We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Beautiful location overlooking the river.
The lodges are spread throughout the grounds and are built from wood and thatch. They are very comfortable with the fan and mosquito net helping you to sleep soundly. Had a surprise one morning when I opened the window shutter to come face to face with a very large male baboon. We both jumped back several paces!
The restaurant is set off the ground and open sided. It serves lovely food. A feature is the young tribesmen whose job it is to keep the monkeys from entering the restaurant and steeling food, sunglasses, etc. - definitely the monkeys are employing tactics to outwit the young men.
The safaris from the lodge are great although the area is very dry, rocky and dusty.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZacMonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure hosting you and we are very encouraged to have met your expectations. Indeed the surrounding area is rocky and dry. The springs around which Sarova Shaba is built make it the oasis that this 'Jewel' is. The soothing sounds of the flowing streams and the beautiful fish ponds around the lodge also works 'magic' for those of us here as it did for you. We look forward to hosting you hopefully soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    101
    20
    2
    3
See reviews for
92
116
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

As with all 10 E. African properties on our tour, we find it difficult to review and compare - compared to other E. African lodges, this is probably an easy 4*, but compared to american/European/Asian hotels, perhaps 2-3*. Access is by very bumpy/dusty road of 8 miles, but overall it is very near Buffalo Sands and Samburu parks for convenient game drives (with the bumpy road in and out). A very nice pool (water cool), excellent bar (able to make most cocktails) and adequate buffet restaurant, are the amenities. The rooms are comfortable and clean, with slate floors and even a coffee maker, tho with hard beds (and electric plugs were lacking)- all overlook the river, with camels, storks, crocodiles, etc on view. Vervet monkeys and olive baboons are all over and necessitate closing windows and even blinds when out of room - only a fan is available for cooling (A/C would have been nice as it is warm there). while insects and small lizards could be iin room, it was not a problem for us.
We thoroughly enjoyed Samburu, and even allowing for the terrible road in to the Sarova Shaba, it was
a good location. If not for the average cuisine and the lack of cooling, we would have given thiis a 4*.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Sarova Shaba as your lodge of choice during your recent visit to the region. Your feedback is indeed important to us as we strive to improve in service excellence at all levels.

We do hope to host you hopefully in the near future.

Karibu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Right on the banks of the river with crocs & maribou on the opposite bank. On arrival we were given cool scented towels to refresh us after the drive from Nairobi. Check in was very straight forward and by now our details had already been stored on the Sarova database following our overnight stay at the Stanley in Nairobi (although I had inexplicably become Brazilian rather than British!).
The staff are so friendly (Moses & David in the Chemi Chemi bar & Moses in Housekeeping stand out) but there were so many others we met during our short 2 night stay :) The room was very clean (although I swear I saw a mouse run across the floor on the first night!) but hey it's a wildlife safari after all!! The baboons outside in the mornings were fun to watch and the babbling stream running thru to the river below was very relaxing. Nothing was too much trouble, even carrying back a bottle of wine in an ice bucket back to the room for us.
We saw a lioness with 2 "older" cubs drinking at a small patch of water and separately another two younger cubs, a male & female ostrich with 13(!) chicks that stand out plus elephants, giraffes, gazelle, oryx, dik dik, impala, waterbuck, and guinea fowl

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the encouraging remarks. Indeed the team is very motivated to raise the bar. We do look forward to your next visit to 'The jewel of the north'. I am sure what you saw was a lizard as indeed it is wild at its best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had a great stay at this thatched safari lodge on the banks of the Ewaso Nyiro River. The beds had mosquitos nets with an overhead ceiling fan which made it comfortable to sleep at night. The restaurant served sumptious buffet style breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The baboons that roamed freely in the premises added to the entertainment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yodiebodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback. Please accept our apologies for this delay in response. We do appreciate your encouraging feedback and do look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Fantastic hotel in a great location next to the river so much wildlife and so close to the rooms as well crocodiles 20metres aways from the room and monkeys and baboons roaming freely around.
The staff were friendly no matter what time of the day and the food was excellent this was what I was expecting and I couldn't ask for anymore.
I would go back to this lodge anytime as 2 days wasn't enough.
The only draw back was there was no telephones or room service and the fact you have to pay for wi-fi which I think should be included.
Apart from that an absolutely amazing place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D0ckyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear guest,

We thank you for your very encouraging remarks. It was an honour to host you and thank you most sincerely for choosing to stay with us.

We have noted your areas of concern and we assure you that every effort will be made to give our clients the best in value.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

i totally enjoyed this 2 nights and 3 day trip. there was lots to do especially the game drives and the trip to the gorges and watching the sunset. i also enjoyed the water sports. the location is excellent who would have imagined a crocodile infested and baboons river just 20 meters from your bedroom widow also the cottages are well designed and very comfortable and luxurious at the same time. i enjoyed quite nights and deep relaxing sleep every night. the massage palour is also a must visit

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure having you around. Indeed Shaba is an oasis with the clear spring water and beautiful fish ponds flowing through the property.

The gorge treck is not to be missed! You have all the reason to return and visit 'Sharinki falls" which is another beauty to behold!

We look forward to hosting you hopefully in the near future.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenya
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our stay was very comfortable. Great rooms. Food was excellent too. Friendly staff. The only two things which were not nice here were - There were no intercoms so for room service i had to call from my handphone everytime. Internet Wifi was not free which should be given free to the customers staying in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anu81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so very much for your encouragment. The Sarova Shaba family is indeed honoured. We appreciate your feedback and assure you that we have noted the concerns and will look into them at the earliest opportunity.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaba National Reserve
3.2 mi away
Ashnil Samburu Camp
Ashnil Samburu Camp
#4 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
330 reviews
16.1 mi away
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented Camp
Samburu Intrepids Luxury Tented ...
#1 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
462 reviews
8.9 mi away
Elephant Bedroom Camp
Elephant Bedroom Camp
#2 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Samburu Sopa Lodge
Samburu Sopa Lodge
#7 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
Sentrim Samburu Lodge
#12 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
22 reviews
12.7 mi away
Saruni Samburu
Saruni Samburu
#3 of 16 in Samburu National Reserve
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Shaba Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Shaba Game Lodge

Property: Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Address: Valley Road, Shaba National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Eastern Province > Shaba National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shaba National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Shaba Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sarova Shaba Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Shaba Game Hotel Shaba National Reserve
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge Kenya/Shaba National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing