We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch on a beautiful winters day in Pohara”
Review of Plan B Cafe & Bar

Plan B Cafe & Bar
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Pohara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $24
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, New Zealand, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: About Us Plan B Cafe & Bar is a relaxing, cafe, bar and restaurant set in the popular beach village of Pohara. The Cafe is fenced for privacy and comfort and boasts ample outside dining in the garden area and restaurant courtyard for those warm summer days. We are open every day in summer from 11 am. GF and vegetarian options are readily available.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great lunch on a beautiful winters day in Pohara”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Excellent lunch - great range of food and wonderful host - very welcoming and friendly - overall a very enjoyable experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicki453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    46
    17
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellsford, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service!!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

A surprise in a small town,very pleasant!!loved the place visited twice in three days.the portions are huge.the beer battered fish was the best on my South Island trip.friendly staff.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Three meals all excellent, the best eggs benedict I have ever had and the steaks were delicious. Lovely couple running it and working really hard to make it a success. I wish them just that.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food at Plan B”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Although unexciting to look at, Plan B Cafe and Bar provides very good food at reasonable prices. We had dinner initially and the Vegetable Stack was tremendous with a good selection of vegetables. The Classic Rump Steak was cooked to perfection whilst the service was friendly and welcoming.
As we were staying overnight we decided to experience breakfast the next day. The Eggs Benedict was fantastic, one of the best I have tasted. Rob, the owner, took time out to check that we were happy with the food and drink on both occasions and generally went out of his way to ensure we were happy.
Would highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely simple food and a warm welcome”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Came here as a family for a late lunch on a rainy summers day. Simple menu but everything looked good and good options for young children. Fast and friendly service. My whitebait fritters were just delicious and beautifully presented. The interior is a little bland but the outside area is spacious and well set up.

Helpful?
1 Thank delphinedownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plan B Cafe & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Plan B Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing