We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel ever”
Review of Quinta do Pego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quinta do Pego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

the combination of the region with the hotel is marvelous
all the staff is friendly and there is only a positive vibe in this hotel ; the dinner at night is served together with a choice of their best wined
the pool is situated so that you can feel the douro

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank evona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 285 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spent one night in the Quinta and everything was perfect. We had a bottle of Porto waiting for us in the room which was a nice touch. The view from the pool is outstanding and we had dinner and managed to taste some of the wines produced by the Quinta and they were excellent. The perfect place to be if you want to relax and discover the Douro region.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Salvatore A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Hotel vers nice, view beautiful and big pool to relax.
Big room comfortable and quiet.
Personal very nice, speaks english
Breakfast can be improve with better coffee
Degustation of delicious wine from the area

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Xavier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Quinta Do Pego. It's a remarkable hotel with the most friendly and serviceminded staff we have ever met ! Delicious breakfast buffet, dinner menus providing traditional portuguese meals, tasty wines and above all the generous offerings of Quinta Do Pego portwines made our stay unforgettable. The wonderful pool with the breathtaking view of the river and the wineyards made sunbathing and swimming a most relaxing experience for both body and mind. We also enjoyed very much the spacious room, the well equipped bathroom and the terrace outside our room, which (especially in the evenings) provided privacy and a beautiful view of the Douro river and valley. We strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ove L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is an amazing place tucked in the Douro. The pictures don't do it justice! We had an amazing time relaxing by the pool and enjoying the wonderful dinners on site. If you go, eat at the Quinta!!! The food and service is wonderful. A few things you should know, the drive is some what stressful if you are not used to the roads in Portugal. Also the entrance to the Quinta can be scary the first time you drive up to the hotel. The only draw back was that there was a small child at the Quinta during our stay. Unfortunately the hotel is really not meant for small children and this child was quite disruptive. All in all, we loved our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sparky0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We happened to drive past the sign to Quinta do Pégo and decided to give it a try; a case of real serendipity! We got the last available room, which was very luxurious and close to the door to the marvellous swimmingpool. As we were tired after a day´s driving we stayed for dinner, a delicious meal on the terrace overlooking the Douro. We enjoyed drinking the excellent wines, talking to the other guests. After we had left the following day I discovered I had forgotten my bikini. Just a phonecall and an email later and it was arranged that it was sent to my home-address by mail, where I have just received it without having to pay any postage. Such wonderful service! Next time we are back in this region we will certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ellen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

A great place to rest and enjoy nature. Very comfortable rooms and friendly staff. With the best cuisine and wine that Douro has to offer. The pool and the view are breathtaking. I strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martix36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valenca Do Douro
2.4 mi away
The Vintage House Douro
5.6 mi away
Casa das Pipas
Casa das Pipas
#1 of 2 in Sabrosa
120 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Casa dos Viscondes da Varzea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Santa Cruz do Douro
458 reviews
2.6 mi away
LBV House Hotel
LBV House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Pinhao
150 reviews
11.2 mi away
Vila Gale Douro
Vila Gale Douro
#1 of 6 in Lamego
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Pego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Pego

Address: Valenca Do Douro, Tabuaco 5120-493, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viseu District > Tabuaco > Valenca Do Douro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Valenca Do Douro
Price Range: $207 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta do Pego 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the beautiful vineyards of Quinta do Pego, Hotel Rural Quinta do Pego is a modern 4-star hotel with an outdoor pool and stunning views of Douro Valley. Quinta do Pego is located in UNESCO's World Heritage Site of Douro. It has one of the most superb vineyards in the Valley of the Douro River. Each of the 10 air-conditioned guest rooms is tastefully decorated and has free Wi-Fi, satellite TV and underfloor heating in the bathroom. Guests can enjoy spectacular views from their private balconies. Quinta do Pego has a restaurant available upon request with a 12-hour notice. The menu is fixed and includes typical Portuguese cuisine. Hotel Rural also has a bar offering refreshing drinks and snacks. Free parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quinta do Pego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Pego Portugal/Valenca Do Douro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing