We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bang Tao Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Our family, which included a six month old and two year old, was looking for a hotel with the convenience of being not too far from the airport, not too far from Patong, near a beach, room with a private pool and near local restaurants. We hit the jackpot with Moevenpick Bangtao as the small resort ticked all the right boxes.

We booked the two-bedroom suite with private pool but were given a free upgrade to the three-bedroom penthouse with jacuzzi. I was hesitant at first as I wanted a proper pool with our room but after viewing the penthouse, it was a no brainer! The penthouse was HUGE and jacuzzi was a larger than average dip pool. The large common pool was only a few steps away; and was never crowded and always at a wonderful temperature. However, don't expect a proper seaview though - the view is mostly covered by the rooftops of the shops in front of the beach and trees.

The beach club was still a WIP when we were there, but was decent enough to have our breakfast by the beach. The beach was clean and never crowded. Our only gripe was the breakfast fare, which was largely forgettable aside from the freshly made pancakes and crepes. Service at breakfast was very good, while service in other parts of the hotel wasn't of a 5-star hotel quality. But small matter!

A warning though, the resort has a lot of steps and stairs which may not be convenient for older people, or if you have wheelchairs or strollers. It was a bit rainy when we were there so it was precarious and slippery carrying our entire crew around.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodEnthused
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick Resor... B, Resident Manager at Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear FoodEnthused,

Thank you for choosing Mövenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket as your preferred accommodation while in Phuket and for sharing your feedback of your “enjoyable stay” with us.
The convenience factor for elder people in terms of staircases can be resolved with our buggy service upon request. Please be assured that we value your feedback and will share it with our team to ensure that your future experiences with us are seamless and enjoyable.

In our continued endeavor to ensure the services and facilities provided to our guests are second to none, we are proud to announce that the Mövenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket is the only resort and/or hotel in Phuket which allows guests to have breakfast directly on the beach.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Wenk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

450 - 456 of 741 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

We, a family of three, arrived there with neutral expectations. Yet it immediately turned out to be a place of choice for us.
As they say it, location is key, and it really works out well for this resort. It’s located in a premium district of Phuket, yet secluded and discreet in a way.
The amenities, whether it’s a swimming pool, gym or free-of-charge rented bicycles are only making this place more user friendly.
My favorite spot there are the rooms, quality of their equipment, style of interior and true sense of privacy.

Surrounding makes it only better; areas to bike, run or play golf are literally at the door step. If you want to try different restaurants, all neighboring resorts add to diversity.
One thing that was still in the working was the upgrade of beach infrastructure. I was pleased to see that the management took on this project and I am sure I will see it all done when soon returning to that place.

Room Tip: If you like privacy and space, try to get one of those Pool Suites with 2 Bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WojK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick Resor... B, Resident Manager at Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear WojK,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review here on TripAdvisor - we welcome many families at our resort, so I am sure that they will appreciate your review. I'm extremely delighted that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you had the opportunity to enjoy the services and facilities available at the hotel.

The resort does indeed have the privilege of being tucked away in the quiet enclave of the Laguna and this location is ideal for most of our guests who are looking for a relaxing and serene place to unwind.

Please be assured that in our continued endeavor to ensure our services and facilities are a benchmark, we have been in the process of implementing upgrades throughout the beach club.

We look forward to welcoming you again the next time your travels bring you back to Phuket and we are so glad to know that we will be your choice of residence in the future!

Yours Sincerely,
Michael Wenk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We enjoyed an absolute fantastic holiday at the Moevenpick Resort at Bangtao beach. We stayed in one of the 3 bedroom (extremely spacious) penthouses so our two boys had their own rooms and we enjoyed great in-house dinning on the balcony for a couple of nights. The resort is located literally at the beach - it really couldn't be better. Staff at the resort were very friendly and helpful and gave us first class service from the start to end. This resort deserves high recommendations.

Poul Henrik Vagtborg

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poul Henrik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick Resor... B, Resident Manager at Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Poul Henrik V,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review of your family's recent stay with us at Mövenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket.

I am delighted to know that your experience was such an outstanding one and am sure that our team of staff will be equally thrilled by your compliments for them.
It is always so great to receive feedback such as yours as it lets us know what we're doing right and helps us as we work toward our commitment to deliver a service that is second to none to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming all of you again the next time you return to Phuket!

Best regards,
Michael Wenk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This was our first stop on a 3 week holiday and we couldn't have picked anywhere better.

The hotel is away from the hustle and bustle of Phuket, but ideal for relaxing with a glorious pool and easy access to the beach. There are a large number of bars and restaurants along the beach, with Lotus being a good choice for an evening meal.

We had a classic room which to be fair didn't have great views, but the rest if the hotel was so amazing we didn't mind in the end.

Finally the staff, they were friendly and helpful and always extremely pleasant to deal with. An absolute credit to the hotel.

If we return to Thailand, We would without doubt stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riceyb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick Resor... B, Resident Manager at Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Riceyb86,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review of your recent stay - we are absolutely thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with us!

Our staff are indeed our greatest asset and I am proud to be working with such an outstanding team. Being your home away from home, it is important to us that your stay is as comfortable as can be, so I am most delighted to know that they had provided the both of you with an exceptional and personalised service.

I trust that you had a great time exploring the surrounding areas of the resort and using the services and facilities available within the hotel. We greatly look forward to welcoming you back in what we hope will be the near future and perhaps you can experience one of our spacious apartments with sea or lagoon view.

Kind regards,
Michael Wenk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Regrettably we are leaving here in the morning after having been here for 7 days. This really is a fabulous resort - apartments are spacious, swimming pool area is fantastic, staff are wonderful and the place is so clean. It is wonderful to walk down to the beach club and enjoy breakfast overlooking the beach - none of the other resorts around can offer this. It may not offer some of the activities that the bigger resorts have but it offers peace and serenity which for us is much more important and everything you want for an active holiday is not too far away.
Michael you and your team have been fantastic to deal with and I hope that all your plans for the beach club in particular come to fruition for you and we get the opportunity to come back and see you all again.
Margaret & Terry 3102

Room Tip: Rooms facing east would be my pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappygirlBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick Resor... B, Resident Manager at Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Margaret & Terry,

Thank you for sharing this candid review with us here on TripAdvisor. I'm so glad to hear that you had enjoyed your stay at Mövenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket.

Thank you for complimenting us on the spaciousness of our apartments, cleanliness of our resort, our world class facilities and our staff. It is wonderful recognition for our employees who endeavor to provide our guests with an exceptional stay through their consistent approach.

As for your breakfast experience, I couldn't agree more! We are the only hotel on the island that can offer breakfast right on the beach.
When your travels take you back to Phuket, we certainly look forward to the pleasure of having you both stay with us again, and hopefully it will be for a longer period of time.

Kind regards,
Michael Wenk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Returned to this resort as we enjoyed our previous stay immensely. We fell in love with it all over again.
The personal service from management and staff makes a guest feel very welcome, there is always a smile and the wish to make your stay even better. The facilities and rooms are kept spotless as are the pools. Meals at the restaurant are a delight and breakfast in the almost renovated beach club a great start to the day.
If you are feeling just a little energetic Lucky from the gym does a great aquarobics session, in your own pool or in the main pool, individually or in a group. It is well worth giving up an hour of your time to have such an enjoyable and professional work out.

Michael and his management team are to be congratulated for doing a wonderful job of running the perfect holiday resort.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom suites with a large pool are wonderful and roomy with a fully equipped kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank professional2ourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick Resor... B, Resident Manager at Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Bev P,

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us again at Mövenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket. It was a pleasure having you here and we are all looking forward to your next visit.

Thank you for complimenting us on the consistency of our service each time you return to our hotel. It is wonderful recognition for our employees who endeavor to provide our guests with an exceptional stay through their consistent approach. Please rest assured that I will share your comments with all the departments you have mentioned so that their team is recognized for their commitment to service!

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our spotless and spacious apartments, hotel facilities and our breakfast on the beach which led to a good start of your day.

I am extremely grateful for your kind words and I am eager to keep running the perfect holiday resort, so that you can fall in love with it over and over again.

Kind regards,
Michael Wenk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in September 2013 and immediately felt right at home as soon as we arrived. The staff are very polite and friendly, displaying typical Thai hospitality. Our room was spacious and comfortable and perfect for a relaxing vacation. The Swimming Pool is quite large and definitely inviting, especially after a hot and humid day exploring the vicinity.
We had the buffet breakfast which had an extensive selection of International and Thai cuisine and enjoyed the room service amenities on offer as well.
The hotel is located on Bangtao beach and you need to cross the road to get to the beach itself. It is the ideal beach area if you like peace and quiet as we hardly saw any other people on the beach, there were also very little beach attractions. You would need to go to Patong etc. to experience an activity-filled area. Keep in mind that Bangtao beach is about a THB600-700 taxi ride away from the airport and getting about in taxi's may prove to be expensive.
All in all, a very good hotel for the price you pay. We would definitely re-visit!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick Resor... B, Resident Manager at Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear E C,

I would like to thank you for this wonderful review about your recent visit to our beautiful resort. I am glad that you have chosen Mövenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket as your preferred accommodation in Phuket and delighted to read that you enjoyed your overall experience and that you would come back.

It’s a great pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed the hotel’s facilities, our breakfast and its culinary offerings as well as the spaciousness of our apartments. We are very lucky to have a pristine private beach which is not crowded and very relaxing for families or couples.

Thank you once again for having taken the time to write to us, we look forward to your return visit to your “home” in Phuket.

Best regards,
Michael Wenk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bang Tao Beach
10.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#2 of 36 in Choeng Thale
499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Angsana Laguna Phuket
Angsana Laguna Phuket
#9 of 36 in Choeng Thale
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 329 in Patong
6,005 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
#10 of 36 in Choeng Thale
1,783 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#3 of 36 in Choeng Thale
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket

Address: 35 Moo 4 | Cherng Talay, Bang Tao Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly The Palm Beach Club)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale > Bang Tao Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bang Tao Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bang Tao Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Bang Tao Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bang Tao Beach
Price Range: $174 - $1,180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Bang Tao Beach, the Mövenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket offers an idyllic setting for a memorable getaway. Blending the best of Thai and contemporary design, the resort features 40 exclusive residences and a host of leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket Hotel Bang Tao Beach
Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket Bang Tao Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing