We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty and Decently Priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Pirata

El Pirata
Ranked #18 of 137 Restaurants in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Bar, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant El Pirata se encuentra a tan solo 100 mts del parque principal de Puerto Morelos, Quintana Roo. Cuenta con un menu altamente variado el cual comprende de: Parrilla Argentina, Pastas, Mariscos, Comida Mexicana, Desayunos, Comida y Cena. Sus especialidades son: La parrilla Argentina, La sopa de mariscos, camarones mariposa al mojo de ajo, entre otros. Ambiente relajado, comida exquisita y musica agradable.
Bowie, MD
Level Contributor
68 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Tasty and Decently Priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Went to El Pirata (The Pirate) after spending the day at the beach in Puerto Morelos. We discovered the place after speaking with some ex-pats who highly recommended it. It's right on the main square. It's small, a little tight with the seating, but great food cooked to order so it came to the table HOT! The fish was SO nice and fresh! Reasonable prices and a nice way to end the day in Puerto Morelos.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vjdantone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    70
    16
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“it's really gone downhill.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

We used to go there years ago and it was good then, but never ever again. Fried fish tacos...OK. Chicken enchiladas...OK. My grilled fish with garlic--hideous. How can they butcher fish like that in a fishing town? Thin, half cooked, limp with oil. Inedible. Then the waitress tried to charge me for it, saying her boss would charge her if she didn't collect the money. I said I'd write him a note. No no no. I politely told her then that wasn't my problem. Then I noticed that in addition to the 100 pesos for the bad fish. she wrote a total that was 20 pesos more than the amount she'd added up on the adding machine. Huh? I had to ask her to retotal the bill yet again. The whole thing left a bad taste in my mouth (literally and figuratively) and this is my last night in PM. Totally bummed by the entire experience.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bevvy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food - simple and tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Whenever we go to Cancun we make a point of stopping at the El Pirata either for breakfast or for lunch. The food is delish, the ambience simpke and inviting, and the prices are most reasonable. If you ask, they will make you a fresh, sauteed huachinango, which is red-snapper in a garlic sauce.

The free wifi is a bonus.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SenorCancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Lunch Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

So Cool.. right on the street, very rustic, local, and authentic. Freshly caught local fish, cold beer. The owner was fantastic. Bathroom is around the corner and down the street.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Smalldeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lulea, Sweden
Level Contributor
83 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wow, you get loads of food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

We loved it, loads and loads of food. Even had the raw marinated fish and everyone stayed well afterwards. fresh and really nice tasting. All food was lovely!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank fridaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pirata also viewed

Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Pirata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing