We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mabely Almost Grand” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mabely Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mabely Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kampi
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mabely Almost Grand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

after spending a week in June at Mabely Grand we came home with mixed feelings.

Positive points:
+ the food was extraordinary, the best and tasty food i ever experienced in an all inclusive resort
+ the staff very polite and helpful. I forgot a camera lens in the room and they manage to send it to me per post.
+ the shuttle to Porto Vromi, Porto Limnionas or Alykes.
+ the very nice views from he restaurant and from the main building
+ peaceful location
+ the pools
+ a small children playground and the nice courtyard with peacocks, ducks, gooses and chickens.
+ the pine pleasant smell from the balcony.
+ the food, again :-)

Negative points
The most negative points are regarding the rooms and especially regarding the bathrooms. All that in very big contrast with the main building, restaurant or the nice pictures from the site
- the rooms are clean and simple. But if you expect the luxury form the pictures on the website, it's a disappointment. Overall, it's a 4 stars room.
- the bathrooms are very dated. We stayed in a room ( 603 ) with a very unpleasant smell from the bathroom. After 2 days we complained at the reception and change the room with one in the same building ( 601). The second bathroom was smell-less ( :-) ) but still very dated.
- very bad and slow wi-fi connection on the main building. Practically, without internet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florins44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    147
    65
    21
    14
See reviews for
147
368
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at the mabely for 2 weeks in June 2013, only had a promo room in the main hotel but what a hotel.
From the first moment to the last it was the best place we have ever stayed.
Food was out of this world, service was unbeatable with staff being very attentive .
Yes the hotel is very isolated and some people moaned but they must be idiots, every review you read tells you it's isolated so if you don't want peace and quite go elsewhere.
If you want peace and quite with a touch of luxury this is the place for you...
We will return next year I hope.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GARETH b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Peaceful place
We stayed here in beginning of July this year with my daughter. The main building was nice and service is excellent except the room location . When we dicovered the room was located in very poor place with no view at all . Could you imagine in the morning when you expect to see nice mediterranean landscape , at least a nice garden your eyes have stuck on wall , like in cell and of course you can see just a blue-blue sky !
When we asked Yota ( hotel -manager) to upgrade our room and how much will it be cost . She offers us only a Suite with a Pool for 400 Euro p/day ! Unfortunatly it wasn't what we expected . In an other bulding next to second pool was nice rooms with stunning view but we undersrood Russian tour agency was occupated for russian turists . Maybe UK's turists happy with strange block like ours? yes we not spent too much time in the room but very regreted about room location.
Hotel's staff are very polite, friendly , rooms very clean and meal in restaurant was very impressive , mostly desserts yummy ! It really was amazing and big variety . Thanks to Chef !!! The breakfast and evening dinner on open terrase what could be nice with sunset view , very romantic and stunning !!!
An other small problem if you would like to go to the sea side you need to pre book the bus seat an advance . The bus very small but driver very good guy ! We read about this problem and prepared to this but one day all was booked . We hired the car and saw the nice beatiful cute island Zante. We could compare our luxury hotel location with crowd not beaches. We had a fun and excitement to drive on the steeps, narrow roads but we lost without satnav it was extra fun !

Totally agree with people . If you would like to recharge you battery, meet nice people and quiete place go to this hotel but think about room location ! Not fun for kids . Half board is enough otherwise will stuck in hotel and put on weight ;-))
Для русских туристов - очень рекомендую этот отель , но детям там будет скучно , хорошо это место для романтичекого путешествия , где все размеренно и неторопливо ! Не рекомендую все включено , опасно для веса :-))

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at the GMH 2 years ago in a Suite with a Pool we shared with the room next to us. This time we stayed in a sea view upgraded room and to be honest, we wasn't impressed to begin with, we asked if we could pay to be upgraded but the Hotel was full so we stayed in the room we was given. Once we unpacked and went down to the lower pool area, had a welcome Cocktail and realised the reasons why we decided to come back, we didnt even think again about the lack of room and slightly dated bathroom. If you want relaxation, fabulous food and to chill for a week this is most definately your place. If you are wanting 5 star luxury as you expect in the USA or Egypt this Hotel may not quite be up to your expectations but for Greek standards I would happily say its 5 star! We will definately be back again, keep up the good work Mabley

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra book a Suite with a Sharing Pool you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissLJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Travelled for a week at the end of June / beginning July. We took a chance and booked an executive suite with its own pool. It cost about £600 more than a sea view room would have cost for the pair of us and we are happy we decided to take the risk.
Our room was nice, fairly big but not spacious. The patio area was enormous it had flat and funny shaped sun beds, a table with three chairs and a pool that was a decent size for 2 people. The view was not great considering the suite was meant to be a sea view suite but we could catch a peek of the sea in 1 or 2 places so I guess they didn't lie. Down side was that we had about 5 balconies overlooking our pool that slowly filled up during our stay which was disappointing.
I managed to get to see some standard rooms and the difference between what we got and what you get with a standard room (sea view or not) was considerable considering the difference in price. I did not however see a room in the main building so these may be much better.

Things that let the place down were:

Cold food, yes even if you wait and grab stuff that has just come out of the kitchen it's still cold.
Grounds not very well maintained (I think they have made many cuts backs since the crash and it shows)
Nothing to do, which we knew before we went and we like the fact but many didn't
Showers were cold quite often, ended up showering up at the Spa just to get a warm shower. When we complained the water was never cold again but that is just not good enough.
Nothing in mini bar unless you ask
Thankfully we went AI, don't go HB or B&B or you'll be broke, everything is way too expensive
Floors and walls of rooms are very thin, you hear everything, even conversations, not nice especially at night.

Good points:

the staff were great
Our pool was great
Greece is great
Hotel in general, for Greece, was pretty good but not great.

Worth the risk if you get a good room and get a great price as we did. Don’t pay full price or you will be very disappointed.

Room Tip: Pay for a exec suite or a pool sharinf suite, they all have loads of room and worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank longtimenohome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Mabely is a very nice hotel located in a quite area of the island. It is indeed a beautiful place for a relaxing holiday with perfect sunsets. There is no beach at the hotel but there are 2 pools and very comfortable beds around the pools. The hotel offers daily free shuttle to near beaches which is a great deal if u are not planning to rent a car. We rented a car for 5 days though via Potamia rentals via hotel, there is a free parking at the hotel for your disposal and you can easily visit the whole island and numerous beaches. The hotel itself is very nice, the staff is very friendly and helpful and the food is amazing!!! We had a budged room in the main building and it was small but nice and cleaned daily. We enjoyed our stay a lot and hope to be back someday!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alleshha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

GOOD POINTS

Lovely relaxing holiday in this very remote Hotel situated in the hillside overlooking the sea. The staff are all clearly happy and they work extremely hard to make you feel welcome.

Our bed was quite firm but we liked this and we were comfortable.

We advise that before your trip you request, by email direct to the Hotel, a room in the main hotel complex as there appear to be less problems and larger rooms. We were initially located in the peripheral rooms not in main building.

The service we received in the dining room was top class, food very tasty and varied however, please see comments on bad bits below. Our other great praise goes to Georgia who worked the bar and the main poolside area tirelessly working to accommodate all our liquid refreshment needs..... outstanding and clearly a very valuable member of staff with always a smile for everyone!

The lady receptionist (Yiota) was also extremely helpful especially when Hotel ran out of complimentary shampoo, she kindly filled my small container with her own, I was told that they regularly run out of supplies on account of the Hotel being so remote!

Far more cost effective to allow Hotel to arrange transfer to and from Airport.

Relaxed atmosphere and very comfortable seating area in the Hotel Reception, which promoted interaction with guests and also some light entertainment by the animations team on the odd occasion.

Maid service excellent.

BAD POINTS

Shampoo issue.... after initial complimentary bottle ran out the Hotel did not appear to have any more! Unbelievable for a supposed 5* operation.

No hot water for showering 2 evenings running, making us late for dinner, we were advised to wait for system to heat up …. there being a small problem. After 1 hour of waiting we abandoned the idea and had to dress for dinner, without showering, most uncomfortable! On third evening we had no water at all and thankfully, were moved to main building where everything was superb and we had an amazing room with a superb sea view..... we should have had this in first place!

Seating in the main dining area was not up to 5* standard …..... seats were uncomfortable in that the padding was worn out and would sink too far when seated. Outside balcony dining area much better, if weather allowed, seats were plastic wicker.

Located out of main building initially in Room 404, were expecting a sea view, trees untrimmed so tiny view of sea, not worth the extra so we did not use balcony!

Jacuzzi use is one of my preferred incentives when booking holiday, this was tainted by an odour of damp bathroom whilst sat trying to enjoy the hot bubbles, only twice visited as odour spoiled overall experience! I was not shown how to operate the Jacuzzi initially but left to my own devices, there were no Spa staff available to help.

In Room 404 Tired bathroom with tray hanging out of wall and drawer handle missing on TV Unit, reported to Reception on arrival day but not fixed. 5* Hotel would not tolerate this lack of housekeeping.

Extremely slow, non-existent Wi-fi - don’t bother!
Evening entertainment...... make your own!!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoshpetMitzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kampi
12.3 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
17.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 19 in Vasilikos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
13.1 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#4 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
11.4 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Resort Hotel
10.8 mi away
Keri Village & Spa by Zante Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mabely Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabely Grand Hotel

Property: Mabely Grand Hotel
Address: Kampi Village, Kampi 290 91, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Kampi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kampi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mabely Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine staying in the best five star Hotel in Zakynthos! Everything you desire, ultra luxury, idyllic landscapes & romantic sunsets, will be there to attract your imagination. The Mabely Grand Hotel is situated on one of the most picturesqe and tranquile areas of Zakynthos (Zante). On the edge of clear waters, full of green trees and a wide seafront of the Ionian sea, is an ideal place to rest, enjoy the unique colors of sunsets and be ready to make daily escapes in the nearby areas of the beautiful island of Zakynthos. The 5-star Mabely Grand Hotel built in April 2008, extents in an area of 60.000 square meters, a cape of extremely natural beauty, viewing the Cross of Kampi and the magic blue of the Ionian sea. Mabely Grand Hotel is located in the area of Kampi, 29 km from the Airport and 30 km from the town of Zakynthos. It is also only 15 km from the famous 'Shipwreck' beach, also known as 'Navagio' and 'Smugglers Cove'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Mabely Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing