you feel welcome and helped create an atmosphere that made you feel at home, and also encouraged you to connect & befriend other guests. Dulce "Candy" was one of our favorite staff / friends, she was always happy & friendly, she remembered all of our names from day 1 and would make a point to stop and say Hi whenever she saw us to make sure we were having a good time.
The staff all seemed genuinely happy to work there. They were hard workers, but also were having fun & not only participated in all of the events but really got into it & got the other guests to join in & have fun too. Rango was our other favorite staff/ friend. He was so friendly and welcoming. He would always check on us to see how we were doing and by the end of the week we really felt like we had a new good friend. We were already talking about when we are going to go back & hope that all the same staff is there because we'd love to see them again. We were truly sad to leave.
The food was also really good! With all-inclusive, some resorts can be hit or miss, but this one did not disappoint. (We went to the new Hardrock Casino resort in the Dominican Republic - food was terrible, this is when we realized how important good food is on a trip). They had quite the variety at Secrets - from Italian to Mediterranean, one night they had a HUGE Mexican Fiesta buffet meal with authentic Mexican dishes and a Mariachi band, that food was awesome. They had a extensive breakfast buffet with lots of warm dishes, freshly baked bread and even a smoothie bar where you could pick your own ingredients. We LOVED it!!
The weather wasn't the best while we were there, apparently very unusual, it was quite windy and overcast the first few days- but there were so many things to do and was still warm enough to go in the pool, that it didn't really matter.
I could go on and on - we were just very impressed by the resort, our rooms (which were very modern and had a nice pool/ocean view) the STAFF, even the maid service and concierge were extremely friendly and welcoming. The logistics of everything went very smoothly. The only bad part was having to leave. We will definitely go back again!! And will suggest it to all of our friends!!
Muchas Gracias Secrets por una semana fabulosa y vacaciones de diversión. Esperamos verlos a todos de nuevo!!!! ~Amor~ Amanda & Sean

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Amanda O,

Thank you for your preference to have hosted you with this important celebration of babymoon, we are overjoyed to know that you have enjoyed the staff service, food selection and entertainment activities.

Every staff member which you have been in contact with you remembers you, and we´ll all be waiting for your next visit.

Sunny Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Our second visit to this resort was just as delightful as the first. Chef Jose Vallejo went out of his way to suggest and prepare outstanding special dishes for us....almost as if we had our own Private Chef!
Andrea at World Buffet was a bright little ray of sunshine each day, and Juan had to be the friendliest waiter.
Treat yourself to a Spa massage; Liz was absolutely amazing!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear David G,

Thank you for your time to share your review. It is an honor to know that you have enjoyed a personalized service from chef Jose, he is one of the best chefs we have and one of the favorites of our guests. Also Andrea and Juan will receive your special thanks.

We will be waiting for your return soon.
Warm Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Nice hotel with very good food. The weather was a bit cool so we lost two days where we had to find something else to do. Rooms were very clean, food was good (especially the lunch and breakfast buffet). The night time entertainment was hit or miss. It was either great or not so good. We have always enjoyed Mexico and this is the first time that we stayed at a Secrets resort. It was a good time and great value for the money.

Room Tip: Definitely pick an ocean front pool side room. It's well worth the extra $$$$$!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisandShiloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear ChrisandShiloh,

Thank you for your time to post a review to share your experience. It was a pleasure to have you home.

We are overjoyed to know that you have enjoyed the food selection, specially at the World Cafe for breakfast. We have 8 different specialties of restaurants to please every taste.

Thank you for your kind comments about the rooms.

We will follow up your comments about the entertainment shows, we have prepared a special schedule of them based on our guests opinions and suggestions.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This place was great! My first experience at an 'all inclusive' property. And it was wonderful. If you like seafood this is the place and nothing fishey about it! They also had steaks and such not to bad there either. And they had very nice options for snacks, salads and buffet too. the evening enteratinment was top notch, one night they had a small group from Cirque du Soleil - wonderful. One night they had movie outside with pop corn and other snacks and it was a beautiful night for star gazing and we were able to see a few meteors too!

We went the week before Christmas. The weather was not too bad but of course who can control that. The Excursion desk was most helpful and we went to Xhel-Ha water park. Just can't say enought good things about that experience! They also helped to get us a driver and a car for the day to Carmen del Playa. Good day for shopping and walking on the beach!

OK, back to the resort. The wine you had a nice selection of both red and white and of course the various brands of alcohol made for some very nice mixed drinks! You do not need to leave the property. Every evening a combo or a musical group played for a couple of housr so you could dance or just enjoy your drinks before dinner if you wanted.

The room was very clean and spacious. I would definitely go back again!

And the staff - very professional and accomodating! Always asking if you needed anything. We even had a spontanious private tour of the various dining rooms and 'special' dinning rooms. They have 2 smaller rooms for dining if you have a samll group and want to have 'special' service. We did have inner in one rom and was then serinaded by a wonderful Mexican band. Not your typical fiesta band but - and I am at a loss for words here - but truely wonderful mexican music.

Room Tip: Did not have much of a noise problem for sleeping. However in walking in the open corridors after 4...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 10sbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear 10sbabe,

We would like to thank you for your time to post a review and for your visit.

It is an honor to receive your kind comments about the food selection and the staff service. Thank you also for share your great time enjoying the night shows and entertainment activities.

We can´t wait to welcome you back soon.
Warm Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
17.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
9,630 reviews
1.2 mi away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#6 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
7,265 reviews
5.1 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
13.0 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
10.5 mi away
Valentin Imperial Maya
Valentin Imperial Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
11,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Address: Bahia de Petempich SM 12, Mz 31, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Green Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range: $243 - $650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun is a chic, ultra modern all-suite adult-only unlimited-luxury resort featuring 433 suites, over 43,000 sq ft of pool areas and expansive manicured gardens, exceptional dining options, several bars ranging from elegant to swim-up. World class spa, a fitness center and two Jacuzzis ensure that guests are pampered and indulged. We are nestled on the coast of the Yucatan Peninsula, 15 miles south of Cancun and only twenty minutes from the Cancun International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing