We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value Holiday Inn at edge of Colchester” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Colchester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Colchester
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eight Ash Green
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value Holiday Inn at edge of Colchester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I spent two nights at the hotel while playing in a croquet tournament in Colchester. Conveniently located just off the A12 (but well away from traffic noise). The room was larger than average, pleasantly furnished (albeit in a "standard" manner) and spotlessly clean. I had a good workout in the well-equipped hotel gym - there is also a small heated swimming pool. The complimentary glass of wine on arrival is a nice touch. Staff all pleasant and helpful. I didn't try the restaurant as I was being fed elsewhere during my stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    257
    111
    55
    40
See reviews for
207
191
29
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I travel regularly for business and I am not usually so impressed as to write a review on the hotels I stay in. The staff at this hotel were very welcoming and friendly. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. The lounge area was pleasant and the breakfasts were buffet but good choices. Location good too. All round a very enjoyable stay. Have booked for my next visit and would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenlight_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The welcome was great, glass of wine on arrival. Very friendly faces at reception. Nothing was to much trouble for them whatever you asked for.

Rooms nice loads of room comfy bed. Food nice depending on chef. Couldn't fault the breakfasts any day of week. Staff really jaded you feel welcome. Even the manager of hotel was serving and cleaning dishes. So obvious team player.

The one bad thing that seriously let's them down is the extortionate charges for Internet. There is no excuse for the charges.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Johndunn5707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
125 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Colchester the night before we left on a cruise, which was departing from Harwich International Port. Colchester is about 30 minutes from Harwich, and travelers can commute by train or car. Upon arrival at the hotel, we were warmly greeted at the front desk and offered complimentary wine or juice. The desk clerk assisted us by carrying our luggage to our room. The room was immaculate, spacious and had a large bathroom. The hotel has free wi-fi, available in the lobby. There is a nearby Sainsbury grocery store. We ate a late lunch in the hotel's bar; we were pleased by the quality of the food and menu choices. We would recommend this hotel to visitors to the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lobos3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed overnight to attend a wedding nearby. We were six adults and a baby. We arrived at 11.30am as the wedding was at 2pm and were hoping the hotel could help with somewhere for us all to change. We had booked 3 rooms and despite the fact we were very early we were given the keys to our rooms so we could freshen up and get changed after our 3 hour journey. They could not have been more helpful. The hotel was beautifully clean, the rooms spacious and comfortable. We were informed that if we purchased pre-paid vouchers for breakfast they are sold at a reduced rate of £10.95 instead of £15.50. Bargain, as the breakfast was very, very good.

So all in all a succesful stay. Would heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GBtravellinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have just held our daughters wedding at hotel and cannot be happier, Sharon and events team who put together our package could not have been more helpful, professional and always eager to ensure our wishes were met and above all very friendly. The informal host(sorry cant remember his name ) was superb guiding us through the whole day with real professionalism which meant we were all able to relax, the food was very tasty ,plentiful and presented beautifully, served swiftly and all staff were cheerful, helpful and worked very hard. They all added to a perfect day.
The overall hotel was clean, well appointed comfortable , the staff were friendly, the buffet breakfast was very good and plentiful. We were a fairly large party who stayed overnight also and partied loud and long with very little limitations to us. I would recommend anyone planning a wedding to consider yourselves.Wouldnt hesitate to stay again if need arises.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jane904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Despite the fact that it is owned by a chain, the warm welcome and friendly staff give it the feel of an independent hotel.

Dee was our greeter, very pleasant and friendly.

We arrived early and enjoyed a snack for lunch whilst the rooms were being prepared.

Fantastic swimming pool, hot tub and sauna.

Great view from the room of wild rabbits hopping around on the front lawn!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peewhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eight Ash Green
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel
5.2 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
3.1 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Colchester

Property: Holiday Inn Colchester
Address: Abbotts Lane, Eight Ash Green, Colchester CO6 3QL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Eight Ash Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eight Ash Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Colchester 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Colchester in Essex is 3 miles away from Colchester, the Oldest Recorded town in Britain. The Hotel is ideally located just off the A12 in a quiet village setting. This Colchester Hotel offers excellent facilities for all whether travelling on business or pleasure. Facilities include air-conditioning and High Speed Internet Access in all bedrooms, accessible & family rooms, and a Spirit Health Club with Swimming Pool. Our Hotel Restaurant, Bar & lounge offer tempting traditional British dishes and international cuisine including the famous Holiday Inn Breakfast in a relaxed, informal atmosphere. The Hotel has seven conference rooms; that cater for all your requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings & 1:1 Interviews to Wedding Ceremonies & Receptions. Not only does the Hotel cater for a diverse range of corporate clients, it offers outstanding weekend & leisure packages for those couples or families wishing to relax - Remember Kids Stay & Eat for Free*. Surrounding attractions include Colchester Zoo, Freeport Designer Shopping Village, Castle Museum and PGA seniors tour golf at Stoke By Nayland. Colchester United's New Ground, is only a short drive away. What s more the Hotel is less than 30 miles away from Stansted Airport connecting major cities around the world. *Terms & Conditions Apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Orbitz, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Colchester Hotel Eight Ash Green
Colchester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Colchester Eight Ash Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing