We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Truly Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

October 4th -13th. We just returned from 9 glorious days at Secrets Silversands, this was also our 4th time to visit there. The ride from the airport is about 15 minutes, then you are greeted at the lobby with cool towels and a cold drink!
Check in is very quick and soon you will open the door to your suite and be amazed at how big the room is and how very bright and clean. We were in building 3. The beds are heaven to fall asleep in every evening.
There are many pools surrounding the resort, the main pool has activities from water aerobics to pool volleyball. The staff that work around the pool to provide you with drinks are very hard workers and always so eager to please you, please remember to give them a tip, it is greatly appreciated.
The restaurants are gorgeous and NO RESERVATIONS required except, for the Japanese hibachi table, then you must have a reservation as there are two hibachi tables. The food in all the restaurants is absolutely delicious, I really can't pick one over the other they all have their specialties.
Every evening there is some kind of entertainment in the theater or at the veranda bar, it is fun and relaxing. The entertainment staff is the best, these folks are always trying to make your vacation fun! They run all the activities and have so much fun doing it, they will learn your names very quickly.
If you have any specific questions please feel free to email me as I do love talking about the Silversands. I miss my family there and will see them again in February:)
Adios!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a great view and there are elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalane1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,133
    1,975
    532
    176
    98
See reviews for
660
7,173
153
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,988)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

WestJet Vacations and Through Bestday.
-Very close to the Cancun Airport
-Adults Only
-Jr Suites are fantastic - Two person tubs - High flow showers - Double bowl sinks - comfortable beds
- Fantastic food - No reservations for dinner (except for special seats @ oriental) - Breakfast buffet was excellent - Good lunch buffet & restaraunts
- Pool was very nice - Great pool bar - Lots of seating around pool both shaded and non - Large hot tub
- Many, Many bars and waiters/waitresses
- Beach Meh.... Needs a lot of work, but with everything else, who cares!
- Some bad smells near 4000 block, but only seemed to be late at night.
- Entertainment could be way better. Actually walked out of the one show Peter Panic.
- Decor was very modern, very eye appealing.
WOULD DEFINATELY GO BACK!

Room Tip: Swimout Rooms are very nice, but we hardly used the patio to pool option. We were auto upgraded upo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnsbiRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

Stayed at SSS for 7 nights at the end of September early October. It was our honeymoon and we travelled from Ireland - a very long flight. On arrival check in was swift and shown to our room quickly, the porter was very friendly and efficient.

On arrival at our room, the aircon wasnt on and it was sweltering in the room, we didnt sleep at all the first night. The toilet was constantly blooked daily and we had to call maintenance, the balcony door wouldnt lock and when it was fixed it then wouldnt open, eventually on day four it was fixed but it was a waste of time as cleaning staff never locked the door after cleaning our room. They forgot on two days to clean our room and no towels were left. Aircon when working was not great at all, and on at least three occassions everyday the electricity was tripped to turn everything off in the rooms including aircon and fan.

Our room overlooked the building next door (another hotel) and there was constant children running up and down corridors early in the morning, we were in building four.

Food in the restaurants was awful, everything was pickled in salt and the wait staff were constantly being watched by management which gave a most uncomfortable environment.

The resort is very isolated in the middle of the jungle with a beach to the back of it, which was awful and adjacent was a sewage plant. There was electric gates at the entrance of the hotel which made it like fort knox. We got a taxi in to Playa del Carmen one day which cost US$80, we had to do this to keep our sanity.

If you are travelling from Europe to this resort, keep your money and book a five star in Spain, which would be better value and less time flying, better food and no so isolated.

On the up side, the wait staff and bar staff here are very pleasant and cant do enough for you, rooms are spacious and beds very comfortable (if only it wasnt so hot in the rooms).

Certainly would not return to this hotel and it has also put me off every returning to Mexico!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Bridie H,

We appreciate your feedback as it provides us with information that is helpful in identifying those areas of opportunity we may be overlooking. We regret to know that you have not enjoyed your honeymoon gateway fully due to lack of service in the areas mentioned. We apologize if the usual levels of high standards from our resort and company were not met at that instance. We have taken note of all your comments and our Department Heads will implement corrective measures to ensure that this situations will not be repeated in the future.

In other hand we are glad to know that you have enjoyed the friendliness and service from our staff members, the check in process and suites.

We hope we can have the opportunity to host you again in the future so we can offer you the high level of service that characterizes our resort and AmResort properties and may your next stay meets your expectations.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any more comments on your stay or contact me when you are planning to return to our resort, we will be happy to host you.

Warm regards,

Zuko Garcia
Social Media Coordinator/E-Concierge
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

After a quick ride from the airport we arrived! The main building decor was open and inviting! The staff got us to our room without hesitation. Our room was great! We had poolside room, building 3, second floor! Beautiful view of the pool but bonus view of the ocean. Rooms were very clean, bed was very comfortable.
The food at all of the resturants was very good. Dont expect large portions. You are provided w wine list that costs extra but the house wines are just as good and are included.
The entertainment staff kept us going from day to night. They put in great nightly shows. I will say they work very hard at what they do and are very good at it!
The beach is nice but dont plan on getting into the ocean without water shoes. Lots of coral in that area. The pool definitely got its use while we were there.
No complaints about this resort! Met a great group of people that liked to have fun. Will say this is not a grandparent type resort. I would definitely consider returning!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ontherun101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Sept30 - Oct7

Let me first say that I love this resort, 2nd time there. The staff are extremely nice, the room are clean, air conditioning works great, beds are very comfortable, food is delicious, always lots of pool chairs available,

Some issues that I must point out though.

There is a very bad sewage smell that is evident in the complex. My wife and I first noticed it the 4000 series rooms, then closer to the main center and on the beach. This puzzled me since I could not figure out were the odour was coming from, but it was nauseously bad.

The resort is really doing their best to make the beach better however the sand still contains sharp coral and in the ocean as well. I really don't know how their going to combat mother nature, but they are definately trying. Make sure you have water shoes if you go into the water.

There are a limited amount of pool floaters to be shared by the guests, however it seems that some selfish guests take them out of the pool, keep them all day for themselves beside their chairs while the other guests must do without. Shame on the 4 senior americian ladies that were the worst offenders. I highly recommend the pool staff take care of this problem as it aggravates the guests tremendously.

I really hate having to give this resort a lower rating because our first stay was so nice there, but I feel obligated to tell the truth.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsbsmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reeds Spring, Missouri
Level Contributor
129 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Bad stuff:
The Transfers
Apple should be ashamed of their transfer process to and from the airport. Though the website said it was a nonstop transfer to SSS, it did not say you had to sit on the bus waiting for the idiot travelers who shop in the airport duty free shop for an hour before getting on the bus. On the transfer from SSS to the airport was just as ridiculous. The bus was not big enough for the passengers nor the luggage. The Apple rep and driver spent 25 minutes trying to cram golf bags and luggage into the little bus, finally loading into the cab and passenger area. Apple, get a clue, your CEO would have had your jobs if he/she saw this.

The Check-in
On arrival to SSS, Preferred means nothing. SSS prefers you sit in lobby while everyone else goes to their room. Preferred sits there with no drinks, no cold towel...nothing. After everyone clears out and they see you sitting all alone then they take you to the painfully long check-in process in the Preferred Lounge, truly a joke. SSS's GM needs to hang out the lobby and see how his process fails.

The Bait and Switch:
The day after our arrival a rep from the VIP desk called and said I did not fille out all the required information. Gosh, how much more info did they need on me after a 45 minute check-in process? We went to the VIP desk and was given what turned out to be a shady push to tour another resort that would end with a time share pitch. All the way to the resort the Apple rep said avoid at all cost the the time share sales people but once you get to the resort Apple trys to slip-shod you into a time share? SSS and Apple should be ashamed of themselves. I feel sorry for the youngsters who fall for this. I booked a vacation, not a time-share visit. That is very low and Apple and SSS have bent lower.

Resort credits:
A joke. We got $400 in resort credits. We used the allowed credit at the spa and the price was reduced to $198. The special of the week was $194. When I brought that to their attention they charged me the higher price anyway. I was going to try to use credits on a bottle of wine but the wine in priced six times the retail price I pay in the States.

House wine:
SSS only has one has wine brand they use and it is horrible. Intentionally bad so they can push to the overpriced wine list.

Food:
Don't expect any lobster, prawn, shellfish, crab of any kind. SSS falls very short in the seafood category. Their idea of seafood is salmon and small shrimp fixed 6 different ways.

Portofino Restaurant:
Billed as their Italian restaurant it missed the mark big time in food and service. The menu was an eye test not a menu. It was red paper with black writing. The food list made no difference anyway, it wasn't even close to any quality Italian food. Portifino and the other restaurants are so dark the waiters and some customers carry flashlights so you can read the bill of fare.

Beach is bad but I have to say SSS tries very hard to keep it clean and beach reclammation is underway.

Night entertainment was very ameteur to non entertaining.

Good to Great stuff:
Bartenders and servers were excellent. Jorge was awesome in the lobby bar. Axel and Javier at the pool bar. Faustina who took great care of our room. Roger and "Give me some more bread" Jimmy did well at Oceana.

The Bordeaux restaurant was very good, as well as the World Market for lunch and breakfast.

Rooms were large, laid out well and the room staff did very good.

Pools were awesome and the drink service was fantastic. The resort grounds are immaculatey groomed.

Aside from Apple's shortfalls, the bait and switch and lack of seafood, SSS is not a bad place to stay at...not great but not bad.

Room Tip: Go beachfront but don't expect "preferred service" because it doesn't exist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STLCarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

The resort is fantastic. From A to Z. There is nothing not too like, very friendly staff. The only downfall, not controlled by the resort is the beach that has many rocks and seaweeds. All in all, I would definitely recommend it it to anyone and go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Morelos
17.1 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#34 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,947 reviews
13.0 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
5.1 mi away
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
#9 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
11.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Address: Bahia de Petempich SM 12, Mz 31, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun is a chic, ultra modern all-suite adult-only unlimited-luxury resort featuring 433 suites, over 43,000 sq ft of pool areas and expansive manicured gardens, exceptional dining options, several bars ranging from elegant to swim-up. World class spa, a fitness center and two Jacuzzis ensure that guests are pampered and indulged. We are nestled on the coast of the Yucatan Peninsula, 15 miles south of Cancun and only twenty minutes from the Cancun International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing