We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bangtao Beach Chalet
Port Hedland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Serenity”
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Great little spot, just off the main beach. Chalets are perfect for our small family (1 child). The location is great and the small kitchen does a simple breakfast and nice room service. It is not 5 star but offers much more (a friendly smile, all the help you could ask for and a genuine interest in assisting you). There are also nice beer gardens, spas and restaurants within a short walk and a beautiful beach within 2 mins walk. There isn;t a huge night life or massive shopping, this is a place to kick back and relax (not Patong).Highly recommend for families or romance!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Henro87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    27
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
47
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2009

We stayed only one night coming from Phi Phi island to ensure that we will be able to reach our flight back to Bangkok despite possible irregularities with the ferries between Phi Phi island and Phuket. In respect of the very charming hotel we nearly felt sorry to stay for one night only.

The resort is very small, ten rooms only, but extremely charming. Every detail seems to have been chosen with great accuracy. The rooms were very clean and hat lot sof charme and same applies to the bathroom, which was not just functional, but build with great love for details, and the garden including the pool. The rooms were equipped with telephone, digital satelite TV, a waterboiler, hairdryer and modern electricity outlets that made the necessity of adapters as you could use any electrical equipment brought from Europe without them.

Despite the smalness of the resort they had a pool with enough sunloungers for every guest. We expected the resort to be directly at the beach as it is named "beach chalet", which was not the case, and this was the only downside here. But as the beach was only a two minutes walk away and easy to access, it was not at all a problem. The Bangtao hat as smal restaurant at the pool, where the breakfast was served as well. For anybode who loves dining directly at the beach, there are lots of restaurants nearby.

The only concern we had was the fact that there were many mosquitos in our room, when we arrived. But we were suppied with several equipment to deal with them and we were actually not bitten by one. When we returned from the beach they were all gone.

Besides that there were lots of jetskis on the beach, so that our little resort was truly an oasis of peaceful quietness. To us it was the perfect way to rebuild before taking on the long journey back home. We even plan to stay at least 2 or 3 nights the next time.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fhshfksjdfhks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
264 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2009

This is a wonderful place in Phuket. I had my concerns when booking. I wasn't exactly sure what to expect. We got there and it is steps from the beach. A wonderful private chalet with a great bed and fresh fruit and flowers daily. They have a private pool if you prefer. Although I wouldn't eat there (there are places very close by), they will transport you to the airport and pick you up. It is a much better deal than alot of other places nearby and is very private and intimate. I highly recommend this place if you are looking for wonderful relaxation and a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travbud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2008

Bangtao Beach Chalet is very pretty indeed. 10 small bungalows built around beautiful gardens with fish ponds and a small swimming pool. Inside, the bungalows look most attractive but there is a distinct lack of usable 'surfaces' as every table has some kind of artefact upon it. Plants, lamps, fancy tissue boxes, folders etc., with no dressing table and nowhere to put 'stuff'. The bathroom is the same, with three shelves stacked with towels, hairdryer, dispensers for soap and absolutely no place to park a spongebag! The shower is over the bath and does not have an adjustable head. Consequently, the water sprays with some force, all around the room and there are two tiled, slippery steps to negotiate to get out of the bath once you have flooded the bathroom. I gave up on showers and had baths!
As others have said, the beds are hard but that is typical of Thailand and you get used to it. What concerned me was that the bungalows are built in a straight line with windows of adjacent bungalows aligned, and there are windows on 3 sides. I was sitting on my bed reading and noticed that the man next door was doing exactly the same thing. For privacy you have to close all of the curtains and blinds which makes the room very dark.
The view from the front of the establishment is a grey breeze-block wall, such a pity as the beach is the other side! To access the beach you walk through the grounds of Bangtao Lagoon Bungalows, just to the right, which only takes a couple of minutes and is hardly onerous, but lack of beach frontage for the Chalet means no private sunbeds so you always have to pay to rent a sunbed if you want to sit on the beach.
The Beach Chalet staff are generally pleasant and the ladies who serve in the restaurant try very hard to please. However, although breakfast is supposed to be served from 7.00am to 10.30am, on two out of our three mornings, when we arrived at approximately 8.00am, nothing had been put out ready. On our first morning there was a buffet of sorts and you could help yourself to fruit, toast, cereals, yogourt and so on. Subsequently the buffet wasn't provided and every item was delivered separately, did we eat too much on the first day I wondered? Extra tea was brought as requested but the request for more toast seems to have been lost in translation. Furthermore, they simply cannot do boiled eggs.... eggs were brought to the table warm, but still raw inside, taken away and returned (same eggs) still raw. I had to demand a freshly cooked one to replace an opened but raw one, and was made to feel that I was simply asking for too much.
One sour note marred an otherwise enjoyable short stay..... When we arrived after a 5 hour drive from the south we were sat down in reception and given a 'welcome drink' of fruit juice whilst we rummaged through bags for vouchers, passports etc. As I was waiting for the check-in formalities to be completed, I picked up an album from the small coffee table (remember, all surfaces must be covered with clutter) entitled 'Wrath of the Tsunami' which I thought would be interesting as my last visit to Phuket was shortly before the Tsunami. Unfortunately, what I picked up was the cardboard slip case and the album slipped out, knocking my empty glass to the tiled floor whereupon it broke. On checking out I found that I had been charged 100Baht for the breakage. So petty. Then I was asked to write (something complimentary?) in the Guest Book!
So, to sum up... a very quiet, tranquil retreat away from the bustle of busy Bangtao Beach. Delightfully attractive garden setting complete with helpfully labelled plants and a friendly resident frog living in the in/out room sign, but.............

  • Liked — Beautiful gardens and setting
  • Disliked — Shower over the bath
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilymy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bang Tao Beach
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Bangtao Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Arinara Bangtao Beach Resort
Arinara Bangtao Beach Resort
#11 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunwing Bangtao Beach
Sunwing Bangtao Beach
#2 of 8 in Bang Tao Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pai Tan Villas
Pai Tan Villas
#3 of 8 in Bang Tao Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andaman Seaside Resort
Andaman Seaside Resort
#5 of 8 in Bang Tao Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
#8 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bangtao Beach Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bangtao Beach Chalet

Property: Bangtao Beach Chalet
Address: 73/3 Moo 3, Soi Ao Bangtao 2, Ao Bangtao Rd., Bang Tao Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale > Bang Tao Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Bang Tao Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bangtao Beach Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Bangtao Beach Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangtao Beach Chalet Hotel Bang Tao Beach
Bangtao Beach Chalet Phuket/Bang Tao Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing