We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot for just hanging” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Cafe D'Amancia

Le Cafe D'Amancia
Ranked #39 of 137 Restaurants in Puerto Morelos
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Burns Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for just hanging”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Service is great.
Coffees and cakes are amazing. Situated right on edgevofctown square with views over the caribean. I love having my morning coffee , people watch and relax.
This little cafe has been around for approx ten years which is a testament to its popularity.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Quinten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    16
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
529 reviews
421 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“They set a record from grumpy servers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nicely locate on the corner of the main square in Puerto Morelos, with some outdoor tables. They serve good juices and croissants, coffee is not good at all (the coffee of the place a few meters away is way better). The servers are as sulky as one can imagine, very often they just ignore you until you insist to be served. Often they do not listen carefully when you place the order and you get the wrong stuff. It seems they would prefer to be somewhere else.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YouBeeTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great coffee,great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Right on the corner of the central square, this is a great location and you can strike up a conversation and make new friends. Everything we tried was very good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank only works to travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Staple of Puerto Morelos In el Centro with Best View of the Action”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Its hard to go to Puerto Morelos and miss this cafe - not that I knew the name
Yet its location and presence are obvious
Its at the start of the mall - by the main street - the mall being the other side of the square from the other mall with the money changer and largest grocery store in town.
Also the cafe is opposite the center-point of the Puerto Morelos - its church.
Lots of tourists are drinking the assorted coffees - you can get high end or regular "cafe American"
Pasty seems to be served as well -i cannot vouch for it - yet i heard no complaints.
As I said its a hard place to miss , and not sit down and enjoy the sites and climate
The other interesting thing is the assorted regulars - they seem like hippy types of the 60s that came early on and never left.
You will hear no shortage of "I am going to live with my own solar energy soon etc " yet the funny thing is that these types all come to use the power for their laptops and the freely provided wifi internet
If the internet ( wireless) from Amancia's cafe goes down you can always sit outside and catch the free municipal wireless internet drifting in from the square
After all its Mexico and you have to expect these types of inconveniences and work a rounds.
Service seems to be mainly in Spanish with English understood -you are ordering coffee so to speak and can point to pasty or the menu which is easily understandable in Spanish & English
One last funny point of note.
I kept seeing woman looking at what i thought were some high end protective case for their precious iTablets.
It turns out that these are the menus in a picture frame.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FrankDowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“My 1st Stop Every Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I've been to PM 5 times and, since Amancia opened her café/coffeeshop, I have become a devoted regular when in town. Why? Because there is no better way to transition into the local culture and pace of this wonderful small town, which is successfully holding its own against corporate greed and blight. From one of the comfortable bench seats or an antique wrought iron table at this crossroads location, you can enjoy your favorite espresso-based drink with a delicate, flaky fresh-baked croissant and learn so much. Just settle in, sip, munch, look and listen. If you take the time, you will sense the warmth and the humor that pervades common conversation, even if you don't know Spanish. You'll observe the slower gait and unhurried pace of those who live and visit here. You can gaze at the beautiful, intimate church on the opposite corner and see locals reverentially come and go paying their respects. Across the street is the small plaza or zócalo that serves the town as park, recreation center, art and craft gallery, playground, bus/taxi stop, and community hall. Check out the kind of people you see filling the space, how they use it. 30 quiet minutes spent here will orient you to this new place and its different way of life. If you do so, you'll feel grounded and acclimated more quickly allowing your real Mexícan holiday to unfold fully and easily. You came here for a reason and this is it.
.
Ambiance aside, I like the people who work here. Amancia is fun-loving, warm and generous with her sense of humor and a flirtatious wink. Maricela and Maricarmen are attentive and helpful and, importantly, forgiving of my poor Spanish. Laugh it off, smile, and they return it in spades. Enough English is spoken between everyone here to make it easy. If that seems too difficult, no worries, the menu is two-sided with one in Spanish, one in English; so just point. :)
.
I just returned from a 10 day visit in PM and I started 8 of those mornings with a beach walk to this friendly spot. I have my favorites so I can tell you that their latte, espresso, regular coffee are robust and perfect for me. The croissants and biscuits are buttery-rich and flaky and taste heavenly with cream cheese and fresh jam. The bagel and lox was adequate, just not up to northeast US city standards that are my measure. I'm okay with that. My staple, however, is their yogurt and granola over the day's fresh fruit from the local farm market. Healthy, filling, inexpensive, and good for my intestinal tract, it has become my regular breakfast when I travel and, I believe, has reduced "turista" digestive problems dramatically. I have this café to thank for turning me on to this simple smart choice.
.
Free wi-fi is available -- ask them for the password or use the slower public service freely broadcast in the area. Lingering is acceptable, but be mindful of busy periods when other patrons may need seating. Concerns have been expressed by other reviewers about ex-pat men hanging out here. Yes, sometimes it is true. It is a gathering place just like at home and, like me as a visitor, we come and we go. Having just spent hours sitting in a seat with full view of the café during the Christmas holiday, I can share that I never witnessed nor heard of any threatening or inappropriate behavior towards women, men, or children. Rest easy. Puerto Morelos is a family community and safer than your average American town or corporate resort. Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cafe D'Amancia also viewed

Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Le Cafe D'Amancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing