We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique and beautiful accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sans Souci Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sans Souci Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Pohara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unique and beautiful accommodation”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We love everything about this place, from the colourful, interesting Mediterranean-style buildings, to the lovely garden, to the delicious meals and well-selected wines at the restaurant. The proprietors are very welcoming, but not intrusive. The shared kitchen and bathroom are both beautiful and extremely well-equipped. We took advantage of the laundry facilities, including a great clothesline for drying, and the free wireless. The beds are extremely comfortable, and each room has a sheltered veranda and table and chairs where we enjoyed morning coffee and evening wine in the garden.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanssouciinn, Owner at Sans Souci Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Kelly, thank you very much for your great feedback. We are very glad you enjoyed your visit to Sans Souci and are looking forward to seeing you next time. Vera and Reto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    33
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
42
73
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We found this to be a welcoming, private and peaceful environment and great value for money! We appreciate the eco-friendly philosophy. The restaurant also served top quality organic evening meals. This was a unique and authentic experience. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandrey-Bateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed for three nights in the self-contained unit. Our experience there was a mixed bag. First the plus side. The location is excellent, close to the beach with good access to both Takaka and Abel Tasman National Park. The unit is spacious, with a large well equipped kitchen. There is definitely a funky, "only in Golden Bay" quality to the place, although some aspects of this (such as the self-composting toilet) may not appeal to all. Dinner at the restaurant was superb.
On the minus side, the layout of the unit was somewhat bizarre, with the second bedroom separated from the rest of the apartment by the bathroom. This was compounded by the absence of any stall or divider for the shower, so the water splashed all over the floor. Generally speaking, the staff seemed indifferent and inattentive, particularly by New Zealand standards.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ted J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Firstly, we only ate here and stayed elsewhere so we cannot comment on the accomodation.

They have one sitting a night and its a fixed menu so make sure you ring and book, the night we went it was a Morrocan lamb slow cooked meal. We were staying a short distance down the road and could smell it cooking as we walked there, we were rapt to find it was our meal that we could smell!!

Presentation and meal size was superb and excellent value at NZ$32 per person. Wine was great value, the waiter filled our glasses almost to the top so we were happy.

Service was cheery and friendly and it was a nice adobe setting.

Recommend to all

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed in this unique inn for 2 nights and enjoyed the quiet location and beautiful grounds. Eat in the restaurant at least once if you can, the cooking is superb. The beach is 2 minute’s walk away and Takaka is 10km drive so it’s a great place to base yourself in.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oxford08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Despite my wife being advised at booking that the evening meal could be confirmed up to 4pm,on check-in at midday we were surprised to be told that the restaurant was fully booked. Seemed odd to us that casual diners are given priority over guests staying at the place, and this ,coupled with a rather formal and unfriendly introduction to the place by a staff member, did not create a very good first impression. As it turned out we enjoyed an excellent meal at the Brigand restaurant in Takaka.The room was rather Spartan ,the slat bed low to the ground and the mattress thin. My overall impression was that the whole place is rather tired and trading mainly on its eco-friendly image at the expense of decent levels of service.So if the novelty of using a composting toilet is more important to you than a comfortable bed or decent level of service,then this is the place for you! We visit Golden Bay often but wont be returning to San Soucis or recommending it to friends. Alex.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alexander c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Sans Souci has been my favorite place to stay in my several trips to NZ over the years. Lovely, peaceful, and friendly staff. The rooms are comfy and have french doors opening out the back for privacy. And a central courtyard out the front for a communal area. Nice kitchen to cook your own meal or a wonderful meal cooked by the staff. Close to the beach and the dairy. Free wi-fi (which can be hard to find in NZ). Lovely bathroom with an atrium of green plants and composting toilets. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pohara
0.1 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
259 reviews
11.7 mi away
Adrift in Golden Bay
Adrift in Golden Bay
#2 of 4 in Takaka
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pohara Beachfront Motel
15.3 mi away
Zatori Retreat
Zatori Retreat
#1 of 6 in Collingwood
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sans Souci Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sans Souci Inn

Property: Sans Souci Inn
Address: 11 Richmond Road, Pohara 7183, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Pohara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pohara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sans Souci Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The seven-bedroom adobe inn is an artistic blend of Mediterranean and ecological architecture situated on three acres of gardens. We are just a two minute stroll from the safe and sandy Pohara beach, shops and cafes. The onsite restaurant has a high reputation for its dinners and irresistible desserts using ingredients from its own organic garden. The laid back and casual atmosphere will leave you with a memory of a true holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sans Souci Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sans Souci Inn Pohara, New Zealand - Golden Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing