We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Immaculate hotel with great customer service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Colchester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Colchester
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eight Ash Green
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
125 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Immaculate hotel with great customer service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Colchester the night before we left on a cruise, which was departing from Harwich International Port. Colchester is about 30 minutes from Harwich, and travelers can commute by train or car. Upon arrival at the hotel, we were warmly greeted at the front desk and offered complimentary wine or juice. The desk clerk assisted us by carrying our luggage to our room. The room was immaculate, spacious and had a large bathroom. The hotel has free wi-fi, available in the lobby. There is a nearby Sainsbury grocery store. We ate a late lunch in the hotel's bar; we were pleased by the quality of the food and menu choices. We would recommend this hotel to visitors to the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lobos3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    257
    111
    55
    40
See reviews for
207
191
29
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed overnight to attend a wedding nearby. We were six adults and a baby. We arrived at 11.30am as the wedding was at 2pm and were hoping the hotel could help with somewhere for us all to change. We had booked 3 rooms and despite the fact we were very early we were given the keys to our rooms so we could freshen up and get changed after our 3 hour journey. They could not have been more helpful. The hotel was beautifully clean, the rooms spacious and comfortable. We were informed that if we purchased pre-paid vouchers for breakfast they are sold at a reduced rate of £10.95 instead of £15.50. Bargain, as the breakfast was very, very good.

So all in all a succesful stay. Would heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GBtravellinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have just held our daughters wedding at hotel and cannot be happier, Sharon and events team who put together our package could not have been more helpful, professional and always eager to ensure our wishes were met and above all very friendly. The informal host(sorry cant remember his name ) was superb guiding us through the whole day with real professionalism which meant we were all able to relax, the food was very tasty ,plentiful and presented beautifully, served swiftly and all staff were cheerful, helpful and worked very hard. They all added to a perfect day.
The overall hotel was clean, well appointed comfortable , the staff were friendly, the buffet breakfast was very good and plentiful. We were a fairly large party who stayed overnight also and partied loud and long with very little limitations to us. I would recommend anyone planning a wedding to consider yourselves.Wouldnt hesitate to stay again if need arises.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jane904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Despite the fact that it is owned by a chain, the warm welcome and friendly staff give it the feel of an independent hotel.

Dee was our greeter, very pleasant and friendly.

We arrived early and enjoyed a snack for lunch whilst the rooms were being prepared.

Fantastic swimming pool, hot tub and sauna.

Great view from the room of wild rabbits hopping around on the front lawn!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peewhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

At present as I sit in the bar of this establishment I must say that I am disappointed in the overall running of this hotel. Having been invited to a wedding and previously checking out the location (for photographic reason's ) of the venue it seemed pretty good. On arrival were checked it and our room was small but clean and well appointed. The main reason for my displeasure in the bar and bar staff. The management were advised that a large party of guests from Ireland would be attending and to make the necessary arrangements re the availability of certain alcoholic beverages. This they failed dramatically to do. Their selection of beer's and spirit's was and is pathetic. On the night prior to the wedding the had in their stock only half a bottle of a very famous Irish whiskey which needless ran out very quickly. Faced with this problem some of the party had to make alternative arrangements.......this action caused the ice machine to malfunction. The barmen and one in particular where unfriendly and lacked any sense of humour and friendly banter which is an absolute must in their line of work. I cannot fault the food or the service of the staff at the reception and the manager in charge was very efficient. Holiday Inn you need to get your act together and cater to the needs of your guests because your location is far from ideal and so you have a captive audience so if you are just looking for somewhere to lay you head and don't have any need for alcoholic libations or entertainment this is the place. I am sorry to say I won't be back

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionan_Allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Colchester, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Fionan_Allen,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. I appreciate the compliments on our clean hotel rooms. We strive everyday to create special experiences to our guests and we are truly sorry we did not manage this on this day. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience you may have had caused by the service and beverage options you encountered. Your feedback and suggestions will help us improve our services and offer a great experience for our guest.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have just stayed at the Holiday Inn Colchester for 2 nights from 26th-28th May.
From the moment we arrived to the time of leaving, we were made most welcome. We were given a free drink on check in including wine, which was a lovely welcome and not had at another Holiday inn we have stayed in. Reception Staff were great and were greeted by a smile!
We stayed in a family room on the 1st floor which was clean and comfy and had everything you needed, and were staying on a DBB deal which was great.
The meals were fab in the restaurant and all the waiting staff were so friendly and helpful.
The Spa was great also, went in the pool and Jacuzzi which was free to guests.
All in all had a lovely stay, but the only downside was the drinks in the Bar was very expensive!
We would come back again and visit some surrounding areas next time as we went to the Zoo which was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fmsHorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by Katherine and Indre, who not only gave us a complimentary glass of wine but also took our luggage to our room while we had a relaxing drink. This hotel has a really happy ethos, is well laid out and both the pool and spa and the rooms are all spotlessly clean, value for money and as good as many 4 star hotels I have stayed in. The menu in the restaurant was reasonably priced, varied and tempting, the serving staff were superb and all in all we had a fantastic time. I only wish we could have stayed longer and will be back as soon as we have a spare weekend.

Room Tip: An executive room is well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank netty_jeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eight Ash Green
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose & Crown Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel
5.2 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
3.1 mi away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#10 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Colchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Colchester

Property: Holiday Inn Colchester
Address: Abbotts Lane, Eight Ash Green, Colchester CO6 3QL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Eight Ash Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eight Ash Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Colchester 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Colchester in Essex is 3 miles away from Colchester, the Oldest Recorded town in Britain. The Hotel is ideally located just off the A12 in a quiet village setting. This Colchester Hotel offers excellent facilities for all whether travelling on business or pleasure. Facilities include air-conditioning and High Speed Internet Access in all bedrooms, accessible & family rooms, and a Spirit Health Club with Swimming Pool. Our Hotel Restaurant, Bar & lounge offer tempting traditional British dishes and international cuisine including the famous Holiday Inn Breakfast in a relaxed, informal atmosphere. The Hotel has seven conference rooms; that cater for all your requirements from training courses, boardroom meetings & 1:1 Interviews to Wedding Ceremonies & Receptions. Not only does the Hotel cater for a diverse range of corporate clients, it offers outstanding weekend & leisure packages for those couples or families wishing to relax - Remember Kids Stay & Eat for Free*. Surrounding attractions include Colchester Zoo, Freeport Designer Shopping Village, Castle Museum and PGA seniors tour golf at Stoke By Nayland. Colchester United's New Ground, is only a short drive away. What s more the Hotel is less than 30 miles away from Stansted Airport connecting major cities around the world. *Terms & Conditions Apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, Hotel.de, Orbitz, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Colchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Colchester Hotel Eight Ash Green
Colchester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Colchester Eight Ash Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing