We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Tanay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Didier de Formans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau de Tanay
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

A wonderful stay - even in chilly March! The chateau has been beautifully restored. The rooms are tastefully decorated, comfortable and my worry that heating might be a problem was unnecessary. Breakfast was typical french fare... fresh and delicious. A perfect retreat after a busy day exploring Lyon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
76
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MOSCOW, RUSSIA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We were here in the middle of summer. Old Chateau outside the city. a beautiful garden and a river. basic rooms are located in the old buildings of the Château, rooms comfortable and big. our suite was located at the base of one of the towers of castle 11 century. Suite is very beautiful and huge. good breakfast takes place in other Tower. the hosts were nice and showed us the castle itself. told of its history. recommend unequivocally!

Room Tip: If the suite in the tower is free, choose it. Can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DIL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Absolutely wonderful restored French chateau. Interior design beautifully done by the owners. We had a tower suite, superbly kitted out with one of the most luxurious bathrooms we have had the pleasure to use! The breakfast room is very stylish & food wonderful. The Italian restaurant just up the road gave us a lovely meal. The owner took us on a chateau tour, very interesting & nothing was too much trouble for them. The pool was just perfect set in lovely gardens. All in all a place I'd recommend to anyone, nothing negative to say.

Room Tip: We stayed in the tower room...........a must if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShonaBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

this intriguing and beautiful chateau is well run, by a husband and wife team, who were most accommodating, and definitely go the extra mile (and a half!) to look after their guests, with an informative tour of the chateau itself and beautifully furnished rooms, in tasteful modern styles, well in keeping with the older surroundings, lovely grounds, with a swimming pool and walks. breakfast is served at a big table with other guests so none of the British reserve of tiny tables, where people whisper! chance to learn snippets of other languages and find about about places to visit and explore.

tucked away in a small village it is well placed to visit Lyons and many other places worth seeing

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cruiserscrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

really nice french hospitality, pool, quiet gardens, rooms large, air conditioned and beautiful bathroom. We stayed in what used to be the cow shed.....lovely. Lovely views too. Breakfast plentiful and tasty especially sat outside beside the moat. If you are lucky you might get a tour of the castle! My only gripe is that the little pizza restaurant just round the corner was closed during our stay so we had to drive to eat out in the evening which meant we couldn't enjoy any lovely local wines with dinner!

Room Tip: think all the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

The Chateau looks so impressive, every thing you would expect when you think of a Chateau. The rooms are all relatively new & superbly decorated. The breakfast room in the Chateau it's self is great as was the breakfast, the owners are very friendly & if you are really lucky they may let you look around the inside of the house(wow). We loved it a real high light on our trip to the Alps.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoctorDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

If you are looking for a romantic, secluded, modern, well restored, spacious motel room on a 1,000 year old property in the Rhone area - this is the place... This hotel opened 2 months ago - and it is beautiful. The 6 rooms are in a renovated stable - and they have done an outstanding job. The rooms are large by European standards, include queen or king beds, desk, large flat screen TV, great lighting, modern bathroom, hardwood floors, beam ceilings, individually controled heat (quiet!) and free wi-fi. The rooms have a view of the courtyard or the garden. Very comfortable!!!

The property includes a nice swimming pool, great gardens, and is in the country-side - so very quiet. Free parking inside the gate. Perfect for walks in the evening. There is a small Italian restaurant within easy walking distance, and Villefranche sur saone /Trevoux/ Reyrieux are an easy drive.

Breakfast is included in the rate, consisting of fresh pastry, breads, meats, cheese, yogurt, juice, coffee... served in a large comfortable dining area - with personal service.

I stayed in the hotel because my normal hotel was booked - and this was a good alternative as it is closer to the factory I was visiting. The staff was very accomodating to a business traveller, - but you should be aware that as with any hotel of this size, the check in times and staff availability are limited. I was able to coordinate with the staff, including checking out the night before (leaving the hotel at 4:30AM)... and they offered to make up a take-away breakfast. Communication will be the key...

Overall - it was a great stay and will return with my wife on a future trip...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frankll1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Didier de Formans
2.7 mi away
Les Pierres Dorees
Les Pierres Dorees
#1 of 1 in Amberieux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
8.4 mi away
Chateau de Bagnols
Chateau de Bagnols
#1 of 1 in Bagnols
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaisance - Villefranche-sur-Saone
BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaisance - V...
#1 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Saone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ibis Lyon Villefranche Sur Saone
Ibis Lyon Villefranche Sur Saone
#3 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Saone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mercure Villefranche en Beaujolais Ici et La
Mercure Villefranche en Beaujola...
#2 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Saone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
15.2 mi away
Les Maritonnes
Les Maritonnes
#1 of 1 in Romaneche-Thorins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Tanay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Tanay

Property: Chateau de Tanay
Address: Chemin de Tanay, 01600 Saint Didier de Formans, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Saint Didier de Formans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Didier de Formans
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set next to an 11th-century chateau, these former stables offer 5-hectares of manicured gardens. You can relax by the outdoor swimming pool or visit Ars sur Formans, 8 km away .The rooms at Château de Tanay are spacious and offer views of the courtyard. Some have original wooden beams and all have free Wi-Fi access.Breakfast is provided every morning in the bed and breakfast’s dining room. On sunny mornings, you can also eat on the terrace and admire the garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing