We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog Friendly Hotel”
Review of Port Light Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bolberry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Port Light Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Bolberry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
somerset
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Dog Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just returned from Port Light Hotel 28th October 2012 after spending 3 nights there for a break.
I was amazed to see a hotel so dog friendly. Well behaved dogs are allowed in the restaurant. Breakfast was lovely, everything cooked to perfection and HOT. The staff are really friendly and nothing is too much trouble. If you are intending to stay here I would highly recommend staying for your evening meal, the meals are fantastic and a varied menu, the menu is lovely and just couldn't make up our minds what to have. All rooms have a stunning views, I would love to stay there in the summer and watch the sun set. My only problem that I had was the bed I did found it uncomfortable, may be the mattress's are a little old, but I must say our room was very clean and warm and views of the sea which made up for that. Our dog loved it there, in what ever direction you walked there are some stunning coastal path walks. My husband and I walked to Bigbury Bay from the hotel going through a litlle cove called Hope Cove I just fell in love with it there, only took about half an hour to walk there, a small beach and a couple of pubs and a post office. Views are stunning, don't forget your camera. If you want to take out the car you can drive to Salcombe and this well worth a visit but trying to park the car is a nightmare, use park & ride in the height of the summer. Port Light is situated at the end of very narrows lanes which are passible in places, but if you like walking park your car in large car park and leave it there. Will defiantly return to this friendly hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rolodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    38
    7
    9
    4
See reviews for
33
94
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Fantastic setting overlooking the sea. Booked it so we could take dog - certainly lives up to reputation of being a dog friendly hotel - even has a fridge to store pet food. Dogs were allowed in the restaurant and it was lovely to see so many well behaved and happy dogs! Rooms exceptionally clean; food excellent choice and quality. All staff very friendly and helpful and it was good to see the owners Sean and Hazel taking an interest in the guests. Sean's humour at breakfast was much appreciated! Had room 6 - lay in/on bed looking out to headland and the sea. Absolutely wonderful holiday and we hope to return soon,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank salbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Superb family run hotel.Stunning views from rooms which are always clean.Staff helpful and with a sense of humour.The resident owners have a very hands on attitude and nothing is too much trouble. Dog friendly and adjacent to coastal path.We have been going here for years and it is always a pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
317 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

went hee for a family dinner recently. most of the reviews are as a hotel - i can only comment as a restaurant. it was higly recommended by friends hence the visit.
at the outset i have to say the service was very friendly and efficient, and the food was good. but i personally wasnt terribly impressed. first impresions - a cold room, old fashioned decor, and just lacking in character. an odd sort of bar by the door, and an odd shaped room. is it a pub? a bar? a restaurant? a hotel? ....whatever it tries to be, i didnt feel at home or confortable.
we were greeted by a friendly waiter - not sure if he was the owner or an employee,m and shown to our table. a drinks order was taken very promptly,m and the drinks were of a good standard - my becks lager was cold, and lively - just as it should be! we had a botle of chilean merlot which was opened when served ....which always sows a seed of doubt, although im not expert enough to say whether it was what i excpected or notm, but it was pleasant. i didnt want to cause a scene and should have sent it back, but if the owner is reading this, i would suggest that wine is ALWAYS opened in the presence of the diner....
the food was very good. we had a whitebait starter, crabcakes - which were excellent, and a soup, the sirloin steaks, and fish and chips, the fish was very good but possibly not the best in the area - although you are spoilt for choice in this part of the world.....the steaks were cooked just as we like them. we had one dessert which was said to be delish!
so the meal, and service was goodm, and failry priced......its just the place. its so....well.....its just.....it didnt do it for me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbbdevon, Owner at Port Light Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Interesting review which made me smile. As advertised, we are a hotel, restaurant and Inn ! We hade a refit last year to carry us forward for another 12 months, but we are not the chic modern facility which the reviewer may have wished to visit. In the 1980,s we used to open all wine at the table, but with the advent of quality scew top house wine, which is both excellent value, consistant in quality and sampled by the thousands we no longer do this. However, if the customer choses a bottle of wine with a cork, then we open it at the table as it can be the natural cork that may contaminate the wine. An experienced diner enjoying fine wine would know this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Booked Port Light as a last minute decision whilst in the area. The roads leading to Portlight are very narrow in places so bear this in mind. Although the owner is very pleasant and trusting as the room was waiting for us on arrival with the key in the door, and we just let ourselves in, it would have been nice to have been greeted by someone and checked in. When we arrived the restaurant and bar were closed as it was after 2.30 pm, and we were actually unsure if it was even open as the place looked deserted. The room (which they classed as a suite - but I would say it was a family room as it is basically had a double bed and a single bed) was clean and spacious, but the decor was ready for an update/refresh. The bar/restaurant opened at 6 pm and the premises sprung to life, the meal we had was excellent and the staff were friendly and polite. The breakfast next morning was also excellent. I feel this place is better suited to dog owners and walkers rather than passing trade. All in all we did enjoy the experience here but I feel that room was slightly overpriced (£57 per person per night) but can understand that the solitary location and views has to be taken into consideration.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misty13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We booked a stay here to celebrate our wedding anniversary knowing that the location was superb as I had eaten here on an occasion several years ago. The deal on offer for dinner bed and breakfast we think is good value in as much as that the location is probably unique and with the hotel being family run the attention to detail given to ensuring that the guests are well catered for is second to none. The photographs available for the hotel do not do it justice. When you take a building in an area of outstanding natural beauty and are subject to fierce planning restrictions the best way to make an establishment work are to make it welcoming and friendly which the owners have clearly spent many years doing. All of the staff give the impression that there jobs are important to them and this is reflected in the outstanding customer service. The menu gives as good a variety as can be expected when the emphasis is placed on freshly prepared food to order rather than having a multitude of frozen meals on offer which is the case with far too many hotel chains nowadays. I have read several reviews for this hotel which I believe should be dismissed as being inaccurate, I can assure you that the rooms are spotlessly kept and that if you do not own a dog you will not be subjected to any inconvenience from the fact that this hotel welcomes dogs. It is often the case that a bad review is given on trip advisor by someone who has a personal grievance rather than containing constructive criticism and I think that this has occurred on a couple of occasions with this hotel. It is not for me to defend a hotels cancellation policy but it seems to me only common sense that if you book a room and dont use it then often that would have prevented an owner from having taken a booking on it therefore losing them money. I would therefore advise anyone considering a stay in this hotel to not look any further than some of the fantastic reviews and give it a try. I would advise anyone wishing to stay for more than a couple of days to bring some comfortable clothes to relax in as both the breakfast and evening meals are far too tasty to not finish. Sometimes an owner gets something absolutely spot on, we believe that this is the case here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank garethandjeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have nothing but praise for this very friendly Hotel.
We stopped in room 3 which was spacious and clean, the staff and the owners were very helpful and were very accomodating the dog loved the place and the people in it, all the dogs and the guests got on well we will certainly return fantastic place.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff they are very helpful and will tell you everything you need to know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mac599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolberry
1.2 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
3.0 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
2.5 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Light Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Light Hotel

Property: Port Light Hotel
Address: Bolberry Down | near Marlborough, Bolberry, Salcombe TQ7 3DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Bolberry
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bolberry
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing