We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant”
Review of The Bistro

The Bistro
Cuisines: Swedish, Thai, International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Visited several times during our three week stay in Bangtao, and always received a warm welcome and equally importantly ate consistently good food at reasonable prices each time. The fresh fish was excellent but so were the other Thai dishes we tried. Its certainly the best restaurant in the area, combining pleasant decor, nice atmosphere, good food and outstanding service from Patrik and his hard working team of Nara, Rin and Hof.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    97
    33
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable prices, but”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

A great restaurant with a range of both Swiss & Thai dishes. The food was delicious & the prices were reasonable however the atmosphere was spoilt by selfish stinking smokers in the middle of the restaurant. I don't understand why the owner permitted this when smoking in restaurants in Thailand is illegal...???

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmill204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Atmosphere & Food”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Thanks to this restaurants terrific owner, our dinner was the best we had in Phuket! They go above and beyond at this fusion bistro. Try the White Snapper - a local favourite.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We love this restaurant and have had a number of meals there. We think it is the best in the area and we have tried quite a few in the locality. The Fish is particularly good and we love the Thai food. The decor is well designed and has been continuously improved over the time we have visited the restaurant since it open last year. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Twenty9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chumphon Province, Thailand
Level Contributor
134 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Even bettrr than last year”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just returned to Bangtao to find Bistro has new layout and the same excellent food and service. New bar position is ideal for pre or after dinner drink or for chatting with friends. Still the best restaurant in Bangtao if not the whole of Phuket. Give it a try you wont be disappointed

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bistro also viewed

Bang Tao Beach, Choeng Thale
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 
Bang Tao Beach, Choeng Thale
Bang Tao Beach, Choeng Thale
 

Been to The Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing