We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Port Light Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Bolberry
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cottage Hotel(Hope Cove)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Lantern Lodge(Hope Cove)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Soar Mill Cove Hotel(Malborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thurlestone Hotel(Thurlestone)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Henley Hotel(Bigbury-on-Sea)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burgh Island Hotel(Burgh Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hazelwood House(Loddiswell)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveler rating
87
38
7
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
38
7
9
4
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 145 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Have been dropping in to this pub since I was a child. It is fantastically situated on the edge of the cliffs at Bolberry. Always good service, simple pub food, wonderful setting. I would recommend this as a place to drop in for a simple meal or a beer, the accommodation looks attractive although have not used it. This is superbly situated to explore this section of the coastal walk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljrNLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

After searching for a dog friendly place for our 3 dogs we found Port Light on the internet and what a great find it was!! When you arrive you just find your allocated room and unpack which suited us because we don't like people fussing about. In your room it has all the information that you need for your stay. The room itself was very clean although basic and you can help yourself to more coffee, teabags etc whenever you run out. We did have a sneaky look at the rooms that have been done up and they looked really nice. The young girl who cleaned our room the following day made sure we had everything we needed. It is a very relaxed place and we were made to feel very welcome by all the staff and people that were staying there. We opted for B&B & dinner, we could not fault the food nor service and the staff couldn't do enough to help us. The actual location of the hotel is stunning, just through a gate from the grounds dogs can run off lead in the field which leads to some lovely walks up and down the coast. Would go back again!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I visited Port Light in May 2013 and had a wonderful time; the hotel is located right on the edge of the coast; a short walk across the downs and you're on a coastal path. The staff couldn't do more for you; very friendly and helpful. The food was really good, and served in a homely and comfortable setting where you could bring your dog/s with you which really completes a doggy-holiday. It's no fun leaving them in the hotel room! The roads leading to the hotel are quite treacherous but once there you can walk from the hotel along the 5mi beautiful coastal path that leads down to South Sands in Salcombe. About an hour away by car from Torquay, the area of South Devon makes a perfect little get away and Port Light is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed with my dog.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We didn't stay here but have a motor home in Bolberry down so we always eat at least once when we stay in Hope Cove and walk along the cliff path to the Port Light. Its very simple food standard pub grub but the local plaice is lovely. Also serves a great pint. Its a quirky pub and if you don't like dogs probably not the place for you. We don't have a dog but still enjoy this pub. Staff are friendly and the Salcombe ice-cream makes an excellent pudding and portions are good.

Walk to the pub and around the cliff to hope Cove makes this a great evening out

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return with our two dogs. The room although basic was clean, freshly decorated and had a great sea view. Dogs were welcome throughout the hotel, one of the reasons we picked it, and all the great walks were literally 25m from the front door! We all had a great time and also enjoyed the 3 course evening meal package, the food was great, fresh and varied. Would definitely recommend a visit to Port Light.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merlindog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews