We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Grande Hotel(Isiolo)
$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Alba Hotel Meru(Meru Town)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Wind Hotel(Meru Town)
$44
Travelocity
View Deal
$32
Jumia Travel
View Deal
Camels' Gate Lodge(Archers Post)(Great Value!)
$16
Booking.com
View Deal
Great County Inn(Archers Post)
$26
Booking.com
View Deal
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Gatimene Gardens(Meru Town)
$16
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveler rating
250
114
21
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
114
21
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuffalo springsthe riveran oasisgame lodgeewaso nyiro rivertwo nightslovely placebush dinnerrooms are spaciousswimming poolbuffet styleelectric fencetree housemonkeys and baboonsenjoyed my stayhome away from homethe reserve
Filter
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 391 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This resort is located in a oasis of sorts. In fact, the famed Ewaso Nyiro river passes alongside its fence.
During my stay there, I was simply wowed by the various riverlets that cross the numerous footpaths to the rooms. Sometimes, my friends and I would dip our feet in the tiny pools and watch the numerous multicolored fish curiously inspect our feet. Other times, we would just sit at the strategically placed seats and watch the river make its way through the site.

Every evening, the hotel feeds a large number of crocodiles that come close to the electric fence. As would be expected, there is quite some action between the large crocs.

Great place to spend a long weekend with famiky and friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrfiugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear guest,

It is always a pleasure to receive such good feedback. We appreciate having you spend time with us. It is indeed an honour. The natural springs, the crisp clear streams and clear ponds with the beautiful fishes (including the buffalo springs tilapia and the mud fish to name a few) also works magic for those of us living here.

The team at Sarova Shaba takes great pride in hosting you and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

17 Sept 13 - This is my 4th stay at Shaba Lodge and after traveling around Kenya to lots of different lodges this has to be the best lodge by far, the food is amazing and the staff are so lovely. I would have rated this 5 stars but the rooms are a little shabby and worn and not all rooms have a fridges. It's a shame there is no TV in the rooms but it still doesn't change anything. The staff and Chicken George who works in the chemi chemi bar always ensures we have a great stay. The pool area is lovely again one of the best pools I have been to. Thank you Anthony (manager) for yet another brilliant weekend. Can't wait to come back again.

Room Tip: Top floors you get a great view over the river. Ask for the quiet area too.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minx40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear guest,

It was indeed a pleasure hosting you yet again. The Sarova Shaba team takes pride in hosting you in your fourth visit and more so that we were of service to you.

We have taken note of your reccommendations and will make every effort to make our rooms most comfortable and at their best as we look to refurbishment hopefully in this near future.

Your encouraging feedback is highly appreciated and we shall share it with the team including 'chicken George'.

We look forward to your return to your 'second home' and assure you of service excellence!.

Asante sana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Sarova Shaba is an awesome place for lack of weightier words to use. Every coin spent there is worth it and no regrets whatsoever in anything. No wonder you are number 1. Keep up the good work. Right from the welcome, the rooms, the customer service and the courteous staff all around you. The river scenery even h

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MercyWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to read such positive reviews. Your feedback has inspired the team here and we were very honored by your visit and being of service to you.

We appreciate every detail of your experience and look forward to hosting you once again assuring you of detail in service excellence.

Asante sana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Sarova Shaba Game Lodge was the base for our first two days on safari. It was our first safari but nothing could have prepared me for the idyllic setting in which we found ourselves. We were welcomed with cooling towels and fresh juice, an excellent gesture after a long drive. Each morning we awoke to the sound of the Ewaso Nyiro river, just a few steps away. The birds, monkeys and wildlife all added to the feeling of back to nature. All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and the food was of a high standard. Just one small tip - take a torch as it gets very dark very quickly. In no way did this detract from our enjoyment though. The peace and quiet and general ambience made the perfect start to our week's safari.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akay07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we are very appreciative of your very encouraging review. We look forward to welcoming you back to a more memorable stay with us.

Karibu Sarova Shaba.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

On 26th of july 2013 my husband Alfred and i made a visit to Shaba for the first time on a business related visit.We are big funs of sarova but we have always had this fear of shaba because of horror stories of shifters.It was the only sarova establishment we hadnt visited.The drive there was intresting all the way to Isiolo town maybe it was the dry heat after the town....but we really started getting agitated thank God for our client Njoki who was driving ahead of us otherwise we would have felt lost.When you get there however the atmosphere is totally different from the drive you feel like youve just literary landed in heaven.The stuff welcome you like a king and as you receive the cold towels and fresh juice you literary want to weep with joy.Mwai our check in guy makes you feel so absolutely welcome and as we later sat for our meeting with Joy and kashero i was so at home over looking the ewaso nyiro the drive there was like a far distant dream.The guy who wipped up our salad for dinner was soo caring he made me feel almost guilty that i dont enjoy my vegetables as much.As we look forward to Njoki and Pauls wedding in February at the lodge i look forward to bringing our daughters in the near future to enjoy this great paradise in Isiolo and it was with sadness that we had to check out only after one night.Thanks Steve wambua,Joy maina and the big boss kashero and all your awesome stuff at shaba.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the river
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorothy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear guest,

It was a pleasure hosting you and your husband.

We are happy that you got to witness first hand the reality on Isiolo and that the perception of it being bandit country is completely misplaced. The beauty of Shaba National Reserve is unmatched! It is a haven for film makers and several films like Born free, to walk with the lions, survivor Africa (survivor 3) are some of the films shot in this National reserve. In fact Survivor Africa was exclusively shot in Shaba reserve.

This unique park is special in that it has over 22 natural springs ( Sarova Shaba is built next to one making it an oasis with the streams and ponds flowing through the property and with different fish species). It is also home to the Samburu special five found only in this region. The advantage of being able to traverse the three reserves on the same park ticket is also quite an advantage given the closeness of the parks and their individual specialties. Home to the Borana, Turkana and Samburu provides another unique cultural experience.

We thank you for your review and also for sharing such encouraging feedback. We look forward to hosting you soon and assure you of an awesome wedding party in February.

Karibuni tena.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews