We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dinner”

La Masseria Ristorante
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Marzaglia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $39
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Traditional cuisine of Puglia ground
Nonantola, Italy
Level Contributor
402 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We went to Masseria to celebrate our first wedding month! An excellent choice of food, in terms of quality of ingredients and presentation. Starters are fantastics!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefano m, Proprietario at La Masseria Ristorante, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
thank you for your wonderful review. wishes for your wedding and hope to see you and celebrate every month of your life together. thanks Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    215
    48
    45
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modena, Emilia-Romagna, Italy
2 reviews
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

It may look strange to eat souther italian food in the north of the country, but this is what you get in a wonderful way in La Masseria, just outside Modena. A must have for handmade pasta and tortiere. And make sure you still have room for the chocolate tray... A very good and compehensive wine list. Nice and simple atmosphere with the owner Stefano very friendly. A recommended experience for people who love traditional italian food instead of nouvelle cuisine!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefano m, Proprietario at La Masseria Ristorante, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
thanks for the wonderful review. I hope to see you soon embrace Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
219 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Just my favourite restaurant”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This is the place where my wife and I go, with our without our kids, whenever we want to pamper ourselves.
The Wonderful traditional setting of an old restored mill, the warm and attentive service and the very good food make it for a real good and consistent experience.
They are famous for typical hand-made food from Puglia region that you can have with a very good red wine from the same area (I have tried the Primitivo Punta Aquila 2010 and I found it very good as well as reasonably priced).
I suggest the "bruschetta" with the "burrata" as appetizers, the "tortiere di verdure" as a main (sort of pies but made out of just vegetables) and the to-die-for basket of ciocolate sweets
Having said that, the offer of pasta and of meat is also extensive and of high quality.
If you want to have a great meal in an elegant setting, knowing that you will spend accordingly but proportionally, this is your place.
During summer there is the option of an al-fresco dinner and if you want to go with kids i suggest early lunches rather than dinners

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefano m, Proprietario at La Masseria Ristorante, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
thanks for the wonderful review. I am very pleased to be your favorite restaurant I hope to see you soon. thank you very much Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osan, South Korea
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent and pleasing!!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This restaurant is my must visit place whenever I visit Modena for business trip. During my last trip, I tried Burrata mozzarella cheese which was heavenly pleasing taste and the grilled lamb which was extraordinary great!! They have homemade pasta and desert which are also excellent and great selection of wines which will perfectly matching with dishes if you follow owner's recommendation. two thumps up!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefano m, Proprietario at La Masseria Ristorante, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Gary thanks the wonderful review and thank you for the compliments. I hope to see you every time you come to Italy. thanks and see you soon Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedaredge, Colorado
1 review
“Pleasantly gratified!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Found this restaurant by accident. Not sorry at all. The service was great, atmosphere is rustic and elegant. The food was outrageously delicious! It was a nice afternoon treat for all of us travelers. Burrata, a whole different subject. OMG! Served it as soon as you order your food. (But had a question on that part.) There were 4 of us. One male and 3 female. They only served one plate,for the male. Is this a traditional? Inquiry minds want to know.
Bruschetta, grilled veg, orecchiette, ravioli or tortelli were excellent!
Total experience was unforgettable! Thanks!

I found a recipe on how to make homemade burrata. That's how much I loved it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stefano m, Proprietario at La Masseria Ristorante, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
dear customer thanks for the review and for the compliments. have served only a bruschetta ladies because they have only ordered an appetizer and then the pasta. The appetizer includes a more burrata bruschetta that is not GMO and all the vegetables that I have served. thanks and hope to see you soon. health Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Masseria Ristorante also viewed

Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 
Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 
Modena, Province of Modena
Modena, Province of Modena
 

Been to La Masseria Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing