We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful place to stay in Kenya”
Review of Joy's Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shaba National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Joy's Camp
Reviewed January 16, 2009

We stayed at Joy's camp in August 2008, only for 3 nights unfortunately. The entire experience was first rate, from the welcome by the staff to the farewell at the end.
The tents are ultra luxurious and are equipped with everything you could wish for. The staff could not do enough for us; management greeted us after each game drive to see whether we had seen animals and to enquire as to whether we would like to do something different for the next day. The attention to detail is spot on. They even arranged for us to have a full cooked picnic breakfast by the river as a surprise one morning, transporting the kitchen and staff to the river's edge. We were incredibly well looked after for our entire stay which wasn't long enough. Plenty of animals about and being built beside a spring, the waterhole was always populated with a few animals. Our guide, Peter, was very knowledgeable and cheerfully and expertly answered any questions we had. Lara and Jamie who manage the camp are so friendly and constantly checking if everything is alright without being obtrusive.
I cannot recommend this camp enough.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wendyjGalstonNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 97 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2007

We stayed at Joy's camp in Aug. of 2007. The camp is simply beautiful, the staff is fabulous and the Shaba reserve is lovely. The rooms are 5* and the food was great. The Shaba reserve is large and remote which added to the mystery of the experience. It was great not to see other safari vehicles while we were out on the game drive. The camp is set on the site of a former camp of Joy Adamson, the author of Born Free and the person who helped raise Elsa the lioness. This added to the special quality of the camp. The managers are very laid back yet attentive and everyone was very friendly. Our two children 9, 13 loved it here and want to go back soon. More information and photos can be found on the Cheli and Peacock website. Please e-mail me direct with questions. Thanks

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank four4journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nr 10 ist weit weg aber ganz einsam
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jutta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElewanaCollection, Manager at Joy's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElewanaCollection, Manager at Joy's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelipeacock, Manager at Joy's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnerLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelipeacock, Manager at Joy's Camp, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed October 21, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaba National Reserve
12.2 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
362 reviews
14.6 mi away
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Ashnil Samburu Camp
#5 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
#14 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Elephant Bedroom Camp
#3 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
339 reviews
24.8 mi away
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu
#1 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
306 reviews
25.0 mi away
Samburu Sopa Lodge
Samburu Sopa Lodge
#6 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joy's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joy's Camp

Address: Samburu Ecosystem, Shaba National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Eastern Province > Shaba National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Shaba National Reserve
Price Range: $990 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Joy's Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant oasis in the arid lands of Samburu; Joy’s Camp is built on the site of Joy Adamson’s tented home in Shaba. Each sumptuous tent is uniquely decorated with handmade glass and vibrant fabrics of the local nomadic tribes creating a chic, sophisticated and stylish camp. A perfect choice for those interested in a glimpse of Kenyan history, as well as an authentic wildlife experience combined with the comfort of a luxury tented camp. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Joy`s Camp Hotel Shaba National Reserve
Joy's Camp Kenya/Shaba National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing