We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute Pirate Cove dining...”
Review of El Pirata

El Pirata
Ranked #18 of 137 Restaurants in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Bar, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant El Pirata se encuentra a tan solo 100 mts del parque principal de Puerto Morelos, Quintana Roo. Cuenta con un menu altamente variado el cual comprende de: Parrilla Argentina, Pastas, Mariscos, Comida Mexicana, Desayunos, Comida y Cena. Sus especialidades son: La parrilla Argentina, La sopa de mariscos, camarones mariposa al mojo de ajo, entre otros. Ambiente relajado, comida exquisita y musica agradable.
Fiji
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cute Pirate Cove dining...”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Last night friends and my husband and I dined at this newly built/re-located restaurant. The menu selections were many, and wine choices were very nice. The live music was charming, with a soft Spanish guitar and singing to accompany our meal. The roast chicken I had was nicely prepared and moist, served on a wood board with a side of salad and crispy french fries. The prices were moderate, and the atmosphere was nice. The chef that cooked at the outdoor grill did an amazing job!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaivalagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    72
    18
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Breakfast and dinner”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a delicious meal at El Piratta last year and decided to give it another try this year. We stopped in for a wonderful breakfast. Our waiter was the same as last year. He's hilarious and an asset to the restaurant. We passed by the restaurant multiple times at dinner and were amazed at how many people were always there. Couldn't miss the opportunity so we stopped in for a most delicious steak dinner. Prices were reasonable and the steaks were perfect. Don't miss this one.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jckwixom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Huge improvement in space, atmosphere & menu selections”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We selected this enlarged & relocated restaurant, now on the boulevard a block from the town square) last week with a friend and could not resist the items sizzling on the open grill. I ordered the grilled chicken, which was served with french fries and salad on a wood platter...more than enough for one and a take-home container. The chicken breast was fileted, very gently grilled and flavored. My husband tried the "not spicy" enchiladas, which he liked after he discarded the very spicy sauce on top. (This was probably a communication error between his limited Spanish and our French waitress.) The setting is much more upscale and larger than the previous location on the square, with a very good restroom (sometimes a neglected item at local eateries). The prices are still modest in spite of the great improvements. Congratulations, Azucena, on a wise business improvement and continued contribution to our town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beachgal1036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Awesome, recommend for large family dinner!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We took our extended family to El Pirata on March 12, 2013, a group of 12, including teenagers and an infant. We could not have had a better time! The food and service was awesome, with dinners ranging from fajitas to grilled steaks, everyone was satisfied. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone travelling to Puerto Morelos, particularly a large group. (Tip: we made reservations in advance.)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petedriscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our 4th time to Puerto Morelos. Really good quality and tasting food. Went twice for dinners and the place was packed with people waiting. A good sign for sure. Our dinners were: Filet mignon ($18) New york ($17) chicken fajitas and arrachera (steak). Not one issue with anything and the service was outstanding. End of one meal, I had taken the straw from my drink and very quickly used it like a toothpick. The Chef noticed and had the waitress come over with a toothpick dispenser, great service. Never felt rushed even with the people waiting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GML-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pirata also viewed

Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Pirata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing