We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Port Light Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Soar Mill Cove Hotel(Malborough)
$188
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$250
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$317
$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thurlestone Hotel(Thurlestone)
$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rose & Crown(Yealmpton)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Smithaleigh(Plympton)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveler rating
87
38
7
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
38
7
9
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 145 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Just ambling along on a cliff top walk when we noticed Port Light Hotel and restaurant. Loved it. Very informal, relaxed and unpretentious. Had delicious crab salad sandwich and glass of excellent wine. Woud love to return and stay sometime.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBS50_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We have just returned from a lovely three day break with our young dog, Polly.
Having never been on holiday with a dog, we weren't sure what to expect.
We couldn't be more pleased.
We were very pleased to find that dogs were not just tolerated, but made very welcome.
The location, food, accommodation and friendly and welcoming service from the hotel staff made our stay very enjoyable.
We will be considering returning next year to this beautiful part of the country, and the port light hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and plan to return. The team here are very friendly and we loved the informal yet professional atmosphere. The location is beautiful and the coastal path offers fantastic walks in both directions. The Port Light is one of the most dog friendly places we have stayed in the UK - a real breathe of fresh air compared to places that 'put up' with dogs as opposed to welcome them. The location has a lot of interesting history attached to it too and the staff are really happy to share their knowledge about it and recommend nearby places of interest.

Accommodation: Our room was light and airy with a good sized bathroom and a comfy bed. It was all beautifully clean and homely. There is a small lounge area adjacent to the restaurant with sofas where you can relax with a drink and look at the lovely views. Perfect after a day of walking.

Food and drink: The cooked breakfast is first class as are the evening meals. Portions are generous without being over-facing. It is clear that the chef takes pride in what he produces without needing to add complexity to a menu that provides plenty of choice with a homely feel. They have a good real ale on hand pump as well as a decent choice of wines etc. The only improvement that I'd suggest is to provide the breakfast coffee a cafetieres but that is just because I am a coffee snob and like it a bit stronger with the 'fresh bean' taste.

Value for money - Yes totally - what more can I say!
It is worth noting that all the other guests seemed to be having a lovely time - there were all cheerful and friendly - always a good sign!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed for 7 nights including Christmas Day. Great food and service as usual. Even the weather could not spoil our relaxing break. Can't wait to come back next year. Best dog friendly place on the planet

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happywalkers083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

As a family, we've not been away properly in several years, and, as it's our 15th wedding anniversary and my husband's 40th birthday soon, we decided we would take a weekend away as a family. However, we have a greyhound who is nervous of strangers, and suffers from separation anxiety, so any break we took needed to include her too.

Searching for dog-friendly hotels turned up the Port Light, which, while less than an hour's drive away from home, was far enough for it to be a break from everyday life. According to the Port Light's website, it has been voted the most dog friendly hotel in the UK, and that would be hard to argue against!

From the moment we arrived, we were all made to feel incredibly welcome, and our dog made more than a few friends immediately. While the outside of the hotel isn't much to look at (it was built in 1909 and has been used as a signalling station or similar in the wars), the inside is cosy, warm and has some wonderfully charming elements, such as the exposed stone behind the woodburner, which was more than welcome throughout the weekend!

Our room (Room 1) is the only family room in the small hotel, and our 12 year old son loved the fact that the single bed is tucked away in an alcove of its own, giving him some privacy. The beds were comfortable, and, while the furniture was painted plain white, it added to the clean, modern feel of the room itself. The large bathroom had a massive Velux window in the ceiling, giving views down to the coast if you were tall enough, and was clean and spacious.

The location is a pain to find, but it's well worth driving into the back of beyond for. On a good day, the walks are spectacular, and, even though we visited the Port Light during the weekend of the worst predicted storm since 1987, we still managed to get out and about a bit. The dog loved wandering along the cliffs, but found that she was terrified of sheep!

Enough of the building and surroundings, what makes this place something special is the people. Sean, the owner is amazingly friendly, Liz, who looked after us upon arrival and in the evenings, is one in a million, and the chef, David... wow! Can we clone you and take one of you home? That leads nicely onto the food. The menu is simple and hearty, but the quality of the food far outclasses expectations. We ate dinner at the hotel once, and between us, we had the whitebait, crab ramekin and carrot and coriander soup, followed by lamb shank, sirloin steak, and vegetarian chilli, and it was all delicious. The chilli in particular, even for a non-veggie like myself, was outstanding.

As for the beer? I think my hubby wants shares in Dartmoor Ale now. A smooth, creamy pint that he couldn't get enough of. A decent wine list, too, so we were both sorted!

Breakfasts, though, were nothing short of incredible. A huge variety, all beautifully cooked (even the poached eggs were done to perfection), and the perfect start to each day.

Will wee be back? Absolutely! Try to keep us away.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anise76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews