We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simple, affordable, relaxed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Andaman Bangtao Bay Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Bang Tao Beach
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“simple, affordable, relaxed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

I accidentally posted this under "bangtao seaside resort". That was a mistake, I didn't stay there. So here goes ...

Nestled at the end of the beach, the resort restaurant divides the quiet absolute seafront from the busy package deal complexes popular with Russian tourists. No lines of sun lounges or beach sellers here, the resort seems to be divided from it by an invisible barrier.

The resort has a small, but functional pool, it's spotless maintained by its family owners. Plenty of space, privacy and zero noise at night. Staff are friendly and helpful, rooms were made up daily with fresh towels and linen. Room had fridge and kettle, stocked with bottled water. 2 adults and 3 kids in a spacious air conditioned room.

The resort feels family run, there's no pressure to do anything our book anything. However, they will make phone calls or chase up people for you. There's decent free WiFi too.

Breakfast was included and very generous. Meals were typical of local pricing in cafes. Surin beach is 250baht in a tuk tuk and has a great night good market for cheap eats and great seafood. But again, it's a Russian package deal beach so gets very busy.

Overall, it's a great choice for families who prefer not to be in large complexes offering pseudo European hotel service among hundreds of people hoarding sunbeds and haggling for 10baht off a banana. But that's all there if you walk fifty metres past the "barrier". Plenty of people seemed to be return visitors, mostly Scandinavian.

We stayed 8 nights and found it a perfect base for day trips or just relaxing by the shallow beachfront. And yes, it's absolute beach front.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    33
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
24
52
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Booked this hotel directly via the web, they offer 40% off the regular rate on their own website which I think is about the right rate for this hotel.
Situated right on the beach, the outlook from the restaurant is fantastic. Breakfast is really good, cooked to order ever day & served right on the water.
The hotels offers a one-way transfer from the airport which is great because transport on Phuket is always a challenge but in Bangtao you really have no taxis at all - just a few guys that run the local transport & they have you over a barrel every time you want to go anywhere. There is just enough around the hotel to get by - minimarts, pharmacy, restaurants etc. but if you are here for (say) more than 4-5 days you better enjoy just lazing around reading a good book.
The hotel is old, rooms are dated but very clean. The cheapest room at the hotel (at around $30USD) is best avoided in my opinion - they are smallish and have no window for natural light. I went for the next grade up and thought my room was great for around $65USD it was very, very big & had a window overlooking the sea.
The pool is tiny, not enticing at all but I found this got me out onto the beach & walking up along the shore line was just so much fun with many local Thai traders selling drinks at regular intervals, small market stalls and even a few outstanding restaurants right on the sand.
Bangtao is nowhere near as comercialised as Patong, so if you are looking for an island getaway without the hassle and negatives of Patong, this is certainly worth considering.

Room Tip: The cheapest room at the hotel (at around $30USD) is best avoided in my opinion - they are smallish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We got off a plane late evening and, instead of doing the long drive to busy Phuket town, we stopped here for the night. The staff found us some beer then we went out looking for food. It was pretty quiet by 11pm but we found a terrific local open air cafe nearby. We awoke next morning to a gorgeous day and swam in the ocean - bliss! As it was late in the season, there was hardly anyone else at the hotel so it was very private. The gardens are lovely, and the beach is literally one step away from the hotel. The pool is tiny, which wasn't a problem in low season, and clean. The rooms are spacious with lovely patios though the bathroom fittings need upgrading and the beds are the firmest I've ever slept on. The staff are helpful though linguistically limited - but then so were we. Breakfast was included and, all in all, this was a really nice, and inexpensive, way to break the journey. We were wishing we had stayed more than one night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sydneysider30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
122 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Pre booked here for 4 nights, but up on arrival we found a worn out resort, the rooms where clean and spacious, but everything had its best time. The main reason we went of directly was because the swimmingpool was hilarious, only 7 meters or something and the terrain was very messy, heaps of sand all over and different materials all over. Very easy to clean up and absolutely unnecessary. When we said that we didn t want to stay here at all, nobody complains about it or spread some regrets. When I had a hotel and people leaving after 40 minutes I should like to know whats their motivation so that I had a chance to improve the quality.

Room Tip: All the rooms seems a little bit the same and had sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robertcoumans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed for two nights before joining a liveaboard. We were feeling burnt out and in need of a drink on our room terrace overlooking the beach and thats is just what we got.

The property is a bit tired and could benefit from a refurbishment. The breakfast is limited (and we only had 2!). The sea comes in at high tied and takes over the entire beachfront and the sun parasols. Ask for a room in the higher numbers to get an uninterupted view of the sea.

This is a family run affair and it comes across that they are not all professionally trained or particularly passonate about runing this Hotel (though this could be a symptom of them not being confident with the languages). They are pleasant enough and not rude but they could definately enhance the experience of this lovely location if they were more engaging with their guests.

We didnt particuarly like the local area and for us there are better beach towns north and south of Bangtao but that is not a reflection of the immediate beachfront location of this Hotel. It would cost a small fortune to stay here if it belonged to a quality hotel chain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dormant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

after reading good reviews, we decided to stay for 5 nights here. since i had really good experience in Indonesia staying @ this kind of ocean view bangalow. so expected small, friendly and relaxed place.

only 2 staff could speak some english. kitchen smell like a fish whenever I walked by. pool was murky you can't see the bottom of the pool and so small. so many HUGE cockroaches found in our room everyday. not much vegetarian breakfast options. cutlery were greasy or sticky.

no taxi driver knew this place when we got a taxi from Pa Tong. so took ages to come back here. not so cheap to get to patong either from here.

overall, not happy. maybe i expected too much for this price. but it could be better definately.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KosieDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Well suited on Phuket's only quiet beach without people trying to sell you things. Breakfast, lunch or dinner right on the beach. We got a great deal from the hotel owner but probably also not any of the better rooms. Our room was ok but the ceiling looked like it was going to fall someday soon and the bathroom was not well built. The staff were very friendly and the location is really superb. Breakfast was ok with minimal variety. Swimming pool is small but ok. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHTraveller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bang Tao Beach
0.5 mi away
Sunwing Bangtao Beach
Sunwing Bangtao Beach
#2 of 7 in Bang Tao Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Residence Resort and Spa Retreat
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Bangtao Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pai Tan Villas
Pai Tan Villas
#3 of 7 in Bang Tao Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Andaman Seaside Resort
Andaman Seaside Resort
#5 of 7 in Bang Tao Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaman Bangtao Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaman Bangtao Bay Resort

Property: Andaman Bangtao Bay Resort
Address: 82/9 Moo 3 | Cherngtalay, Talang, Bang Tao Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale > Bang Tao Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Bang Tao Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Andaman Bangtao Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Andaman Bangtao Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaman Bangtao Bay Hotel Thalang
Andaman Bangtao Bay Resort Phuket/Bang Tao Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing