We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pohara Beachfront Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just staying in the Golden Bay area is a delight there is so much to see and the beaches are just perfect (without the crowds). Our accommodation at the Pohara Beachfront Motels is always great and even though Fiona & Barry were new to us we were made to feel very welcome. Nothing is a problem and its lovely to stop and have a chat. Although the rooms are a bit dated they are very fresh and clean and the decor kept up to date. The wonderful grass area in the middle with the huge fireplace makes it easy to meet other people staying there. You are within easy walking distance to coffee shops and restaurants and of course the beach is just over the driveway.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the beach take a beachfront view but the garden view rooms are great for meeti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2TouristsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 129 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

booked a year ahead for a sea view wish granted for one night in a lovely spacious room overloing th sea. We then were moved to the flat not knowing that this unit was poky and old without a view at all - very disappointed a not what we had paid for. The move to the flat I assume was because we had 3 small children under three for the last two nights.Why we were moved to a smaller unit is beyond me as the unit was pricey and poky therefore unpleasant

Room Tip: ask for a sea view as room appear to be larger than the ons on the flat with no view also poky on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PoharaBeach, Manager at Pohara Beachfront Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

These people requested a Unit initially for a couple, then mid year changed the dates, which meant they would have to change to another unit option as their unit was booked out for the extra date required, and also advised that an extra adult would be joining them, so moved them from a 1 bedroom seaview Unit to a 2 bedroom seaview. The 2 bedroom seaview was only available for 1 night and they knew they would then have to move to the 2 bedroom unit on the garden. Then were informed that the daughter and 3 small children would be joining them for the last 2 nights. These Units are designed for a family of 4, and maximum 5, not a family of 6+.
We have had many happy families staying in this Unit, and they come back year after year, one family with 2 teenagers even stayed for a month this year!
Disappointed in the comment of this Guest, as felt we had accommodated them the best we could in a very popular Motel, in our peak season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

A amazing place to stay waking up to the sunshine and sea right on your doorstep, the cottage was very clean and well equipped and a lovely comfy bed, friendly welcome and good recommendations, would defiantly want to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ledentice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Our second visit - booked a year in advance! This place fills up quickly in the summer and its not difficult to see why. It has an enviable location right on the beach, the term 'beachfront' is banded about a lot by people and not always appropriately. In this case however you won't be disappointed. The beach is a literal stones throw from the units. The word motel is a bit of a misnomer here, its more of a collection of holiday baches than a motel. Personally I don't think the term motel does the place justice. The beach is safe and shallow, Pohara has a few places to eat and a dairy ( that's a shop to all you non kiwis!), and the rest of Golden Bay and the AT National Park are on your doorstep. Highly recommended. Again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wellyburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is our second time to Beachfront Motel and the high quality service and comforts remain.
Rooms are wonderful, friendly and welcoming hosts and everything that one could ask for.
Would definately recommend these motels to others

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mytgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed here after we completed the Abel Tasman Coast Track. We kindly got upgraded to the beachfront cottage which was awesome. The managers were lovely and helpful. We liked the location in rural Golden Bay, close to beaches, quirky towns, villages and lots of dairy farms. You must try the Village Milk up the road, you bottle your own milk from a cool vending machine!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

An excellent host and motel complex to match. Equipment was modern and all functioned well. Ample parking. Located near restaurants and cafes (if required) and only a short drive to Takaka township for city priced supermarket & other shops. Great location by beach and surrounded by native trees. Lovely dawn chorus of birds.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pohara
0.4 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
268 reviews
8.9 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
360 reviews
11.4 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#2 of 4 in Takaka
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
4.1 mi away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
140 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#1 of 4 in Takaka
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pohara Beachfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pohara Beachfront Motel

Address: 10 Tennyson Street | Pohara, Pohara 7183, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Pohara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Price Range: $67 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pohara Beachfront Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the perfect seaside holiday at our Beachfront Motel, located right on the beach and set in the heart of a beautiful seaside village. A popular destination to base yourself while you explore the wider Golden Bay area.Comfortable Units and a relaxing atmosphere combine to ensure a truly enjoyable holiday.Wake up to the sound of the seas, swim at the safe beach, walk the beach to cafes, restaurants, bars, golf course and general store and soak up the stunning scenery. 8 Units offer great seaviews across to Farewell Spit, and all with cooking facilities and private bathrooms. Large grassed barbeque area, herb gardens and guest laundry, provide everything needed to enjoy Golden Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Pohara Beachfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pohara Beachfront Motel New Zealand - Golden Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing