We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bang Tao Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Moevenpick Paradise

We just returned from a 4 night stay in a Seaview Penthouse. The view, the staff, the location, the atmosphere was all wonderful. We enjoyed a wonderful treatment in the spa. Breakfast was great every morning to start the day and the view was simply breathtaking, directly on the beach. Looking forward to going back and spending even more nights in paradise.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dtsste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick Resor... B, Resident Manager at Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Dtsste,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review about your stay with us in "Paradise". We wish you could have stayed longer!
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast spread directly on the beach, our culinary team will certainly appreciate your compliments.

It is nice to hear that you also managed to utilize some of the facilities around the Hotel and I will definitely share your compliments with the team at the Blossom Spa.

We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit very soon!

Kind regards,
Michael Wenk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    111
    32
    8
    7
See reviews for
333
187
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Recently we had an opportunity to stay at this resort for 3 nights.Our primary concerns were safety,comfort,hygiene,ambience,easy access to fantasea and safari and of couse refreshing breakfast among others.In all these aspects,this resort scores five stars!The suites were so appealing that my daughter plans to build a flat on its model! staff were courteous with 24*7 smiles. with commendable service.Pools were impressive.I congratulate the resort's staff and administration to keep up their services always as ever!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNRAJAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick Resor... B, Resident Manager at Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear MNRAJAN,

It is always a rewarding feeling when our guests tell us how much they enjoyed their stay with us, so thank you for sharing your wonderful review here on Trip Advisor.

I'm delighted to hear that our employees' personalized service and their 24*7 smiles enhanced the experience of your stay. Our culinary team will also be pleased to know of your compliment regarding breakfast.

I am extremely thrilled to hear that your daughter was inspired by our “appealing suites”. For your next visit, should you wish to reserve one of our Sea view Pool Suites, which was so appreciated by your whole family, please do not hesitate to let us know. We will certainly do our utmost to ensure once again your stay with us meets, if not exceeds, the level of comfort you wish for.

Kind regards,
Michael Wenk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel itself is lovely - very new, clean and it was not at all crowded. In fact, the hotel felt like it was half empty. We went at the end of May for a long weekend as a group of 6. The 3 bedroom apartment was absolutely huge! It was also to a very high spec and really felt like we were in a villa. The staff at the hotel were absolutely superb - very attentive and incredibly friendly. Overall, we really loved the hotel. Having beers at the pool bar was a particular highlight!
This is my third time in Thailand, having twice flown into Krabi previously. I was totally underwhelmed by Bang Tao as a resort. The beach was not nearly as impressive as others I’ve been to in Railay or some of the Thai islands such as Koh Jum or Koh Lanta.
The beach is a very short walk (50m) from the hotel back entrance, where you have to cross a quiet road. The beach area was very small and the sea is quite murky and the waves were ferocious – I wouldn’t let young children in the sea by themselves. In fact, when we swam out about 75m, the staff in the restaurant insisted we swim back in because the currents are quite strong.
The spa in the hotel was great – especially when they presented us with a buy one get one free massage voucher. We even sweet talked them into giving us a second voucher 
However, I would have been very bored had I stayed much longer than 3 days / 2 nights. It’s fine if you like lazing by the pool or by the beach but I personally like to do something during the day – I can’t just sit around reading!
The saving grace was the Lotus restaurant which is right next door to the hotel’s bar / restaurant on the beach. The hotel bar was perfectly ok but nothing to write home about, whereas the Lotus restaurant and bar was simply fantastic. They have a very modern, chic bar and the food in the restaurant was amongst the best I’ve ever had – probably a dozen fish tanks with lobster, prawns and several varieties of fish.
Walking down the beach was also pretty underwhelming – the rival restaurants were shabby but we ate quite well at the first one after Lotus (turn left as you face the sea).
There is a taxi rank right outside should you want to get out of the resort and they are much cheaper than the hotel taxi (800 Bhat vs. 2,200 for our drive to the airport), which is about 25mins drive away. We spent a night a Patong and the driver actually waited there for us all night, which was a nice tough. Patong is totally mental! Ping Pong shows and cheap cocktails galore – literally hundreds of bars and had much more of a Bangkok vibe. It’s about 30 mins drive away (800 Bhat).
Overall, we enjoyed our time at the hotel but I couldn’t imagine spending a week or longer there, as I would have gone stir crazy. The hotel can lay on excursions, but they are all at least 30 mins drive away – some are an hour away. Again, excursions from Railay or the Krabi region have always been much easier, as longboats pick you up from the beach. I didn’t see a long boat (or any boat) on Bang Tao.
So in short, a really lovely hotel but if you are after a more authentic Thai experience, I would consider going to a different resort – Phuket just felt like a poor man’s Krabi.

Room Tip: We had a 3 bedroom apartment, which was stunning and had a view of the sea and the lake behind (room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mhalliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick Resor... B, Resident Manager at Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear mhalliday,

Thank you for staying with us at the Mövenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket on your recent trip to Phuket. I am particularly pleased to read that you loved the hotel, our spacious 3 bedroom apartment and our hotel facilities. Also I would like to extend my gratitude for recognizing the efforts of our staff. I will be sure to personally share your kind comments with them.

I have also noted your comments regarding the beach and the waves in the ocean. Please keep in mind that this time of the year is usually considered the monsoon season; therefore the current is quite strong and is forming big waves and murky water. I am very sorry to hear that you found Bangtao Beach underwhelming and not as impressive as your previous visits to Thailand.

Our resort is located in the Laguna, which is a clean and tranquil area and people who are looking for a pure relaxation prefer to stay in this part of the island rather than the busy and overcrowded areas surrounding Patong beach. There are plenty of possibilities for those who are looking for a more exciting holiday. We offer entertaining, cultural and physical activities at the front desk on top of the day excursions which you mentioned.

We look forward to have an opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Wenk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My partner and I along with my parents stayed at this hotel for 7 nights from 10-17 April, we were a large group (appox 20) who had travelled to Thailand from Australia and the UK for a wedding. The hotel was beautiful right on the beach, it was very clean and well maintained. The rooms were very large and very comfortable. It would have been a perfect holiday had it not been for the shocking and atrocious treatment that my partner received when (on our return) he noticed that he had been charged twice for our room. He immediately contacted Moevenpick to tell them of their mistake upon which, to our immense shock, they stated that they would not be reimbursing him but offered us another stay during the rainy season, no thanks! Thankfully he managed to get the money refunded to him through his bank but if it had been down to Moevenpick we would have been over £2k pound out of pocket due to the utter incompetence of the reception/checking in staff. If you are planning on staying at this resort, make sure you check your bank account, especially whilst you are away as they may charge you again whilst you are on resort on holiday (so probably not checking bank accounts) and will not even mention it to you when you are there!!!!! It is such a shame that the hotel behaved this had it not been for this incident I would have been writing a glowing review. We were a large party and where planning a return trip as Thailand as it is the ideal place to meet with relatives and friends from Australia. Unfortunately due to the atrocious service we received none of us would ever go back to this hotel and will take our business elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lesa03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick Resor... B, Resident Manager at Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Lesa03,

Greetings from Phuket!

Referring to previous correspondence I wish to thank you in the first place for choosing Mövenpick Resort Bangtao Beach as your preferred destination during your recent visit to Phuket.

Please allow me to clarify the situation:
Your first booking was made by TZELL Travel via the Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts web page (confirmed with booking reference 53143SB000444). You took advantage of a special offer with conditions. The booking was neither changeable nor cancellable. Therefore, your credit card was charged at the time of the no-show.

‘TZELL TRAVEL’ did not get in touch with us regarding your cancellation.
In the meantime you have made another booking with a different Travel Agent. This booking was made under a different name and a reference to your previous booking could not be made. Our system only recognizes a double booking if the second booking is in the same name; it cannot compare bookings with guests staying in a room booked under a different name.

As a gesture of goodwill I was pleased to treat your ‘prepayment’ as a deposit for a future stay however we are sad to read that you have declined the offer.
I truly apologize for the inconvenience you have suffered and trust that this response clarifies the situation.

Kind regards,
Michael Wenk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

in May 2013 we had the pleasure to stay at Moevenpick BangTao Beach Resort - and it was fantastic. Usually hotels are all fine, but there's always something which can be improved - not here - everything was perfect! The food was really great, the appartment was a dream, the service always had an answer to our questions and arranged everything as needed, the beach is clean and quite (we especially enjoyed the breakfast buffet there), the location (Phuket Laguna) is calm, no big traffic noise etc.
Overall, this is definitely the right place to relax - take a scooter and make some trips to the other places around, but enjoy Moevenpick Bangtao Beach Resort!

Room Tip: The rooms are all great - "Seaview", "Pool Suite", "Jacuzzi" - whateve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick Resor... B, Resident Manager at Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Chris K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us at Mövenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket. I am delighted to read that you have experienced a "Dream Holiday" at our resort and that we have met all your expectations.

I am so pleased that you were able to appreciate the seclusion of our resort, the apartment and our daily breakfast on the beach.

Once again thank you for this wonderful review and we are looking forward to having you back with us when your travel plan brings you back to Phuket.

Kind regards,
Michael Wenk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Well what can I say, this hotel is spectacular. The views are amazing and the hotel is immaculate and well kept, and it's a quite haven in and around the madness of Patong (on the West coast about 30 mins away).
After a pleasant 20 minute drive from the airport we were greeted by the wonderfully friendly staff, we always judged the level of our stay by the 'welcome drink', and this drink was beautiful - that said it all!
Our room was incredible, clean, well air conditioned, tremendously decorated in traditional Thai style - even dvds are available if you fancy a quiet night in.
The teeny beach just off the beach club is perfect for a relax, and as its private you don't get any noisy neighbours. If you're LUCKY, you might even see Lucky the elephant having his morning walk.
Unlike many beaches in and around Thailand, you will not get hounded or disturbed with people selling you all sorts of paraphanalia - so that's a good thing to know!
The spa and gym are excellent, so a treatment is a must - to keep the full relaxing levels to optimum. Pool side food is incredible - we loved the Nasi Goreng, and staple of chips!
Breakfast is the only thing that let the hotel down slightly, it was very tasty but unlike others we had sampled there was not as much choice, which sounds ridiculous as there is plenty - but an egg station or Pho soup, or more English inspired dishes would raise it up a level - as in comparison to the pool food etc breakfast paled a little.
When we visited it was mid March and rather quiet, which was great for us - a little peace, and tranquility. Days were spent lounging on the amazing balinese style beds (TONS TO GO AROUND!) and a nice little mooch along the beach to the massage bars/excursion tents and a bit of bartering for clobber - everyone loves a bargain!
We had an incredible four days here, if you want PURE relaxation and away from the madness of the main towns, head to this hotel where not only the service is 5* but everything and everyone goes above and beyond to make your break extra special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick Resor... B, Resident Manager at Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Lauren N,

Thank you for sharing this appraising review of your stay with us earlier this year.

I am very happy to hear that you had received such warm hospitable service from our staff, and had enjoyed the spaciousness of our apartments, along with the hotel’s services and facilities. Your compliments are a great source of motivation for all of us in the hotel to continue working hard at what we do to ensure that all our guests enjoy an "extra special break".

Your feedback regarding breakfast is appreciated and will be shared with our culinary team so that we can work toward improving the experience in the future - thank you for sharing.
We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit and offering you the same five star service that you had experienced.

Kind regards,
Michael Wenk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed there in the midle of the february for four days, incredible hotel with fantastic service. Everything was perfect, from the reception to staff, pleasent and smiling people. When we arrived we had an room upgrade. This hotrel has its own beach, and Bangtao beach is long and not crowded so if you search for qiet place this is the one. You have great restaurants on the beach next to hotel. We were in four hotels in Thailand, but Movenpick is uncomparable. We will definitly come back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevan983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick Resor... B, Resident Manager at Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Stevan 983,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your most recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. I am really grateful for your positive feedback regarding our kind staff, hotel facilities and our private beach. Your comments are very much appreciated and I will be happy to share them with the rest of our team.

I am looking forward to welcoming you again at Mövenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket in the near future.

Kind regards,
Michael Wenk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bang Tao Beach
10.1 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
472 reviews
1.9 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#4 of 34 in Choeng Thale
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,538 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#3 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,827 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
#8 of 34 in Choeng Thale
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket

Property: Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket
Address: 35 Moo 4 | Cherng Talay, Bang Tao Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly The Palm Beach Club)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale > Bang Tao Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bang Tao Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bang Tao Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bang Tao Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Bang Tao Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Bang Tao Beach, the Mövenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket offers an idyllic setting for a memorable getaway. Blending the best of Thai and contemporary design, the resort features 40 exclusive residences and a host of leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket Hotel Bang Tao Beach
Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket Bang Tao Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing