We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great luxury resort with terrific service to boot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bang Tao Beach
Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great luxury resort with terrific service to boot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

During my last vacation to Phuket, I made the right choice to stay at Moevenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket as the food, the amenities and the service were outstanding. From the moment I checked in (in the comforts of my own room) till the time I checked out, the arrangements were flawless. In the middle of my stay there, the staff helped to arrange an island hopping tour for me, and though it rained, the staff anticipated my needs and packed a bag for me equipped with towels and umbrella and snacks. When I got back from my trip, my spa arrangements were already seen to, and I had the best 2 hour traditional spa massage of my life, at the Blossom Spa. I only like to eat Thai food when in Thailand, and the food served at The Palm Cuisine and Terrace was authentic and spicy - just the perfect balance of heat and flavours. I strongly recommend the Lap Mu!
Anyway, a terrific holiday, I was sad to leave! The Manager Michael was a helpful and kind fellow. He made all the arrangements work, and I had one of the nicest holidays at the Moevenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket ever. I would ask all my friends to stay here, if they got the chance!

Room Tip: I stayed at the Seaview Pool Suite with 2 bedrooms and it was an entire 216 sqm of expansive living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Agentcikay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    97
    29
    7
    7
See reviews for
300
172
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

We booked the Movenpick Bang Tao Resort purely based on reviews on tripadvisor. We saw some amazing photos of the hotel taken by the Movenpick crew and lots of guest photos. And boy we were blown over.

We asked for a slightly early morning check in as our flight was landing at 0910 HRS and we were scheduled to check in after 2. We emailed the hotel and they were so prompt responding to emails. They told us we couldn't get a guaranteed early check in but they would try. When the hotel says we will try, they usually mean" no way". We had arranged transport from Phuket airport to the resort but our driver got lost because of the fact that this is a fairly new property and is not very well sign posted. In the hotel's defence the driver brought us through an entirely different route. When we did manage to reach the hotel, we were greeted by jasmine bracelets and fresh juice. We were immediately told that our room was ready and escorted there. The photos on the website do not do justice to the property!! Comforts galore. Excellent design and decor. Great Bose sound systems. Luxurious bedrooms. Extravagant bath facing the Laguna. Bedrooms and living rooms facing swimming pool. Very clean and well maintained.

Courteous staff always at your service. Always around when you need something especially near the pool area. Very helpful for arranging trips, baby sitter, taxi etc. They do call the taxi for you but you can bargain the rate with the driver. This hotel is far north of Patong and so away from patong night life but recently three beach clubs have started night club like places very close to the hotel. One in fact within walking distance. Very upmarket and chic places with DJ or live music. Don't stay here if you want the hustle and bustle of the busy Patong area. Stay here if you want a quiet relaxing holiday. Mind you, Patong is about 35 minutes drive by taxi costing about 450-500 Baht.

Amenities in hotel are very good. Free fast wifi was a boon. Never had to turn on data roaming. Hotel has a shortcut direct access gate to the beach which was great as they provide chairs, towels and drinks on the beach as well. The beach is good and you can walk up and down to access beach side restaurants from there.

The hotel has a good health club with sauna and steam and two jacuzzi's in each of the gents and ladies toilet/shower areas. Spa is well staffed and has reasonable deals on massages. Massages are of course cheaper outside.

Breakfast was free and buffet type. Quite elaborate spread of continental and Asian dishes. We enjoyed breakfasts. They offer good coffees but not exactly barista quality but made by a fully automatic coffee machine. Abundant variety of fresh juices and fruits in breakfast spread.

All in all would recommend it to anyone and would love to come back any day.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vasqla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I couldn’t have asked for a better hotel to stay in while I visited Phuket. I was in love with the hotel, and wish I could have stayed longer. It was the most beautiful setting for a hotel, with views that just took your breath away. My photos are amazing and had made my friends very jealous.
My room had a sea view and I was able to wake up looking at the waves. It was a truly relaxing stay that just didn’t last long enough.
I had my breakfast every day at the Palm Cuisine Restaurant which was very nice. It is right by the lobby and the hotels infinity pool and great breakfast in the sun every day is right down my ally. I spent a lot of time by the pool and it was very relaxing. I enjoyed many cocktails while there and they have a happy hour every day which was just fab!
They offer a first class service throughout the whole stay and I truly felt like royalty there. Nothing was too much for the staff here.
The food and drink here is amazing and well priced as well. I never felt over charged for anything. However the staff can recommend some great places to go visit for a bit of a dance and they will call you a taxi to take you. My special regards to the Chef( Sascha) and the Restaurant Team.

There is so much to see and do, and the hotel staff goes out of their way to help you and suggest where you can go.
This hotel is pure luxury and the service is beyond amazing. I will be back soon :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seinna t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick Resor... B, Executive Assistant Manager at Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Seinna,

Thank you very much for taking the time to send us your feedback and for choosing Mövenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Phuket.

We are pleased to read that your stay with us was pleasant and appreciate very much for your kind comments. We have forwarded your kind words to Chef sasch and team according to your mention.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Phuket in the near future.


Kind regards,
Michael Wenk
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

booked through booking.com and we stayed in one of the villas with private swimming pool. the hotel picked us up from the airport and brought us to the hotel. before we booked, we were thinking, patong or somewhere else as everyone we had spoken to said patong was lively and the best place to stay etc etc....how wrong were they! Bangtao beach is by far the best beach. patong was so overcrowded and i felt like i was in Mallorca or one of the Ibiza Island where people get so drunk and puke all over in streets. patong beach was dirty, too many cheap tourists, its more of a place for teenager on budget holidays...wheres Bangtao beach was completely clean, less crowded, better crowd, nice water sports (200m), clean beach with lovely golden sand, it was spectacular...

so if you want to stay in phuket, stay in Bangtao and you can always get a taxi at night to patong if you really wanna go out in town to party, which takes 35mins in cab and costs around 600 Thai Baht.
The hotel views are amazing, the setting, the service, the rooms, the cleanliness, the finishing edges, the restaurants, the food etc etc, everything was fantastic. The type of crowd you get in the hotel is basically, families, couples, probably people in the middle to high class. you dont get any chavs, you get a nice crowd, nice classy people. I like my luxury and i like the extra service to be offered to me and i never thought it but i was very satisfied.
Would definitely recommend if you want to stay in a classy nice hotel. good pool, good access to the beach, good staff, good service. i have thought of things to criticize but i really cannot.

weather was something that worried us, weather forecasts said it was rainy etc, but hey i realized even if it rains there, its not like the rain back at home, where your stuck indoors the whole day, the rain was nice, you still wear shorts and flip flops and read your book etc. the first 2 days it rained for a few hours a day and was cloudy but like i said it was still nice, then for the rest of the holiday, it was so hot and sunny!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just back from Phuket last two days. I don't have any good impression for this hotel since the front deck staff argued with my sister. we booked for 2 villas with 3 bedroom for 11 adults + 2 maids + 4 children ( 5, 4 , 4 & 3 years) + 2 infants stay; and the front deck staff insist to charge us extra 2500 Thai bath / night. My sister try to argue with front deck staff but the staff insist that he has already offered to us since the hotel did't charge for the children. They argue with us with the loudly sound and compel me to agree and if not they will open another standard room to charge in our account.

I don't think that is a attitude should have for the hotel staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iceloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mövenpick Resor... B, Executive Assistant Manager at Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Iceloo,
First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comment in regards to your recent stay at the Moevenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket.
I regret to hear that you had an ‘argument with the front desk staff’. Please be informed that you booked 2 units (3 bedroom residence) for 12 adults and 0 children in total; however, you ended up being 11 adults and 6 children respectively.
Due to the fact that you were a larger group of people the guest service supervisor had to project his voice so that everyone could hear him. He did not mean to offend you in any way, so please accept his sincere apology. I hope you will not let this one stay tarnish your perception of our hotel.
We all look forward to having you with us again to experience the improvement and highest service standards that you rightfully expect from a Moevenpick Hotel.

Kind regards,
Michael Wenk
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent a fantastic week in Thailand with our three children ages 12, 10 & 6. (All boys) The final week was at the Moevenpick Resort which was so relaxing and exactly suited our needs. The room was absolutely huge and made us feel like we were at home. The kids all loved the pool, especially as the sea was a bit rough due to the season. The staff were all very nice and super helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone with a family looking for a nice quiet time away from the likes of Patong Beach. In fact I can't wait to go back again one day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had great experienced in this hotel. The rooms are well-furnished and new ,overlooking to the seaside. Very friendly staff and management. The food are excellent and the Thai Bbq event was amazing, you must really try it once you visited in this hotel.Not to forget to mention there international buffet breakfast with live cooking station was awesome and very good. The room service and snacks at the pool were excellent service and quality. I had been travelling for how many years with my wife and visited so many hotels but its my first time to experience with a great stay.Looking forward to be back next year here again. Love it

Room Tip: deluxe seaview suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bang Tao Beach
2.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
10.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
8.4 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket
#8 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
0.5 mi away
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket

Property: Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket
Address: 35 Moo 4 | Cherng Talay, Bang Tao Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly The Palm Beach Club)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale > Bang Tao Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bang Tao Beach
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bang Tao Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bang Tao Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Bang Tao Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Bang Tao Beach, the Mövenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket offers an idyllic setting for a memorable getaway. Blending the best of Thai and contemporary design, the resort features 40 exclusive residences and a host of leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Priceline, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket Hotel Bang Tao Beach
Movenpick Resort Bangtao Beach Phuket Bang Tao Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing