We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended - Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pohara Beachfront Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pohara Beachfront Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Certificate of Excellence
Bansko, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended - Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a great Motel. Having spent 4 weeks travelling around New Zealand we have seen and stayed in a good selection of hotels and motels. This is head and shoulders above the standards of many. The location is excellent. It's right on he beach and well placed to explore he Abel Tasman Narional Park and Farewell Spit. The apartments/rooms are well furnished and very comfortable with everything needed to self cater, plus sky TV, comfortable beds and the level of cleanliness was very good. the gardens are immaculately kept and the managers were incredibly helpful. They can't do enough to make sure your stay is a good one. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 1-bedroom which had a double and single bed in he bedroom plus a sofa bed in the livi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    20
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
71
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Pohara is a very good location to discover the beautiful Golden Bay. The Pohara Beach Motel is nearly direct tot he beach front in a sunny area. The Beach itself is long and wide when the tide is low. We stayed in one of the Garden Units with two rooms, a bedroom and a living room with full kitchen. There is a washing machine (paying with coins) and a dryer in the garden. The bathroom is very small and the WIFI could be better, BUT we love to use one of the BBQ stations and the herbal garden in the shared large Garden area. Fiona and Barry are very friendly hosts they like to have guests. They gave us many good hints what to do. You will find the next supermarket in Takaka. There is also a post office, gas station and everything else you need for your vacation. We warmly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EuleRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

As the name says it is right on the beach so excellent location. We stayed there one night only and that motel has everything you can wish for. We had one bedroom unit and it was very spacious.
We also had a balcony with a beach view. The place was spotless clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a apartment with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aklu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I were steered to the Pohara Beachfront Motel by the Motueka I-site. We are most thankful for that recommendation. We are 2 Yanks bicycle touring the South Island; we don't know up from down about anyplace in NZ. The Pohara Beachfront Motel "pegs the meter" for a place to stay. Sqeaky clean; well equipped, charming, engaging, and helpful owners/managers (Barry and Fiona); great setting; quiet; easy walk to cafes and the "store". There is no way you will regret staying here. Go for a swim and then grab a cold beer(s) and watch the sea roll in. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seattle1147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

A wonderfully run, spotlessly clean motel right on the beachfront. The one bedroom apartments are spacious and well appointed. The Mini basement units are small but perfectly adequate for a couple on a short stay, the cleanliness easily outways the size. The beach is very safe and there are cafes and bars nearby, its just the perfect place for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Dashwood, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I have been staying at Pohara Beachfront Motel for 17 years. We now have two boys (9 & 7) and they too have been every year. The motel has suited us with a growing family, as it has a large grass area, BBQs, safe access to the beach, trees to climb, lots to do around the region and lockup for bikes. Fiona and Barry are wonderful hosts and as we go annually each year, they encourage the regulars to get together for bonfires, drinkies and BBQs. I suggested a herb garden to Barry and he has gone beyond the call of duty and every year the herb options have increased. I love the fact that I can have a holiday from cleaning too.

Room Tip: We like Units 1,2 and 3 as they face out onto the large grass area - great for the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful place to stay, stunning views and run by a lovely couple.
Arrived in Pohara and were let down elsewhere for our accomadation. Barry and Fiona helped us out even though they were fully booked. they also advised on places to eat as well as local sights to see.
All in all a very happy stay, highly recommend. I wish we could stay longer.
Jon and Leanne

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JonJames71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pohara
0.4 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
11.4 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#1 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
8.9 mi away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
4.2 mi away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#2 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sans Souci Inn
Sans Souci Inn
#1 of 5 in Pohara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pohara Beachfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pohara Beachfront Motel

Property: Pohara Beachfront Motel
Address: 10 Tennyson Street | Pohara, Pohara 7183, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Pohara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pohara Beachfront Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the perfect seaside holiday at our Beachfront Motel, located right on the beach and set in the heart of a beautiful seaside village. A popular destination to base yourself while you explore the wider Golden Bay area.Comfortable Units and a relaxing atmosphere combine to ensure a truly enjoyable holiday.Wake up to the sound of the seas, swim at the safe beach, walk the beach to cafes, restaurants, bars, golf course and general store and soak up the stunning scenery. 8 Units offer great seaviews across to Farewell Spit, and all with cooking facilities and private bathrooms. Large grassed barbeque area, herb gardens and guest laundry, provide everything needed to enjoy Golden Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Pohara Beachfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pohara Beachfront Motel New Zealand - Golden Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing