We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt like we were part of the family!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cochrane, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We felt like we were part of the family!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were on a 13 person family Christmas vacation. Although there were some room glitches when we arrived, the staff were very quick to accommodate us. The one thing Secrets Silversands has going for it is it's staff!!! Antonia and Andrea at the World Cafe treated us like family (that they loved having around). I actually can't say enough about each staff member we encountered. They all went out of their ways to make sure we were happy and well taken care of and made it seem like it was a pleasure to help us out.
The only downside to our stay was the beach (which the staff were constantly working on to clean) and the polluted water. I'm a fan of playing in the ocean and the floating garbage was a turn off.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Colleen H,

We would like to thank you for your preference, it was an honor to have you home. Thank you for your review.

It is a pleasure to know about the friendly service you have received from the staff, specially from Andrea and Antonia who made you feel part of the family.

We regret to know that our beach have not met your expectations, as you mentioned before, our staff is always monitoring and cleaning our beach to keep it clear of seaweed, this condition is caused because our proximity to the coral reef, this wonderful natural gift is the second largest one in the world and is a protected area, there you can experience the most incredible snorkel and diving experiences ever.

Looking forward to have you back home.

Warm regards

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,441
    2,096
    570
    184
    104
See reviews for
719
7,518
161
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our family had an amazing family Christmas at the secret silversands hotel. The staff was the nicest and most friendly we have encountered. In particular, Avelino the maitre d of the mediterranean resturant, Ratatouill, was so nice! He made us the BEST Bananas Foster we have ever had. It was quite the show!! Also, Andrea and Vanessa and Natalio from the World Cafe were so helpful and friendly!

We had a private dinner on the beach and we highly recommend doing this once in a lifetime experience! Roger was our private waiter and he was so wonderful! He took pictures of us and was so friendly and wonderful!

We HIGHLY recommend Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun! This is our favorite all inclusive, adults only resort we have been to!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katieandtrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear katieandtrish,

Thank you for your kind comments and for your time to share them with this review.

We are very honored to know that you have received a wonderful service from the staff, every staff member you have mentioned will receive your special thanks.
It´s a pleasure to know that you had the opportunity to experience the romantic experience of a private dinner on the beach.

We can´t wait to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We just returned from Silversands and we had a great time. The food was great, the servers, bartenders and entertainment staff were terrific. The Japanese restaurant was our favorite.

A couple recommendations to SSS, the website states Men can wear shorts to some restaurants for dinner, but the daily newsletter states Men are required to wear long pants at all restaurants for dinner. Front desk staff needs better training. We asked if we could use our vacation club tour 'dollars' for internet and cigars from the onsite store. We got multiple answers, but someone finally got a 'manager' and we were told we could use our vacation club 'dollars' for internet and cigars. Unfortunately, at checkout we were told that was not possible, when the attendant attempted to call a manager, he could not reach anyone so we had to wait about 10 minutes before he finally agreed to accept our 'dollars' for our purchases.

Don't waste your time with the vacation club tour, unless you want to spend $50K and spend a couple hours listening to the sales pitch. The 'tour' was supposed to last 90 minutes, but the entire process took 3 hours (including travel to Maroma Beach and back). We got a $120 to use at the resort for attending the tour, but trying to figure out where you could use this money was difficult, too many restrictions.
This was our second stay at SSS, we might try Maroma Beach next time. It is beautiful!

Room Tip: Preferred club rooms have the best views. We were in building 5 and it was very quiet, swim out roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mjorda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear mjorda,

Thank you for your recent visit and for your time to post a review.

We are overjoyed to know that you have experienced a great service provided by the waiters, bartenders and entertainment staff.

We apologize for the missunderstanding caused by the resort coupons usage, we will follow up this situation to correct it immediately. Also our guests receive a letter with the credits politic usage at the moment they receive them at the vip desk.

We invite you to visit us again and please be certain that we will do our best to make you have a truly remarkable experience when you honor us again with your visit.

Looking forward to have you back home.
Warm regards

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Spent December 20-26th, 2012 at SSS with family. 3rd visit to Cancun but 1st to SSS. After a busy year, we all needed some serious down-time and SSS delivered. We arrived around mid morning and were greeted with champagne and a quick check-in. The rooms were not yet quite available, that early, but we were offered a changing room, to get into swimsuits and casual attire. A quick stop at the beautiful lobby bar for some drinks and our vacation started.

Overall impressions are, a very nice property, well maintained, and overall excellent staff. Rooms large, clean, quiet, and comfortable. (Building 4) We stayed at Excellence Isla Mujeres 2 years ago and while that resorts facilities may have been even nicer than SSS, we all felt the food was better at SSS and the entertainment staff was the best thing about being at Silver Sands. (Especially Jorge and Rango, who worked tirelessly every day to make sure everyone who wanted to participate was having a good time.) The bar and wait staff were very friendly and attentive too and a fresh drink (premium brands) or a snack were never very far away.

We tried just about every restaurant at SSS. Breakfast at the World Cafe was always a good place to start the day. Lunch was usually out by the pool (from the walk-up grill), which was our choice, but the indoor buffet area had all different kinds of choices. The dinner restaurants served up some good to great entrees. The best were the Salmon or Mahi dishes, as well as the Duck Osso Buco.

Overall, our experience was much the same as "WI Travel Addicts" and "Emilie728's" reviews here. For the most part, very positive, especially once you just decide to sit back and enjoy this great resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TampaWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear TampaWanderer,

It is a pleasure to know that we have exceeded your expectations in your third visit to the Riviera Maya, thank you for your preference of having choosen us this time.

We are overjoyed to know that you have enjoyed the staff service, specially from Jorge and Rango. Thank you for your kind comments about the rooms and the food selection.

We will be waiting for your return.
Sunny Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Wife and I have traveled all over the Wold on 5 plus star hotels , this is a bit over the biting tracks and not near to any villages to do some shopping but half hour drive to cancun or playa del carmen , very modern and slick lobby with some shops , free 15 min wi-fi main pool heated and plenty of loud American but with plenty of others pools to relax , the buffet restaurant have dual use at lunch and at night . a massive choice and variety of food to suit any one taste . There's are 4 more restaurant which in turn close one day o so a week , bar staff waiter s will do any thing for you just remember to tip a little , there rooms are big and long with very big beds , we choice a pool view and we had a complimentary up grade to an ocean view due to and free net , due to a a accidental cased by the restaurants food , there is a decent gym and spa but you have to pay to use it ? We were there in December for 2 week there is 2 main bar at night and no reservation needed to go to any of the restaurant . Food in restaurant , first thing bring with you a torch as restaurant are far to romantic and choose the house wine witch is drinkable as wine is far to
expensive . The beach is ok and not to crowded but see not so good to swim , there are pathetic people's witch the get up at 5/6 am to reserve seat by the pool and beach with the crap they bring with them from they past Holliday , at the end of the beach , half mile down there is a nudist spot if you fancy :)
Top man chef is French and sous chef Mexican witch he a worked very hard to keep me and vegetarian wife happy . The best thing witch I found is the floor staff , especially little Juan in the morning for breky .and the bar man in the morning with a funny name Ixixi .
Will I go back ... yes but I do hope they improve on Italian food and espresso and night entertainment

Room Tip: A must go and stay for a night in playa del carmen to shop Bring torch with you and mosquito repel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scouzewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streamwood, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I spent 12 Days at SSS Dec 2012 to Jan 2013. We found the staff to be friendly and accomodating. We especially enjoyed the work of the entertainment staff Rango and Jeorge. The excersions were very good and we felt safe at all times. Other posters have commented on the condition of the beach and it is true that the beach at the sss is punctuated by large coral rocks with a small walk north one could enjoy a more swimable beach.
Food and service at all the restaurants was excellent. We would have liked to have had access to a wifi hotspot.

Room Tip: Don't go to the expense of the prefirred club. Swim out suite was great, easy in and out. Buffet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Thomas T,

It is an honor to know about the great experience that you have enjoyed during your recent visit. Thank you for your time to post a review.

We are overjoyed to know that you have enjoyed the staff service, specially from Jorge and Rango from entertainment. Thank you for your kind comments about the food selection.

We will be waiting for your next visit.
Sunny Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The resort looks nice with many pools and good food. However, let us breakdown the pros and cons for you and you can decide to gamble on it or not.

Pros:

- Food overall was very good as we compare it to other all inclusives in the area. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast (the bowtie donuts were excellent), and lunch at the pool bar was good except for the annoying birds, so we ate at the lunch restaurant after a couple of days. There are several choices for dinner, and we enjoyed the room service options delivered in room (not using the box) in about 30 mins. Read the menus carefully before selecting where to eat. Drinks were very good as well.
NOTE: If you're a fan of ice cream, make sure you try the great flavors they offer. Ask the waiter for flavors because they're not always listed on the menu. It was the best ice cream I've ever had!

- Main pool was warm and we enjoyed the swim up bar. You can see the ocean from the main pool, but it was not infinity. They have several floats you can use in the pool. The drink service at the pool was very good as well.

- Bed was very comfortable and we slept very well on this vacation.

Cons:

-Smell was absolutely horrible and especially when the wind would blow. Worst around the buildings in the back 4,5,&6. Walking to dinner was sometimes ruined by the smell.

-Beach was nonexistent. We are not beach people, but we like to walk on the beach at least once a day. We could not enjoy our daily beachwalk. The water looked dirty and there were big ugly moldy lumps in the water near the shore in addition to the usual rock hazards. Tons of birds would sit on the lumps and poop on them (see pictures).

-Service was inconsistent at best. We were ignored at check in and then forgotten about for at least 30 mins. I had to get up and remind them we were waiting. Then, suddenly we could check in. The bar tenders acted as if you were bothering them with drink requests, and one time we were refused a bottled of water because he was cleaning up to close the bar. The waiters at dinner were hit or miss and usually pretty slow most of the time even though the restaurants were never full. The concierge always seemed annoyed to answer any questions. We had some correspondence by email before we left and she didn't provide anything helpful and ignored our room request. She also ignored the fact we arrived on my birthday and we celebrated our anniversary during the week. They didn't care at all about either of the important dates.

-The several pools, other than the main pool, were freezing and unusable. No one ever enjoyed those pools, so they were wasted. We were so disappointed that we could not enjoy the beautiful infinity pool.

-The sports bar disappointed us because you can only see two games on the multiple TVs. We had to track down the manager to see a game. The service was horrible, and very slow. It could have been a lot better if managed better. The snacks were nice the first time, but the second time the sandwiches were inedible. The women's bathroom was awful. Even though it looked nice and automatic, it was not functional. The door would not close well or lock, the toliet didn't flush (even manually), and the sink sprayed water all over my shirt since it is automatic and you can't control the water flow that is on full force.

-The room was spacious, but showing its age. The shower had lots of mold, and there were some rusty spots on the furniture. We also expected a chaise lounge sofa from TA pictures, and we only had a very small love seat that was not comfortable to sit on. The DVD player would not play US dvds, so we had to borrow the ones from the concierge desk.

-SMOKER's paradise. This was a big disappointment for us. The veranda bar was outside and had a band playing at night. We tried to enjoy listening by sitting as far away from the smokers as possible. The set up of the furniture does not allow you to get away from the smoke. So, if you smoke you'll love it but if not then you'll probably hate it as we did.

-Nightly entertainment was horrible as well. We attended several shows and tried to enjoy it. The only one we enjoyed was the fire show, which we were lucky to see both Sundays we were there. Most of the other show were like being in a strip club without the stripping. It was filthy and disgusting to me. The women wore next to nothing and thought I'd like to see their butts hanging out of their costumes. It was not classy or tasteful at all as you'd expect in a resort of this caliber.

Needless to say, we made the most of our trip but we will definitely NOT return to this resort. If you cannot change your plans, I hope this review has offered insight as what you can expect.

Room Tip: Don't get a room in bldg 5 or 6, smells horrible and balcony cannot be used at all. Even part of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank julieinatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear julieinatl,

We would like to thank you for your time to post a review with your stay experience. Your feedback is very important for us in order to identify our opportunity areas.

We are overjoyed to know that you have enjoyed the food selection and your time spend at the main pool.

We regret to know that our beach have not met your expectations, our staff is always monitoring and cleaning our beach to keep it clear of seaweed, this condition is caused because our proximity to the coral reef, this wonderful natural gift is the second largest one in the world and is a protected area, there you can experience the most incredible snorkel and diving experiences ever.

We apologize if we had not met your expectations in all aspects; we appreciate you have taken the time so share your remarks through this mean since we considered this as feedback and be certain that our Department Head are currently reviewing the areas that you had kindly pointed out for us. We are always looking for possibilities to improve our service levels and product to offer memorable experiences to our guests.

We invite you to visit us again and please be certain that we will do our best to make you have a truly remarkable experience when you honor us again with your visit.

Looking forward to have you back home.

Warm regards

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
5.1 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
8,638 reviews
17.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#38 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
9,399 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
#6 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
7,003 reviews
13.0 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
6.8 mi away
Moon Palace Cancun
Moon Palace Cancun
#22 of 175 in Cancun
21,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Address: Bahia de Petempich SM 12, Mz 31, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun is a chic, ultra modern all-suite adult-only unlimited-luxury resort featuring 433 suites, over 43,000 sq ft of pool areas and expansive manicured gardens, exceptional dining options, several bars ranging from elegant to swim-up. World class spa, a fitness center and two Jacuzzis ensure that guests are pampered and indulged. We are nestled on the coast of the Yucatan Peninsula, 15 miles south of Cancun and only twenty minutes from the Cancun International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing