We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Colchester
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eight Ash Green
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night. It was easily accessed off the A12. The staff were very attentive, and we were offered a complimentary glass of wine on arrival. The room was clean and spacious with a very comfortable bed. I rarely sleep well when not in my own bed, but I did here. The tea and coffee making facilities were good, with complimentary biscuits. We made use of the small gym and swimming pool. Overall, a relaxing stay. We also got a good deal through Late Rooms, so even better value!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiggyBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (905)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 905 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed for a second time at Holiday Inn,Colchester. Staff go out of their way for the guests. We had our usual executive room with lovely bath and a nice view of flowers, grassland. There was a wedding there which made it a bit awkward for us to go in and out but food fantastic. my only complaint was that 3 cups of tea in the bar cost nearly £11. We were shocked but they gave us some biscuits as well. Next time we will make tea in the room!!! Breakfast caters for all and waitresses will do anything to accommodate you. Will visit again as its a lovely hotel. Swimming pool and gym free so it's a great place to stay if you are visiting the zoo or anything in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a great hotel. Good location minutes off of the A12 and importantly for me very quiet and reasonably priced. This is a well established hotel the rooms are standard but adequate and it also has a decent pool and gym. The restaurant has a varied menu and the quality and presentation of the food better than many. However the thing that makes this hotel special is the staff. I have never been to a hotel where you get a better welcome. Also the service and attention you get from every member of staff that you meet is excellent. I have stayed here many times and this is not a one off it happens on a consistent basis.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDFarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was very surprised to find this hotel was so good.
All the staff were friendly and courteous, from the reception to the dining room staff.
To receive a glass of wine on your arrival was a first and much appreciated.
The rooms had everything you would want in there, iron, safe, hairdryer, kettle, was very
impressed. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had an executive room on the ground floor which was nice and close to the reception, bar and din...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I spent two nights at the hotel while playing in a croquet tournament in Colchester. Conveniently located just off the A12 (but well away from traffic noise). The room was larger than average, pleasantly furnished (albeit in a "standard" manner) and spotlessly clean. I had a good workout in the well-equipped hotel gym - there is also a small heated swimming pool. The complimentary glass of wine on arrival is a nice touch. Staff all pleasant and helpful. I didn't try the restaurant as I was being fed elsewhere during my stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I travel regularly for business and I am not usually so impressed as to write a review on the hotels I stay in. The staff at this hotel were very welcoming and friendly. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. The lounge area was pleasant and the breakfasts were buffet but good choices. Location good too. All round a very enjoyable stay. Have booked for my next visit and would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenlight_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The welcome was great, glass of wine on arrival. Very friendly faces at reception. Nothing was to much trouble for them whatever you asked for.

Rooms nice loads of room comfy bed. Food nice depending on chef. Couldn't fault the breakfasts any day of week. Staff really jaded you feel welcome. Even the manager of hotel was serving and cleaning dishes. So obvious team player.

The one bad thing that seriously let's them down is the extortionate charges for Internet. There is no excuse for the charges.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Johndunn5707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eight Ash Green
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
1.7 mi away
Best Western Marks Tey Hotel
4 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
569 reviews
5.5 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
736 reviews
3.1 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#12 of 23 in Colchester
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Colchester

Address: Abbotts Lane, Eight Ash Green, Colchester CO6 3QL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Eight Ash Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eight Ash Green
Price Range: $74 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Colchester 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Colchester in Essex is 3 miles away from Colchester, the Oldest Recorded town in Britain. The Hotel is ideally located just off the A12 in a quiet village setting. This Colchester Hotel offers excellent facilities for all whether travelling on business or pleasure. Facilities include air-conditioning and High Speed Internet Access in all bedrooms, accessible & family rooms, and a Spirit Health Club with Swimming Pool. Our Hotel Restaurant, Bar & lounge offer tempting traditional British dishes and international cuisine including the famous Holiday Inn Breakfast in a relaxed, informal atmosphere. The Hotel has seven conference rooms; that cater for all your requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings & 1:1 Interviews to Wedding Ceremonies & Receptions. Not only does the Hotel cater for a diverse range of corporate clients, it offers outstanding weekend & leisure packages for those couples or families wishing to relax - Remember Kids Stay & Eat for Free*. Surrounding attractions include Colchester Zoo, Freeport Designer Shopping Village, Castle Museum and PGA seniors tour golf at Stoke By Nayland. Colchester United's New Ground, is only a short drive away. What s more the Hotel is less than 30 miles away from Stansted Airport connecting major cities around the world. *Terms & Conditions Apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Colchester Hotel Eight Ash Green
Colchester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Colchester Eight Ash Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing