We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply enjoying!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“simply enjoying!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

spent the holiday in this hotel with my kids and my mother, hotel looks beautiful its so hot the swimming pool is inviting only problem was the shower which was very cold until was finally it was repaired all the rooms are located by the river with views of the crocodiles and the relaxing sound of the river could make you sleep hotel is the best if you stop by Isiolo you must stay at this hotel

Room Tip: make sure your rooms showers are hot before checking in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear guest,

It was nice of you to chose to stay with us. Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the ommission on your shower. It is our eandevour to ensure that we get attention to detail and thus improve on your satisfaction.

Indeed your feedback is encouraging to the team and we hope to host you yet again in this near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    101
    20
    2
    3
See reviews for
92
116
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed at this lodge for two nights in mid December with a group of friends. Frankly, were a bit disappointed with the service, our rooms hot showers failed and really didn't get any help from the staff on this. The food was bland and below average especially for dinner. However the two things I can strongly vouch for; the massage service by the river tent and the game drives!

Room Tip: Any rooms with the Ewaso Ngiro river frontage are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shama s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Asante for having chosen Sarova Shaba. Indeed your feedback is very positivly taken with every reason to correct the shortfalls.

We would like to assure you that we have instituted measures to improve on the areas you have highlighted.

We hope to host you soon.

Karibu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

After reading all the reviews here I was excited to spend my Christmas 2013 at Shaba. The stay started off by finding that our two rooms not ready and to top it off the staff were surprised that I found this improper... It actually only got speedily resolved after I called my tour company. The meals were okay and the Bush dinner was a reprieve for our not so good experience.The game drives were however excellent....Overall it was a disappointing average stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luce254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear guest,

It was an honour to host you over the christmas festivities. It was a pleasure to meet with you.

Once again please accept my sincere apologies for the unfortunate arrival experience. indeed that is not what we strive for and we have taken measures to curb a repeat of such.

My apologies for this delay in response.

Looking forward to your return visit and assure you of a magical experience.

Wishing you a prosperous 2014.

Asante.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Was a bit disappointed to have a large noisy party on the 30th of December in the lodge, not just because I don't like noise and thought that I was getting a quiet retreat, but because it felt like such a travesty to make so much noise within a Game Reserve. During the day, the speakers at the pool were blaring loud music as well. I just wish Sarova would restrict the loud music to their urban locations (White Sands, Panafric, etc) not just for their sake, but for the sake of the delicate ecological balance at Shaba. Little surprise that there was no game in sight (except the crocodiles).

The architecture of Shaba is great, but the interior design is dated and bland. The food is boring. The view of the Ewaso Ngiro is spectacular, and the corcodiles are awesome. Also, much credit to Shaba for intergrating so many of the local communities into their activities. The natural and enhanced singing of the Turukana, Borana and Samburu communities was awesome. Opposite for the ridiculously inappropriate acrobats performing to ridiculously loud and terrible music.

I genuinely hope the management will take this review positively. Shaba would be an absolute gem if a good chef is sought, and interior designer can make some changes to the interior design, and a focus on ecology can form the centre of their strategic plan.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpottedChui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen to spend the festivities with us. It was an honour to have you with us.

We have taken note on the areas that we fell short of your expectations and we will make every effort to ensure improvement of them.

Please note that your feedback is very important to us in our quest to make Sarova Shaba your lodge of choice.

We look forward to your return and assure you of a more restful and memorable stay with us.

Karibu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

They took wonderful care of us and made us feel very welcome. The restaurant and kitchen staff were exceptional making wonderful food for our baby.
Right from arrival, the hospitality was great with everyone going out of the way to make us feel welcome.
Our rooms were perfect, baby cot just as we had requested.
We recommend it for anyone to visit.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure hosting you. Thank you very much for your feedback which is very inspiring to the team.

We look forward to your next visit.

Asante!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Sarova Shaba game lodge made me have a different perspective from the insecurity status in Isiolo talked about by everyone. The drive from the gates of Sarova Shaba is so rich with wildlife and makes you anticipate to get to the hotel... From the reception the water springs sounds are very calming and makes you forget the long safari.. built on top of water springs that never dries Shaba is ever green and very cool... the rooms, service, Ambiance, food, the massage tent... the Ewasonyiro River which looks very calm but full of crocodiles makes your stay very refreshing all the time.
Cant forget the drink... over the Sundowner....awesome. The rich History of Adam and Joy residence...
Great stay

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear guest,

It was an honour hosting you. We are glad that you can share your wonderful experience with us. Indeed the insecurity perception is misplaced and quite 'overdone'. One only has to come to Isiolo/Samburu (Shaba, Buffalo springs and samburu National reserves) to know how tranquil and safe this 'tourist circute' is.

Indeed Sarova Shaba is a jewel. The natural spring the lodge is built, beautiful fish ponds and the flowing streams also works magic for those of us working here. It is worth mentioning that Shaba National reserve alone boasts of more than 22 natural springs making it one of the most beautiful places in Kenya and thus the film makers paradise.

We thank you for your encouraging feedback and hope to have you back soon.

Asante sana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stop on our first safari adventure and we were not disappointed. From the lovely welcome with cool smelling flannels, to our room which was spacious and very clean. The grounds, pool area, restaurant and views across the river make a wonderful package. The food was excellent and the chefs were so friendly, I loved the fact the restaurant was on stilts so you were in the tree tops. While we were there the quiet river suddenly became a loud rushing river and rose dramatically because of rain further up stream, it made you realise just how quickly a landscape can change. If your lucky you may see a croc we dId when we arrived but it soon disappeared when the river rose! Apparently they feed the crocs at a certain time but this did not take place when we were there, could of been because of the rise in the river.
The only criticism I have is that the water was not very hot in our room but then we did not complain so this may have been able to be rectified.
All in all a wonderful stay. Thank-you.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaz-net
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure hosting you. We are happy to note that we lived up to your expectation. Every effort is made to ensure that Sarova Shaba Game Lodge is your lodge of choice. We also have taken note of the hot water situation in your room and ensure that it is fully functional. Indeed we have made use of renewable energy by having our water heating by use of solar.

We do look forward to your earliest return and wish you a merry Christmas and a very prosperous new year.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaba National Reserve
0.0 mi away
Sovereign Suites, Nairobi - Sun Africa Hotels
3.2 mi away
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Ashnil Samburu Camp
#4 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
330 reviews
16.1 mi away
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented ...
#1 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Elephant Bedroom Camp
#2 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
329 reviews
13.4 mi away
Samburu Sopa Lodge
Samburu Sopa Lodge
#7 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
#12 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Shaba Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Shaba Game Lodge

Property: Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Address: Valley Road, Shaba National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Eastern Province > Shaba National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shaba National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Shaba Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sarova Shaba Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Shaba Game Hotel Shaba National Reserve
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge Kenya/Shaba National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing