We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“money for value.”
Review of Layan Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Layan Villas
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“money for value.”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

i booked the villa the day before moving in, a last minute choice as me and my boyfriend are beach hopping in phuket for fun. the layan villas are definitely not close to the beach at all, but it is very worth the price, concerning the space and the private pool.

the villas definitely has seen better days, but it is kept clean and in good order. the space of each room is impressive with a private pool of good size. the villas are quiet and in tropical lush, with a restaurant in the back that is immersed in trees and pond, very pretty

loved the outdoor shower and the spacious bathroom with jacuzzi. for phuket an establishment of such kind is very good value.

service of in room breakfast cooking is very detailed and a good touch, the owner PK is very helpful. the only shortcoming : not near anything so if driving in phuket this is a good place to stay and rewind and enjoy private space.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan_c2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    18
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
21
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Layan has a lot going for it - most significantly, the location and the friendly staff. When people are this friendly it is hard to find fault with the incorrect breakfast orders, mouldy showers, and generally bedraggled state of the property. Lilly at the front desk (new on the job) made us feel so welcome and even loaned us her scooter. I have never met any front line hotel staff as professional and charming as Lilly.
I guess what happened here is that the owner came into some money and decided to build some villas in his village. Fine, but the stray dogs, chickens and cats remain, as do the plastic flowers and general lack of elegance that one would expect at this price point.
If these points don't put you off I can heartily recommend Layan.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bushmanparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I booked the villa six months ago and was looking forward to spending my last few days relaxing in thailand, however when I arrived I was told that there was a problem with the pool and would need to move to another location and this was meant to be a upgrade, we didn't like the other villa which was not a upgrade and said we weren't staying there. We were taken back to layan villas where we were given a villa and told that the other guests arriving the same day would need to stay in the villa offered to us. We thought the pool situation was suspicious and suspected that they had double booked the rooms.
The main bedroom is fantastic and looks just like the official photos, the bath and shower looked amazing too. The second bedroom smelt damp, had a lightbulb not working and was dirty under the bed. There were only two sun beds which was annoying and the villa could benefit from sun beds on the terrace which was also not very clean.
Despite these issues I loved my stay there, the main bedroom stepping out to the pool was fantastic and the gardens surrounding the villas were also very nice. I would go back but would be concerned that the villa would be double booked as I note from other reviews that other people appear to have been overbooked.

Room Tip: Email before you go to ensure they have your booking and don't accept that there is a problem wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elvezGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We have just spend a week with Layan for our Honeymoon. I think that for the price we paid for a private pool, it was reasonable.
Positives:
- Excellent shower, jacuzzi.
- Comfortable bed
- Mobile provided so can use to contact PK, which you need to as none of security speak English
- Friendly Staff. Our Driver was superb and did try to speak to us in English - although limited - always happy to help and drop us to the beach when we needed to be.

Negatives:
- Breakfast was not provided at the time we asked - either early, which meant was cold when we ate it or late. Do not provide a toaster to reheat toast, which is best part of their breakfast, along with fresh fruit.
- PK doesnt spend a lot of time at the hotel so the front desk is generally empty and you have to use a phone to get in contact with security
- Pricing of transport was expensive - it is actually no cheaper than getting a taxi, in fact we found out that going to Patong is cheaper via taxi
- Pool cleaning system is turned off between 12-2, probably the time it needs to be on.
- We ordered food from outside, but Layan, we believe decided it needed to be on their plates and by the time we received it, it was pretty much cold.
- Although the pool is private, you can certainly see through the cracks in the fencing, and if we can see out, people can see in.
- Pricing of their trips to Phi Phi & Similan Islands is more than going and finding it yourself - we were quoted double what we ended up paying.

Overall, we did enjoy our stay - nothing extra provided for it being our Honeymoon - which is fine, but a bottle of wine goes a long way when we stayed in other locations, we were given Champagne and for the price we paid, which is just for the private pool really, we should've been given something as this certainly isnt a budget hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 2 which is the 1 bedroom shown online, and it is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tg_traveller_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We love Layan villas, beautiful with helpful manager (PK).
Do not waste your time to search, book this place as you will love it.

You will enjoy it, however it is quite far from Patong beach, 600 BHT taxi

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 745ehsane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silves
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our experience in Layan Villas was awful as… we were forced to go to another place:
We made a reservation by booking.com, we also sent an e-mail directly to Layan Villas, and Mr.Pumipat Khoo-Aroon (known as PK) replied confirming our reservation and ensuring us that everything was OK.
When we arrived with a couple of friends who planned to stay there for 2 weeks, we had the unpleasant surprise that they were totally booked. Even for us, in spite of having a reservation a week later, Layan-Villas was full. We felt deceived and were clearly harmed by this situation.
Even if Layan Villas found us another place to stay, we understood that it’s a current situation: The problem here is not overbooking: it’s pure robbery! Reservations seem to be always possible, and Layan Villas proceeds by inflating the prices, pulling-out cheaper reservations.
We read in other opinions that PK was a nice person. Unfortunately, we don’t have the same opinion. He LIED to us since the beginning.
PK is a shameless LIAR and Layan Villas is a FRAUD.
I can guarantee by my experience in Thailand (4th time), prices and conditions offered by Layan Villas are way far from the best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Vekasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
224 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have to start off by Saying we got a very special deal through ba for this which was about 60 GNP over night. At this orice with a private pool the villa we stayed in was acceptable although dear below the standard at similar orice we have had in thailand . At the published price of between 8 and 10k baht a night it is a total disgrace

The good points. Lots of power points. A pool long enough to swim in. A mobile phone provided which we didn't need but a nice touch. Total privacy within the villa. Internet works well. After that I run out of positives

The villa wa not clean. Cobwebs on the tv. Thick dust in the kitchen and bedroom. Mouldy seat covers. Mould and deep scratches on walls. A kitchen that is unequipped. Three spoons for a ills sleeping six. No pans to cook. No oven trays for cooking. Mismatched glassware and not enough. No wine glasses. No tea towels. Settees thoroughly stained. Cooker ceramic (who the heck had one if those in thailand) and very very scratched with ingrained dirt

Two cots ordered and confirmed . One supplied and a bed provided as a alternative - not much good for a six month old (and they werebawarenthere were twins if that age)

Outside two sunbeds for a villa sleeping six. No other outdoor seating. An upper terrace with no furniture, a mildewed plastic roof and a floor covered in bird poo. The pool is nice but very difficult to get out of so am not sure how an elderly kerns or child would manage

And the most strange bedroom layout. Both require going outside with no cover for the frequent rains. And although the villa is totally private from outside there is no privacy inside. One sunbeds is pushed up against the glass doors of the master and likewise for the other sunbed and bedroom. Therefore for privacy bedroom curtains have to be closed at all times

When these villas were built (and I won't even bother to mention the restaurant or immediate environs) they were probably de rigeur. No more. They are tired, need painting, repairing and proper cleaning. One can't do much about the area but they can about the villas

Room Tip: Don't stay. That's the best chance if getting a decent room ie somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Carolineess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bang Tao Beach
0.3 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#3 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Residence Resort and Spa Retreat
1.2 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#4 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#14 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.0 mi away
Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket
2.8 mi away
Pai Tan Villas
Pai Tan Villas
#3 of 8 in Bang Tao Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Layan Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layan Villas

Property: Layan Villas
Address: 45/1-5 Moo 6 Cherngtalay | Layan Road, Bang Tao Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale > Bang Tao Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Bang Tao Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Layan Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Layan Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layan Villas Phuket/Bang Tao Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing