We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“DISMAL AND LACKLUSTER - Major improvements to services and facilities required” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Shaba Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“DISMAL AND LACKLUSTER – Major improvements to services and facilities required”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Do not let my title mislead you in regards to the location. This game lodge is set in the most tranquil setting with 84 chalets that all seat on the bank of river Ewaso Ngiro, it is an ideal place to unwind from the busy humdrum of life.
Services though are dismal and greatly subtract from the great setting. This was my fourth visit to this resort and every time I accompany first time visitors, it appears services have been on the decline sharply
The food is disappointing with an almost never changing bland buffet right from breakfast through to dinner with minimal variety. The waiters (not all) are unfriendly and not of much help. Most staff seem to be going about their duties on a perfunctory manner. We booked massages which were also lacking.
On check-in and requesting a quiet room we were assigned a room in the first bloc on the right, which the receptionist assured us was quiet but 30 minutes after checking in, a crazy noise rent the air and continued for about an hour, this was the same noise that woke us up the next morning (apparently the hotel’s water boiler system location), we got a room change immediately.
The rooms have not had an upgrade in a long time; blinds need to be better fixed to prevent early morning light getting in. Towels are old, discolored and musty.
Game drives have to be doe in at the Buffalo Springs reserve (back to the main road) as Shaba barely has animals.
This hotel is in a perfect surrounding and with some improvement on the part of Sarova (both facilities and services ) it could regain fame as an ideal “get away” destination. For now “pull up your socks”.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Njere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnieKithinji, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We take this opportunity to thank you for your return visit to Shaba. We appreciate your taking time to give us your valid feedback.
We noted your concerns particularly on food, service and rooms being dismal. We have noted your concerns and addressed areas of concern.

We are happy to note that you found the serene as ideal place to unwind from busy humdrum of life. we look forward to hosting you again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    85
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
69
94
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We Spent the weekend with a group of 16 friends.Absolutely amazing time.the drive to Shaba is on perfect Tarmac road and amazing scenery of lush vegetation and mountain peaks in the highlands and hot,bare land as you descend into northern Kenya ,the murram into Shaba Reserve and the lodge is quite good as well,the contrast of the location from the surrounding Arid Samburu land is stunning.
great hospitality and we loved the rooms,and the multicultural feel of the guests and staff during our stay.key highlight was the boma experience where we got to dine under the open African sky.

Room Tip: Upstairs!definately.great view of River Ewaso Nyiro below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnieKithinji, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you had a great experience. Our commitment to our guests is to meet and exceed their expectations.

We look forward to your visit to Sarova Shaba soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrien Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed every minute of our stay at Sarova Shaba. We already had experienced staying at Sarova Mara before and loved it!
The place is gorgeous, surrounded by streams of water. It is truly an Oasis in the middle of the Semi Arid vegetation surrounding it.
The rooms are exotic, comfortable facing the river and you can hear the water running all the time. Every night they come to make your bed and put hot water bottles on your bed, which we love it too!
Everything about this place is unique. Good food, kind workers, you will feel pampered!
We rightly recommend Saova Shaba.

Room Tip: All rooms are basically the same, but if you do not want to climb the stars ask for a floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robea2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnieKithinji, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your holiday in our Sarova properties more so Sarova Shaba.

My team is glad to note that our services were beyond your expectations. We are glad to note that we made your stay memorable,

We trust we shall have the pleasure of staying with us in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I took my dad and father in law two nights for a fathers day treat and this was the right place. They had an owe some experience, the staff were very welcoming, and the buffet was great we loved everything. I also appreciate the bush dinner whereby I will visit this place again..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnieKithinji, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the team at Sarova Shaba, we thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your stay with us.
It's worthwhile to note it's was indeed a memorable vacation considering both your dads were vacationing with you. We are happy to learn that our services and hospitality exceeded your expectations.
The Sarova Shaba team look forward to another opportunity to host you all in future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

very fantastic place, imagine an 8km drive into the desert and all over a sudden you come to a hidden lodge in the green woods,the birds, monkeys and not forgetting the view of the nearby river...then the staff make everything soo homely...Mr.Mathenge,Mr.mwanzia,Ashley,you guys are the set pacers in this service industry. exellent!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDexons T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnieKithinji, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking time to share your experience during your recent stay with us.
On behalf of the entire team at Sarova Shaba, we are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and pleased with our services.
It's encouraging to note and I applaud some of my team members who you have mentioned as stars and this certainly motivates and encourages the whole team to keep up the good work.

We look forward to hosting you in the near future


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimbish, Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great destination, personally i would stay a weekend and immerse yourself in the nature and wildlife in and around the lodge.

Service was excellent from all staff. Food was great with a wide selection of choice, drinks prices were fair too.

After a long day out the pool and surroundings would completely unwind and relax you.

Would i go again - Yes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnieKithinji, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Allow me to take this opportunity to thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.
My team is happy to hear that your stay was outstanding within the serenity of nature and wildlife.
I note our food, service and pricing was to your expectations.
Am glad we made your stay more than memorable and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Kwaheri from Shaba!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Everything was fantastic, it is on the river and the lodge grounds are teeming with wildlife before you even go to the reserve. The restaurant was on the first floor with lovely views, the staff are amazing. The food is unbelievably varied and delicious even for us veggies. The staff are amazing, the pool was lovely, Kenya is the best place for wildlife and our guide Abdi Latif was the best we'd ever had. Travelbag 8 day Kenya Horizons was our safari and it was perfect in every way, we would do it again asap

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenannawhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaba National Reserve
130.2 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 2 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 724 reviews
62.9 mi away
Fairmont Mount Kenya Safari Club
248.3 mi away
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 stars 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
293.5 mi away
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
#2 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
4.5 of 5 stars 585 reviews
87.1 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 232 reviews
90.3 mi away
Treetops Lodge
Treetops Lodge
#3 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Shaba Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Shaba Game Lodge

Property: Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Address: Valley Road, Shaba National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Eastern Province > Shaba National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shaba National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Shaba Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sarova Shaba Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Shaba Game Hotel Shaba National Reserve
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge Kenya/Shaba National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing