We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great beginner dive experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bang Tao Scuba

Bang Tao Scuba
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Everybody can join us at Bang Tao Scuba we pick you from all places Kata, Karon, Patong, Kalim, Kamala, Surin, Bangtao, Laguna, Cherng Talay, Thalang, Naithon and Nai Yang. We are only 80 meters from our lovely Bang Tao Beach Phuket,Thailand. BANG TAO SCUBA are the only Diving center in Phuket with our own Big boat diving Koh waeow outside BANG TAO BEACH this means we will not take you for a long bus and boat ride we have the reefs accessible at our beach! This means shorter days and more time with friends and family than other diving centers can provide. If you plan to learn to scuba dive. We can arrange to come to your hotel, please ask us, We provide facilities that are comfortable for you and whole familly can joun snorkeling or just passenger onboard.We sell all sorts of diving and snorkeling,swimming gear.We offer the full range of PADI dive courses from the beginner level of Discover Scuba Diving 1day and PADI Open Water Diver 3 days up to the professional level of PADI Dive Master, PADI Advanced Open Water Diver, Rescue Diver. For those interested in a career in the diving industry we have special programs from beginner to professional level.We have a variety of half day trips to our local dive sites Beach like Koh Weo, Tin Lizzy Wreck (a tin mining excavator)We have half and full day trips to the well known dive sites like Racha Yai, Racha Noi, Shark Point, Anemone Reef, Koh Doc Mai and the wreck King Cruiser and not to forget – the world famous Phi Phi Islands. We offer liveaboards to the best dive sites in Thailand – the Similan Islands, Koh Bon, Koh Ta Chai and Richlieu Rock.Sunset trips leaving everyday at 4 30 pm WELCOME!!.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great beginner dive experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Good instruction and a big boat. We had an excellent day and some good dives. Could be more bigger fish and coral but still heaps to see and look at. It is only a short trip from the shops and beach. highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Duane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangtaoscuba, General Manager at Bang Tao Scuba, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thanks alot Duane with familly!!!! Discover scuba diving program max depth is 12 m we do have more sharks and beautiful coral on other dive sites welcome back!! To see those with us with a licence in you hand one day or come back and do your open water with us have a lovely stay in Thailand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Convenient and easy!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Great local dive if you want to step off the beach then 30 mins later after a rib then boat journey out to the local reef be in the water exploring. Koh Wei. Clear water for snorkeling for those just wanting to get a closer look at the little island. All very easy and convenient if you are staying local to Bang Tao / Surin. Lunch, fruit and water provided with penty of sheltered spots on the boat to cool down and well as sun spots to warm up after your dive. Friendly, efficient and helpful staff. Thank you first time used, being local there will be plenty more!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Footprints38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A trustable dive centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Honestly, the dive guides and the people working there are very fun and helpful. I was there last December to get my certification and their lessons and teaching were clear. They have a pool near by in which we could practice our skills in 'comfort'. They never rushed me and assisted me in everything I needed. Their dive sites are mostly at Koh Waeo which is only 20min away. They provided food and beverages on the way there and back. The water's visibility was about 10m and many critters were there for us to see. A good dive centre, definitely coming back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScubaBoy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangtaoscuba, General Manager at Bang Tao Scuba, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you and we hope to see you back soon, we had 20 m visibilliy yesterday but 2 days ago same as you mention only 10m,we did however have whaleshark 2 weeks ago!!!!!!Kind Rgds J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice dive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

Had a great time with Bang Tao Scuba and Morgan as an instructor. Both dives were great and the food in between was excellent. Nice and relaxed. I just felt that at some times it was a bit too relaxed. No set dive order and they didn't asked me for air pressure very often. Personally, my earlier experiences has been much more safety focused, but I on the other hand I felt more free with Bang Tao Scuba. Could have liked some more talk about what we'd be seeing down there etc, but maybe they just took me for an experienced diver and didn't worry too much. No problem!

Visited December 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank HjAalmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangtaoscuba, General Manager at Bang Tao Scuba, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Hi Hjalmar Thank you sooooo much for your review very appreciated!!! Every guide, divemaster and OR Instructor are different and they do have regulations to follow,Morgan was a dive master here with us just to clarify not an Instructor. Welcome back and we do have some fish stickers here for you if you like to come by! Thanks again!Enjoy Phuket thailand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“It doesn't get any better than this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

This divecenter is so great and we really like to recommend it to other people, who are going to Bangtao and want to dive.
The manager Jessica is so sweet and helpful, and our instructor Sussi was the best instructor you can imagine - she was very good at her job, great to be with, very patient, and she made us feel very secure all the way.
A awesome and memorable experience to dive with Bang Tao Scuba, and when/if we go to Phuket in the future, we really want to dive with them again.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangtaoscuba, Manager at Bang Tao Scuba, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi Lone and Line and Mick THANK YOU sooooo much for your time here with us and welcome back soon we hope you will take your PADI open water licence and enjoy diving cheaper around the world! Have a great day say Hi to denmark!Kind Regards everyone at Bang Tao Scuba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bang Tao Scuba also viewed

 
Bang Tao Beach, Choeng Thale
 

Been to Bang Tao Scuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing